tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH

live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Concert
Dark ElectroNew wave

[89/100]   
12/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It was my first time at Zappa and I must say that the venue is pretty cool! It looks like it's located a safe area with enough parking space around. The sound is good and there seems to be more than enough lights for the light engineer to use.

Simi Nah is the opening band. Some of you might have seen them before in Ghent or at other events, for me it was the first time. Nice to see mother and daughter together on stage! Love their electronic cold wave and minimal wave sound. The French tongue is always nice and they way they use it does however, not sound to much Vive La Fête. The lyrics seem to be pretty much about the same: pretty young girls... The 'Euroshima (Wardance)' cover from Snowy Red is not bad at all (Not really surprising if you know Alice is the daughter from the late Micky Mike/Snowy Red). After that song more people started to dance and Simi Nah set fire to the place. The background videos were nice, the lightshow was a bit minimalistic. I loved their epic ending song, a that ended in a real sound climax!

Of course most of the people came to see Anne Clark & herrB! The loud acclamation when they entered the stage was very clear! Anne is still loved by many! She's a well preserved woman and her voice still sounds as sharp as her words, hitting where it hurts, protesting against many thing in our society. Her dark poetry gets a nice extra electronic infusion thanks to herrB! As expected they played a lot of the newer songs the made together, but the crowd seemed to know them already. However it was clear that some older fans where waiting for Anne's big hits like 'Heaven', which sounded great and 'Wallies', which got a slightly new herrB shape. Other good ones past the revenue... 'Hope Road', 'Full Moon' and 'Killing Time'. The new sound the duo brings is clearly 2014-ish and that is a good thing! A song like 'Counter act' (1991) still tasted good, and by the time she ended her regular set with 'Sleeper in Metropolis' the whole venue was dancing!
It was a blast and you could feel the happiness of the people! A raging end of a set with lots of new stuff!

She came back on stage, highly acclaimed and continued with 'When You Think Your Time Has Come', 'A Dream' (with a bit too long intro imho) and then, as highlight for the crowd 'Our Darkness'! The outburst was there! Even though I had to adjust a bit to the new version, it was well worth it! I had a great night & I hope you enjoyed it too!

Up to the next event!


(interview: Portion Control & PNE)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/04/2014


12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis