tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/01/2016 : ANVIL FX - Prova De Biologia

ANVIL FX

Prova De Biologia

MusicCD

Daft Records
13/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course we read it before: there are many gems in the South American dark scene, but we just don’t give them a real change. No one in Europe knows about Anvil FX, except Dirk Ivens who was so impressed by the energetic sound that he wanted to release the band’s debut on his own label Daft. In South America the CD is released on Democracy Noise Records.

It's hard to describe the music of Biba Graeff and Paulo Beto The only constant factor is electronic music, but every song sounds completely different, and above all, they’re all very original!

Opener A Vida De Um Poeta Semianalfabeto is repetitive minimal techno. Just think of what Schwefelgelb is doing, but with female vocals and ideal for DJ’s with a sense of adventure.

La Machine is up-tempo techno wave with a hilarious text that is a mixture of the playfulness of Stereo Total and the danceability of Liaisons Dangereuses. A strange track, but once you've heard the song, it seems impossible to erase it from your memory.

Handsome Cat is dominated by deafening percussion, screaming vocals and hard industrial beats. It is without doubt the most difficult track of the album, but that’s what makes Prova De Biologial such a varied album. Moshi Moshi is a funny interlude, while Attitude Spectral has a dark Haus Arafna-touch.

Loro is experimental, Cabaret Voltaire-sounds in a contemporary electro style, but not flat. Even though Na Tabela is sung in Portuguese, it still sounds like Neue Deutsche Welle! It is simply music that takes its strength from its spontaneity. The CD ends with the extremely poppy Ding Dong that is like superb Italo Disco.

If you can “blame” Anvil FX for one thing, then it is the fact that you can’t stick a label on this CD, Prova De Biologial is a musical adventure.

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


NL

We hebben het natuurlijk al vaker gelezen, maar net iets te weinig een kans gegeven. In Zuid-Amerika zijn er heel wat donkere pareltjes te vinden. In Europa heeft nog geen kat van Anvil FX gehoord, behalve Dirk Ivens die zo onder de indruk was van het energieke geluid dat hij voorstelde om een cd op zijn eigen Daft-label uit te brengen. In Zuid-Amerika was dat op hun eigen Noise Democracy Records.

Het is moeilijk om de muziek van Biba Graeff (stem) en Paulo Beto (muziek) te omschrijven. De enige constante factor is dat het om elektronische muziek gaat, maar ieder nummer klinkt anders, en vooral uiterst origineel!

Opener A Vida De Um Poeta Semianalfabeto is repetitieve minimal techno. Denk aan wat Schwefelgelb doet, maar dan wel met vrouwelijke vocalen. Het nummer raast als een trein voorbij en is uiterst geschikt voor avontuurlijke dj’s.

La Machine is uptempo technowave met een hilarische tekst die zich ergens tussen de speelsheid van Stereo Total en de dansbaarheid van Liaisons Dangereuses situeert. Een vreemde track, maar eens je het nummer hebt gehoord, blijkt het onmogelijk om die uit je geheugen te wissen.

Handsome Cat wordt gedomineerd door oorverdovende percussies, krijsende vocalen en loeiharde indusbeats. Het is zonder twijfel de moeilijkste track van de plaat, maar het maakt er Prova De Biologial alleen maar gevarieerder op. Moshi Moshi is een grappig intermezzo, terwijl Attitude Spectrale een donker Haus Arafna-kantje heeft.

Loro is experimenteel, Cabaret Voltaire-geluiden in een hedendaags elektrojasje zonder dat het plat wordt. Ook al is Na Tabela in het Portugees gezongen, klinkt het toch als lekkere Neue Deutsche Welle! Muziek die zijn kracht uit zijn spontaniteit haalt. De plaat wordt afgesloten met het uiterst poppy Ding Dong dat een Italo Disco-sfeertje heeft.

Anvil FX kan je maar één ding “verwijten” en dat is het feit dat geen enkele muziekfan in staat is om een etiket op deze cd te kleven, Prova De Biologial is een muzikaal avontuur.

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders