tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH

live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Concert
Dark ElectroNew wave

[89/100]   
12/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

It was my first time at Zappa and I must say that the venue is pretty cool! It looks like it's located a safe area with enough parking space around. The sound is good and there seems to be more than enough lights for the light engineer to use.

Simi Nah is the opening band. Some of you might have seen them before in Ghent or at other events, for me it was the first time. Nice to see mother and daughter together on stage! Love their electronic cold wave and minimal wave sound. The French tongue is always nice and they way they use it does however, not sound to much Vive La Fête. The lyrics seem to be pretty much about the same: pretty young girls... The 'Euroshima (Wardance)' cover from Snowy Red is not bad at all (Not really surprising if you know Alice is the daughter from the late Micky Mike/Snowy Red). After that song more people started to dance and Simi Nah set fire to the place. The background videos were nice, the lightshow was a bit minimalistic. I loved their epic ending song, a that ended in a real sound climax!

Of course most of the people came to see Anne Clark & herrB! The loud acclamation when they entered the stage was very clear! Anne is still loved by many! She's a well preserved woman and her voice still sounds as sharp as her words, hitting where it hurts, protesting against many thing in our society. Her dark poetry gets a nice extra electronic infusion thanks to herrB! As expected they played a lot of the newer songs the made together, but the crowd seemed to know them already. However it was clear that some older fans where waiting for Anne's big hits like 'Heaven', which sounded great and 'Wallies', which got a slightly new herrB shape. Other good ones past the revenue... 'Hope Road', 'Full Moon' and 'Killing Time'. The new sound the duo brings is clearly 2014-ish and that is a good thing! A song like 'Counter act' (1991) still tasted good, and by the time she ended her regular set with 'Sleeper in Metropolis' the whole venue was dancing!
It was a blast and you could feel the happiness of the people! A raging end of a set with lots of new stuff!

She came back on stage, highly acclaimed and continued with 'When You Think Your Time Has Come', 'A Dream' (with a bit too long intro imho) and then, as highlight for the crowd 'Our Darkness'! The outburst was there! Even though I had to adjust a bit to the new version, it was well worth it! I had a great night & I hope you enjoyed it too!

Up to the next event!


(interview: Portion Control & PNE)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/04/2014


12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 12/04/2014 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH - live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis