tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/10/2015 : ANTIMATTER - Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)

ANTIMATTER

Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)

Concert
12/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

On October 9th, 2015 Antimatter released the new album The Judas Table. This date also was the start of their new tour, The Judas Tour. The first concert was at De Verlichte Geest in Roeselare, Belgium. A nice music club which is mostly known in the area for its metal-oriented gigs. It is a beautiful location for a gig in an intimate atmosphere.

The support act was the Belgian acoustic duo A Bundle Of Joy that created a dark intimate atmosphere with its music. After a short break, the lights dimmed and the stage was shrouded in a mist, while the room filled with an enthusiastic audience.

It was immediately clear that Antimatter was in for it and that improved the atmosphere. The room was filled with the typical guitar sound of Antimatter, added of course with the delicate voice of singer Mick Moss. The reaction of the audience was great, the concert was okay and fabulous. When I looked around, I only saw faces that were enjoying the music.

Just like the new album, the playlist was a collection of older and new song. It was the first time that the fans heard the live versions of new songs such as Black Eyed Man, which they obviously already had discovered through the digital superhighway YouTube. The response of the public was fantastic and the applause afterwards was great and well deserved.

It was also wonderful to see how singer Mick lost himself in his music. He closed his eyes several times during the set and he allowed himself to drift away on the atmosphere that was created by the merging of the band and the audience. The music was explosive, but on the other side delicate and fragile too, and that is what makes a concert of Antimatter always so interesting.

It is not just a band that is playing music, it's an overall concept in which the band and the audience become one unity, and in a way you forget about time and space, so you can thoroughly enjoy this special unique moment. The band gave the audience what it wanted: melodic rock with brilliant guitar solos and drums, and of course the magnificent voice of Mick.

It's hard to pick out the highlights of the evening, but I mention tracks like Paranova, Black Eyed Man, Over Your Shoulder, Leaving Eden... you'll understand what I mean. After 80 minutes, the set ended with the very beautiful Stillborn Empires. Mick and his band members thanked the audience for their loyalty and because they had been part of this special evening. The crowd at the merchandising booth after the concert is always a good indication. This great gig was simply the successful start of what can (and will) be a good tour.

Ruben SAEY
12/10/2015


Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God
10
05
MOTOR!K
Static