tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

12/10/2015 : ANTIMATTER - Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)

ANTIMATTER

Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)

Concert
12/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

On October 9th, 2015 Antimatter released the new album The Judas Table. This date also was the start of their new tour, The Judas Tour. The first concert was at De Verlichte Geest in Roeselare, Belgium. A nice music club which is mostly known in the area for its metal-oriented gigs. It is a beautiful location for a gig in an intimate atmosphere.

The support act was the Belgian acoustic duo A Bundle Of Joy that created a dark intimate atmosphere with its music. After a short break, the lights dimmed and the stage was shrouded in a mist, while the room filled with an enthusiastic audience.

It was immediately clear that Antimatter was in for it and that improved the atmosphere. The room was filled with the typical guitar sound of Antimatter, added of course with the delicate voice of singer Mick Moss. The reaction of the audience was great, the concert was okay and fabulous. When I looked around, I only saw faces that were enjoying the music.

Just like the new album, the playlist was a collection of older and new song. It was the first time that the fans heard the live versions of new songs such as Black Eyed Man, which they obviously already had discovered through the digital superhighway YouTube. The response of the public was fantastic and the applause afterwards was great and well deserved.

It was also wonderful to see how singer Mick lost himself in his music. He closed his eyes several times during the set and he allowed himself to drift away on the atmosphere that was created by the merging of the band and the audience. The music was explosive, but on the other side delicate and fragile too, and that is what makes a concert of Antimatter always so interesting.

It is not just a band that is playing music, it's an overall concept in which the band and the audience become one unity, and in a way you forget about time and space, so you can thoroughly enjoy this special unique moment. The band gave the audience what it wanted: melodic rock with brilliant guitar solos and drums, and of course the magnificent voice of Mick.

It's hard to pick out the highlights of the evening, but I mention tracks like Paranova, Black Eyed Man, Over Your Shoulder, Leaving Eden... you'll understand what I mean. After 80 minutes, the set ended with the very beautiful Stillborn Empires. Mick and his band members thanked the audience for their loyalty and because they had been part of this special evening. The crowd at the merchandising booth after the concert is always a good indication. This great gig was simply the successful start of what can (and will) be a good tour.

Ruben SAEY
12/10/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir