tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound

ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI

Bound

Movie
CrimeFilm Noir

[84/100]   

Arrow
11/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

When Bound came out in the mid 90’s, it wasn’t exactly a success. The big problem was that the two main protagonists had a lesbian affaire and Tinseltown wasn’t prepared as it hadn’t seen Boys Don’t Cry by then. The men behind the camera were quite unknown as well. Their name? Andy and Larry Wachowski who later would bomb Hollywood with The Matrix. Today it’s a common fact that two women kiss each other in front of a camera and Bound has also become a real cultclassic that is released this week on Blu-ray by Arrow.

The crime movie was made with a tiny budget and is today respected as one of the groundbreaking titles from the modern noir-style from the 90’s. They might indeed have no money, but the duo has thought about every camera-angle and that’s what makes Bound irresistible.

The less you know about the story the better for the tension! This crime movie can be best compared with a classic Brian De Palma-thriller in where the director drops you from one surprise to the other. The story about the two femme fatales (Gina Gershon and Jennifer Tilly) is full of suspense and is added with a violence that situates itself between Lynch and The Sopranos. The Wachowski-brothers achieved this with a minimum of things as the whole movie is almost set in one apartment. Due to the brilliant performances and the exciting script, Bound has become a movie you watch in one breath. Apart from the female beauties, you also have to look out for the excellent Joe Pantoliano. Once you’ve seen Bound you’ll think twice before you enter a room with thin walls and you also will start getting creepy if someone whispers to you that he will ask a question only ten times!

Just like always this Blu-ray on Arrow has an excellent transfer and there are plenty of great bonuses included. There is an audio commentary with the Wachowskis, Jennifer Tilly, Gina Gershon, Joe Pantoliano and editor Zach Staenberg. There are also interviews with Gina Gershon, Jennifer Tilly, Joe Pantoliano and Christopher Meloni included.

In the 30 minutes long Modern Noir: The Sights & Sounds of Bound several people explain why this movie deserves to be called a classic!

Bound is now out on Arrow Video on Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
11/08/2014


NL

Toen in het midden van de jaren 90 Bound verscheen was de film verre van een succes. Het struikelblok was (hou je vast!) de lesbische relatie tussen de twee protagonisten. Hollywood had Boys Don’t Cry nog niet de revue zien passeren en de twee mannen achter de camera waren toen nog nobele onbekenden. Hun naam? Andy en Larry Wachowski, het duo dat later Tinseltown met The Matrix op zijn grondvesten liet daveren. Ondertussen zijn we het al lang gewoon dat twee vrouwen elkaar voor de camera kussen en is Bound ook een rasechte cultklassieker geworden die deze week via Arrow op Blu-ray wordt uitgebracht.

De film die voor een habbekrats ineen werd geknutseld staat vandaag bekend als één van de toonaangevende modern noir-films uit de jaren 90. Er was misschien inderdaad geen geld voor handen, wel is er over iedere camerabeweging grondig nagedacht en dat maakt Bound zo onweerstaanbaar.

Hoe minder je van het verhaal weet des te beter. Deze misdaadprent is immers eentje die best met een klassieke Brian De Palma-thriller te vergelijken valt waarin de kijker van de ene verrassing naar de andere wordt gekatapulteerd. Het script van de twee femme fatales (Gina Gershon en Jennifer Tilly) is niet alleen onweerstaanbaar spannend, maar bezit ook een hoge dosis geweld dat zich ergens tussen Lynch en The Sopranos situeert. Veel hadden de Wachowski broertjes daar niet voor niet nodig, want bijna de gehele film speelt zich in een appartementsgebouw af, maar dankzij de intrigerende acteerprestaties en het formidabele script kijk je deze misdaadprent in één adem uit. Naast het vrouwelijk schoon zie je ook Joe Pantoliano schitteren. Eens je Bound hebt gezien zal je wellicht twee keer nadenken vooraleer je een woning met flinterdunne muren betreedt en ook de verwittiging dat iemand je maar tien keer dezelfde vraag zal stellen heeft na afloop een bijzondere sinistere bijklank.

De versie van Arrow heeft niet alleen een sublieme transfer, ook staat de uitgave (zoals steeds op dit label) boordevol prachtig bonusmateriaal. Er is een audiocommentaar met de Wachowskis, Jennifer Tilly, Gina Gershon, Joe Pantoliano en editor Zach Staenberg. Tevens vind je ook interviews met Gina Gershon, Jennifer Tilly, Joe Pantoliano en Christopher Meloni.

In de bijna half uur durende extra Modern Noir: The Sights & Sounds of Bound leggen diverse mensen je uit waarom de film het verdient om een klassieker te zijn.

Bound is nu uit op Arrow Video.

Didier BECU
11/08/2014


11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound 11/08/2014 : ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI - Bound

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures