tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/01/2016 : ANVIL FX - Prova De Biologia

ANVIL FX

Prova De Biologia

MusicCD

Daft Records
13/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course we read it before: there are many gems in the South American dark scene, but we just don’t give them a real change. No one in Europe knows about Anvil FX, except Dirk Ivens who was so impressed by the energetic sound that he wanted to release the band’s debut on his own label Daft. In South America the CD is released on Democracy Noise Records.

It's hard to describe the music of Biba Graeff and Paulo Beto The only constant factor is electronic music, but every song sounds completely different, and above all, they’re all very original!

Opener A Vida De Um Poeta Semianalfabeto is repetitive minimal techno. Just think of what Schwefelgelb is doing, but with female vocals and ideal for DJ’s with a sense of adventure.

La Machine is up-tempo techno wave with a hilarious text that is a mixture of the playfulness of Stereo Total and the danceability of Liaisons Dangereuses. A strange track, but once you've heard the song, it seems impossible to erase it from your memory.

Handsome Cat is dominated by deafening percussion, screaming vocals and hard industrial beats. It is without doubt the most difficult track of the album, but that’s what makes Prova De Biologial such a varied album. Moshi Moshi is a funny interlude, while Attitude Spectral has a dark Haus Arafna-touch.

Loro is experimental, Cabaret Voltaire-sounds in a contemporary electro style, but not flat. Even though Na Tabela is sung in Portuguese, it still sounds like Neue Deutsche Welle! It is simply music that takes its strength from its spontaneity. The CD ends with the extremely poppy Ding Dong that is like superb Italo Disco.

If you can “blame” Anvil FX for one thing, then it is the fact that you can’t stick a label on this CD, Prova De Biologial is a musical adventure.

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


NL

We hebben het natuurlijk al vaker gelezen, maar net iets te weinig een kans gegeven. In Zuid-Amerika zijn er heel wat donkere pareltjes te vinden. In Europa heeft nog geen kat van Anvil FX gehoord, behalve Dirk Ivens die zo onder de indruk was van het energieke geluid dat hij voorstelde om een cd op zijn eigen Daft-label uit te brengen. In Zuid-Amerika was dat op hun eigen Noise Democracy Records.

Het is moeilijk om de muziek van Biba Graeff (stem) en Paulo Beto (muziek) te omschrijven. De enige constante factor is dat het om elektronische muziek gaat, maar ieder nummer klinkt anders, en vooral uiterst origineel!

Opener A Vida De Um Poeta Semianalfabeto is repetitieve minimal techno. Denk aan wat Schwefelgelb doet, maar dan wel met vrouwelijke vocalen. Het nummer raast als een trein voorbij en is uiterst geschikt voor avontuurlijke dj’s.

La Machine is uptempo technowave met een hilarische tekst die zich ergens tussen de speelsheid van Stereo Total en de dansbaarheid van Liaisons Dangereuses situeert. Een vreemde track, maar eens je het nummer hebt gehoord, blijkt het onmogelijk om die uit je geheugen te wissen.

Handsome Cat wordt gedomineerd door oorverdovende percussies, krijsende vocalen en loeiharde indusbeats. Het is zonder twijfel de moeilijkste track van de plaat, maar het maakt er Prova De Biologial alleen maar gevarieerder op. Moshi Moshi is een grappig intermezzo, terwijl Attitude Spectrale een donker Haus Arafna-kantje heeft.

Loro is experimenteel, Cabaret Voltaire-geluiden in een hedendaags elektrojasje zonder dat het plat wordt. Ook al is Na Tabela in het Portugees gezongen, klinkt het toch als lekkere Neue Deutsche Welle! Muziek die zijn kracht uit zijn spontaniteit haalt. De plaat wordt afgesloten met het uiterst poppy Ding Dong dat een Italo Disco-sfeertje heeft.

Anvil FX kan je maar één ding “verwijten” en dat is het feit dat geen enkele muziekfan in staat is om een etiket op deze cd te kleven, Prova De Biologial is een muzikaal avontuur.

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco