tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/01/2016 : ANGELIC FOE - Mother Of Abominations

ANGELIC FOE

Mother Of Abominations

MusicCD


[78/100]   

Equilibrium Records
31/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

This great project by the Swedish singer Annmari Thim, also known as the lead singer of Arcana, has released the second album Mother of Abominations this year.

As a composer, lyricist and vocalist, Annmari leads the listener into another world, the world of mysticism and mythical tales. While listening to Mother Of Abominations, you are not quite sure if you have taken a step back to ancient history or a step into a fantasy tale that can take place only in her or your imagination; however it can create a middle ground for those two to meet, a historical voyage with a mystical twist, you can almost give a sound to all those tales your grandmother told you but taking it a bit further, being led by great orchestral arrangements and the “angelic” voice of Annmari.

Angelic Foe uses dramatic orchestral sounds combing them with rhythmic percussion to create a dark and dim atmosphere, but filled with mysticism and magic. Even though we can hear influences of classic orchestral music, even symphonic metal, ethnic folk and pagan rock, I would describe the sound as ethereal carried out by Annamari´s vocal performance that ranges from beautiful melodic soprano to even some spoken parts where Annmari successfully depicts the voice of a witch, a priestess, a sorceress or some other unearthly creature.

The neoclassical orchestral arrangement on the first track induces the allusion of everything sad, dark and mystical feel that will persist throughout the album. Annmari creates great vocal harmonies which she masters so well, and also puts a mark on the album being more vocally elaborate on the second track The Get.

All Her Princes Are Gone is a slower track in which the feeling of mysticism is subdued and instead the feeling of sadness emerges. Angelic Foe rises again on Shapes Without Shadows, a complete lyrical tale with an enigmatic intro that blossoms into the great and powerful chorus. On the contrary, Pestilence And Smither starts out strongly with some heavy percussion that characterizes the song all the way through, and even without Annmari’s voice this piece would be a great track since it is so rich in sound that puts Annmari this time a bit out of focus.

Bewitching Lilith is my favourite track, as we can hear what I consider the most powerful chorus where orchestral arrangement works brilliantly with Annmari’s vocals, and at the very end of the song we can hear Annmari’s almost sinister whisper narrative; a complete tale that goes beyond just music and can easily be translated into an image before your very eyes.

A slower pace comes with the next track, Workers of Harm, and even though Angelic Foe utilise industrial elements as well throughout the album, we can hear the use of those elements clearly on this track. Another darkly painted song The Judgement flirts with pagan and ethnic music that is most prominent on this track. They decide to give us closure with Enemies of God that leans more to the beat and the voice rather than to the melody, but remains a good choice for soothing our vexed imagination after such a grand voyage.

Marija BULJETA
31/01/2016


NL

Angelic Foe is het project van de Zweedse zangeres Annmari Thim, die je wellicht van Arcana kent, Mother of Abominations is het tweede album.

Als componist, tekstschrijver en zangeres, leidt Annmari je binnen in een wereld van mythische verhalen. Tijdens het luisteren naar Mother Of Abominations, ben je niet zeker of je je in de oude geschiedenis bevindt of dat het gewoon om een ingebeeld fantasieverhaal gaat. Wellicht is het een middenweg waar de twee elkaar ontmoeten: een historische reis met een mystiek tintje, met verhalen die klinken zoals je oma ze je vertelde, maar hier met grote orkestrale arrangementen en de engelachtige stem van Annmari.

Angelic Foe gebruikt dramatische orkestklanken met een ritmische percussie. De muziek heeft een donkere en schemerige sfeer vol mystiek en magie. Hoewel we invloeden van klassieke muziek, symfonische metal, etnische folk en pagan rock horen, zou ik het geluid eerder als etherisch omschrijven. Dat komt vooral door de vocalen van Annamari. Afwisselend speelt ze de rol van sopraan, dan weer zijn er gesproken stukken waarin Annmari de stem van een heks, een priesteres, een tovenares of een ander bovennatuurlijk wezen gebruikt. Het neoklassieke arrangement vat perfect het trieste, donkere en mystieke gevoel samen dat dit album kenmerkt.

All Her Princes Are Gone is een trager nummer. Het mystieke gevoel is wat ingetogen en in de plaats daarvan ontstaat een eerder verdrietig gevoel. Tijdens Shapes Without Shadows krijgen we opnieuw een lyrisch verhaal met een raadselachtig intro dat openbloeit tot een machtig refrein. Pestilence And Smither begint sterk met zwaar percussiewerk dat het lied helemaal kenmerkt, zelfs zonder de stem van Annemari zou dit een geweldige track zijn.

Bewitching Lilith is mijn favoriete nummer. Het is het meest krachtige refrein op de plaat en het orkestrale arrangement past perfect bij de zang. Op het einde van het lied fluistert Annmari op een sinistere wijze een compleet verhaal dat verder gaat dan de muziek. Het kost weinig moeite om je het verhaal in te beelden.

Workers Of Harm heeft een langzamer tempoe en hoewel Angelic Foe op heel het album industriële elementen gebruikt, horen we dat toch het best op dit nummer. The Judgement is donker en flirt met heidense en etnische muziek. Enemies Of God is de afsluiter die meer beat bevat. Deze plaat is een avontuur waaraan je je beslist moet wagen!

Marija BULJETA
31/01/2016


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo