tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer

ANTOINE FUQUA

The Equalizer

MovieCinema
Action
Sony Pictures Releasing
26/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Denzel Washington is back. Nah, this is not a line that we picked from some promo trailer, it’s just the truth. The sad side of the story however is that he does this in a mediocre, but fine action movie that you’ll soon erase from your cinema memory.

Once there was a New York- cab driver who took care of a young prostitute. That’s it!, we hear director Antoine Fuqua thinking! This time it’s an owner from a DIY-store who will do the job. The director even named his personage Robert. Yeah, talking about taking it a bit too far! But mind you, this is where any resemblance with Paul Schrader’s master script stops.

Robert McCall (Denzel Washington) is a control freak. He is intelligent, strong and a good man. Reasons enough for the young hooker Terri (Chloë Grace Moretz) to seek some protection with. Nah, your dirty minds, she does this not in bed, but she reads with him some pages from The Old Man And The Sea by Hemmingway in a fastfood bar. And then of course it happens. The young girl refuses to obey the commands from the Russian mob and they rework her pretty face with acid. The rest is easy to guess: Robert will let them bleed!

In case you think the title sounds very much like an 80’s-product then you’re right as The Equalizer could have been on the poster from some old Charles Bronson-movie. Director Fuqua certainly did a nice job, especially as since Training Day he only made mediocre movies. The bad guys are so over the top that you start to like them. At the end Fuqua exaggerates so much that it looks like he’s bringing an ode to the slasher genre. Because yes, all bad guys die (what would you have expected otherwise?), but they all go to hell in the most terrible way you can think of! And what about Washington? Well, his latest movies are definitely not masterpieces, but he remains one of the best current actors.

Something for popcorn fanatics. It’s yummy, that’s for sure! Is it healthy? You know the score!

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


NL

Denzel Washington is terug. Neen, het is geen zinnetje uit één of ander promopraatje, gewoon de waarheid. De andere kant van de medaille is weliswaar dat hij dat in een matige, weliswaar zeer onderhoudende actiefilm doet die je in geen tijd uit je cinemageheugen wist.

Ooit was er een taxichauffeur in New York die zich in zijn vrije tijd over een jong hoertje bekommerde. Bingo!, dacht regisseur Antoine Fuqua en dus maakte hij er gewoon een eigenaar van een doe-het-zelfzaak van. Fuqua geneert zich zelfs niet om zijn personage Robert te noemen. Slik dus, maar daarmee stopt de vergelijking met Paul Schraders meesterlijke script dan ook.

Robert McCall (Denzel Washington) is een controlefreak die alles in het leven tot in de puntjes beheerst. Zijn stoere borst zorgt ervoor dat het jonge hoertje Terri (Chloë Grace Moretz) bescherming bij hem zoekt. Neen hoor, beste viespeuken, ze doet dat niet in bed maar gewoon door met hem in één of andere fastfoodbar passages uit The Old Man And The Sea van Hemmingway te lezen. En dan gebeurt natuurlijk het onvermijdelijke: de Russische maffia bewerkt het gezicht van het meisje met allerlei zuren omdat ze niet wil luisteren naar hun bevelen. De rest laat zich raden: onze vriend Robert zal de rekening vereffenen.

Indien je vindt dat de titel een verschrikkelijk hoog eightiesgehalte heeft dan heb je gelijk. Zowel de naam als de inhoud zouden immers perfect bij een Charles Bronson-film passen. Fuqua doet het zeker niet slecht, vooral als je weet dat hij sinds Training Day alleen maar middelmatige films heeft gedraaid. De bad guys zijn zo over the top dat je er om de duur gaat van houden en op het einde lijkt het wel alsof de regisseur door zijn overdrijvingen een ode aan het slashergenre brengt. Want jawel, alle slechteriken sterven (of wat dacht je?), maar zij doen dat allen op een uiterst huiverachtige manier. En Washington? Tja, ondanks zijn recente matige films blijft hij wel nog altijd één van de allerbeste acteurs.

Voer voor popcornfanaten. Lekker is het zeker, of het gezond is laten we maar beter in het midden.

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer 26/09/2014 : ANTOINE FUQUA - The Equalizer

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane