tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

12/01/2014 : ANNE CLARK AND HERRB - Fairytales From The Underground

ANNE CLARK AND HERRB

Fairytales From The Underground

MusicVinyl
New wave

[85/100]   

Emmo.biz
12/01/2014, Ward DE PRINS

EN

In 2013 Anne Clark released this jewel as a limited mini-cd. In 2014, this one is extended with several remixes andbrought to you as a picture disc by Emmo.biz. (And in 2014 Anne Clark & HerrB will be performing live together !)

Anne Clark always more narrates than that she sings. But her beautiful timbre and English accent draw you instantly in her stories and poetry. And just the same happened a few months back, when I bought the mini-cd. Opener "Darkest Hour" is driven by a poppy electronic riff, enhanced by multiple sound effects & of course Anne, dreaming about the walls of her room coming closer, drowning in an ocean of fear, welcoming us to her darkest hour. "Eye Of A Wolf" lets her wander further, sharing her thoughts against the backdrop of an intriguing tapestry of sound (is that a trumpet?). And last song "When You Think Your Time Has Come" follows the same paths, a bit more up-tempo, giving us a third beautiful song.

This is not a new or spectacular release, but the compositions are quite strong and the combination of HerrB & Anne Clark works wonderful, giving some really relaxing and enjoyable moments with a gloomy, melancholy kind of atmosphere bordering on weltschmerz.. Looking forward to hear and see this live !

The picture disc from 2014 contains 4 additional remixes by “MRDTC”, “Angst Pop & Technomancer” , “B Infinite” and “Stadt aus Draht”.

 

Ward DE PRINS
12/01/2014


NL

In 2013 werd "Fairytales From The Underground" uigebracht als een gelimiteerde mini-cd. Nu, in 2014, verschijnt deze opnieuw via Emmo.biz, doch ditmaal uitgebreid met diverse remixen, en als gelimiteerde picture disc.

Anne Clark heeft altijd meer een verhalende stijl gehad dan dat ze effectief zingt. Maar haar warm timbre en heerlijk Engelse accent sleuren je ogenblikkelijk mee in haar verhalen en poëzie. En zo gebeurde het ook enkele maanden geleden toen ik deze mini-cd kocht. 

Opener "Darkest Hour" wordt gedreven door een poppy electronische riff, met daarbij meerlagige geluidseffecten (bij elke beluistering ontdek ik weer nieuwe geluidjes) en uiteraard ook Anne's stem, dromend en verhalend over de muren van haar kamer die op haar afkomen, het verdrinken in een oceaan van angsten en ons verwelkomend in haar meest duistere uur. Mooi ! Ook "Eye Of A Wolf" laat haar verder mijmeren en haar poëtische gedachten delen tegen een intrigerend klanktapijt (is dat repititieve vettige geluid nu een trompet ?). Afsluiter "When You Think Your Time Has Come" volgt hetzelfde pad, iets meer up-tempo, doch resulterend in een derde mooie song.

Dit is geen nieuwe spectaculaire release, maar de nummers zijn behoorlijk sterk en de combinatie van HerrB en Anne Clark werkt, hetgeen enkele heerlijk relaxerende en entertainende momenten oplevert. Aangezien in 2014 Anne Clark ook samen met HerrB zal optreden is het dus uitkijken naar de live-uitvoering van deze nummers. Ik ben alvast benieuwd !

De 2014 editie, als picture disc, bevat ook nog 4 additionele remixen, door “MRDTC”, “Angst Pop & Technomancer” , “B Infinite” and “Stadt aus Draht”.

Ward DE PRINS
12/01/2014


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House