tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/04/2018 : ANDERS MANGA - Perfectly Stranger

ANDERS MANGA

Perfectly Stranger

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDarkwaveEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[80/100]   
18/04/2018, Masha KASHA

Who is who?

Anders Manga is a US based darkwave project, who released his more well known work under the name “Bloody Hammers”. In 2012, Anders' song "Glamour" was featured in Season 4 of 'The Vampire Diaries', a popular American TV show and was nominated the best band by the readers of Gothic Music magazine in 2006. "Perfectly Stranger" was released in January 2018.

The style

The style of Anders can be described as melodic darkwave. The tunes are dark and persistent yet atmospheric and catchy. The lighter synths stay in contrast with darker vocals and bass part. The lyrics are about about shadows, illusions, emotions... our darker selves and the darker part of the humanity in general. The back vocals are smartly placed.

The music in general is not very classical darkwave but is a bit spiced with rock within itself, leaving the aftertaste of bands like Black Sabbath or Alice Cooper. There is a little epic touch, found in another retro goth rock projects (like Whispering Colors etc.)

Favourite songs

I love the epic title song of the album “Perfectly Stranger” the crystal clear synthwave synths stay in contrast with darker bass part of the track. It can be compared with the other song from the album (my favourite as well) - "Almost Human". “The Warning” has an interesting medieval electro touch, similar to Deine Lakaien. "The Beast is Coming Out" represents a darker part of the album.

When to listen to it?

When you walk back home in the dusk.

To sum it up

Catchy melodic darkwave release with a bit of American touch (especially the vocal part of it).

Masha KASHA
18/04/2018


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?