tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

01/08/2018 : ANNINA MELISSA - Exhibition of Death

ANNINA MELISSA

Exhibition of Death

MusicDigital
Dark Ambient

[90/100]   

Self-released
01/08/2018, Sergio MANGHINA

Annina Melissa is a rounded artist, musician, singer, poet, actress and model based in London, but with German-Canadian roots.

She appears on the cover of her first work embodying a Gothic doll, that unquiet creature who secretly lives inside her soul. It is an EP which includes five tracks, five complex mini-symphonies animated by the predominance of her mezzo-soprano voice, like an immaterial presence.

A circular flow of piano notes introduces the cadenced and mysterious “Trailblazer”, while “Crimson” entwines further classical echoes and a certain prog-rock allure. Another gloomy melody marks “Wolfsbalge”, and its nervous baroque fugue. Then “Misanthropia” offers iridescent shades joined with the inner ghosts expressed in grotesque gutturalisms.
The final title-track represents the true highlight, thanks to an injection of medieval scent, esoteric as well as elusive.

Much of the inspiration comes from classical music involved in a haunting game of distorted mirrors with dark ambient elements, slow/ritualistic drum beats and fine electronic sounds. Above all, there is an intense devotion for Gothic culture in all its forms.

This eclectic woman is able to draw a painful internal landscape superimposed on an external one.
It is a difficult immersion, almost a spiritual purification through music but she is a brave one, and this is her sumptuous start.

Sergio MANGHINA
01/08/2018


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete