tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

27/10/2015 : APOCALYPTICA/TRACER - Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)

APOCALYPTICA/TRACER

Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)

Concert
27/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On 24th October, Apocalyptica played in Brussels, and the Australian band Tracer as support act with whom Peek-A-Boo had a nice conversation.

Tracer played an energetic short set. Of course, that is the fate if you're just a support act and nothing can change that. They played songs that mostly came from their recent album Water For Thirsty Dogs, like the title track We're Only Animals, Asternaut Jugernaut, Halfway to Zero, as well as some other good songs. Tracer managed to entertain the audience. We heard a strong voice and an excellent band, so we only can hope that we will see them again later at the summer festivals, because they undoubtedly will set the tent on fire.

Apocalyptica apparently attracts different people: from metal fans to housewives, you saw them everywhere in the AB! That’s normal as their music is also diverse.

Apolyptica started in style and began with three instrumentals: Reign Of Fear, Grace and I'm Not Jesus. Then Perez came on stage to add some vocals to the songs. Personally, I thought it was time to do that, because before I missed something. Unfortunately, Perez voice was too quietly mixed. Actually, you can say a lot about the mix as the sound was a bit too loud, especially the bass drum was too dominant.

It was not a surprising set, which of course had the great Master of the Puppets and Inquisition Symphony, and they provided the necessary metal sounds. There was also a quieter moment in the set that showed the many possibilities of the three cellos. Towards the end of the set, there was some harder work like Refuse / Resist, Seek & Destroy and the Edvard Grieger cover In The Hall of the Mountain Hall. During the encores we heard I Do not Care and Dead Man Eyes.

Apocalyptica played a good show in the AB with impressive visuals on a big screen. The songs with Perez surely were the best. The rest seemed like a well-oiled machine, and sometimes I had the feeling that I was watching a gimmick, but nonetheless performed in a good way.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/10/2015


NL

Op 24 oktober kwam Apocalytpica naar Brussel, met in het voorprogramma de Australische band Tracer, waarmee Peek-A-Boo voor hun optreden een fijn gesprek had.

Tracer speelde een energiek korte set. Maar ja, dat is nu eenmaal het lot als je een support act bent en daaraan kan je niets veranderen. Ze speelden meestal songs uit hun recente album Water For Thirsty Dogs, zoals het titelnummer We’re Only Animals, Asternaut Jugernaut, Halfway to Zero, alsook wat andere goede songs. Tracer slaagde erin om de zaal flink op te warmen. We hoorden een sterke stem en een stevige band waarvan we hopen dat we hem volgend jaar op de zomerfestivals zullen zien, want deze mannen zullen ongetwijfeld de tent in vuur en vlam zetten.

Apocalyptica trekt blijkbaar verschillende mensen aan: van metalfans tot gewone huisvrouwen, je zag ze overal in de AB! Ze maken dan ook muziek die je niet zomaar in één vakje kan stoppen.

Apolyptica kwam in stijl op en startte met drie instrumentale nummers: Reign Of Fear, Grace en I’m Not Jesus. Daarna kwam Perez op het podium om enkele songs van vocals te voozien. Zelf vond ik het de hoogste tijd dat hij erbij kwam, want ik miste toch iets. Jammer dat Perez's stem wat stilletjes in de mix zat. Over die mix kun je trouwens het een en ander kwijt: zo was het geluid een beetje te luid, met vooral een te overheersende basdrum.

Het was een niet al te verrassende set, waarin natuurlijk het fantastische Master of the Puppets en Inquisition Symphony zatten en voor de nodige metal zorgden. Er was ook een rustiger moment in de set, waarop de vele mogelijkheden van de drie cello’s tot hun recht kwamen. Tegen het einde van de set kregen we opnieuw wat harder werk zoals Refuse/Resist, Seek & Destroy en de Edvard Grieger cover In The Hall of the Mountain Hall. Tijdens de encores werden I Don’ t Care en Dead Man Eyes opgevoerd.

Apocalyptica bracht een mooie show in de AB met indrukwekkende visuals op een groot scherm. De songs met Perez maakten de beste indruk. Voor de rest bleek de band een goed geoliede machine met net iets teveel showallures waardoor het bij momenten vrij gekunsteld overkwam. Daardoor had ik ook soms het gevoel dat ik naar een gimmick keek, alhoewel alles goed in elkaar zat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/10/2015


27/10/2015 : APOCALYPTICA/TRACER - Brussels, AB (24th October 2015) 27/10/2015 : APOCALYPTICA/TRACER - Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other