tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH

live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Concert
Dark ElectroNew wave

[89/100]   
12/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It was my first time at Zappa and I must say that the venue is pretty cool! It looks like it's located a safe area with enough parking space around. The sound is good and there seems to be more than enough lights for the light engineer to use.

Simi Nah is the opening band. Some of you might have seen them before in Ghent or at other events, for me it was the first time. Nice to see mother and daughter together on stage! Love their electronic cold wave and minimal wave sound. The French tongue is always nice and they way they use it does however, not sound to much Vive La Fête. The lyrics seem to be pretty much about the same: pretty young girls... The 'Euroshima (Wardance)' cover from Snowy Red is not bad at all (Not really surprising if you know Alice is the daughter from the late Micky Mike/Snowy Red). After that song more people started to dance and Simi Nah set fire to the place. The background videos were nice, the lightshow was a bit minimalistic. I loved their epic ending song, a that ended in a real sound climax!

Of course most of the people came to see Anne Clark & herrB! The loud acclamation when they entered the stage was very clear! Anne is still loved by many! She's a well preserved woman and her voice still sounds as sharp as her words, hitting where it hurts, protesting against many thing in our society. Her dark poetry gets a nice extra electronic infusion thanks to herrB! As expected they played a lot of the newer songs the made together, but the crowd seemed to know them already. However it was clear that some older fans where waiting for Anne's big hits like 'Heaven', which sounded great and 'Wallies', which got a slightly new herrB shape. Other good ones past the revenue... 'Hope Road', 'Full Moon' and 'Killing Time'. The new sound the duo brings is clearly 2014-ish and that is a good thing! A song like 'Counter act' (1991) still tasted good, and by the time she ended her regular set with 'Sleeper in Metropolis' the whole venue was dancing!
It was a blast and you could feel the happiness of the people! A raging end of a set with lots of new stuff!

She came back on stage, highly acclaimed and continued with 'When You Think Your Time Has Come', 'A Dream' (with a bit too long intro imho) and then, as highlight for the crowd 'Our Darkness'! The outburst was there! Even though I had to adjust a bit to the new version, it was well worth it! I had a great night & I hope you enjoyed it too!

Up to the next event!


(interview: Portion Control & PNE)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/04/2014


12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back