tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : AQUASERGE - Guerre EP

AQUASERGE

Guerre EP

MusicCD
Indie

[73/100]   

Crammed Discs
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There are only a few certainties in life left, one thing is sure though: releases on the Belgian Crammed Discs are always a tad different. That also is the case with the newest EP of Aquaserge.

The three members of Aquaserge from Toulouse (Julien Barbagallo, Julien Gasc and Benjamin Glibertin) worked with Tame Impala (yes!), Stereolab and Melody's Echo Chamber in the past. The band has been around for a while (some time ago it released a split with April March) and this new EP with four songs is the harbinger of a new album in 2017.

The four tracks are sung in French, but do not be put off by it. Les Plus Beaux Jours has a bit of a Gainsbourg atmosphere, but the other songs are rebellious indie pop. Les Zouzes has an exotic touch, but the guitar sound reminds us of Vampire Weekend or (if you prefer the real thing) Talking Heads. Les Vacances is post-punk, and even like a hybrid of The Fall and Taxi Girl. At first it souds like simple indie pop, but before you realize it, you played the song five times in a row.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Er zijn maar weinig zekerheden overgebleven, maar één ding staat als een paal boven water: releases op het Belgische Crammed Discs zijn altijd anders. Dat geldt ook voor de ep van Aquaserge.

Aquaserge is immers een band met leden die een cv hebben om u tegen te zeggen. De drie bandleden uit Toulouse (Julien Barbagallo, Julien Gasc en Benjamin Glibertin) werkten reeds samen met Tame Impala (jawel), Stereolab en Melody’s Echo Chamber. De band is al een tijdje bezig (zo bracht hij een split uit met de Amerikaanse April March) en deze nieuwe ep met daarop vier songs is de voorbode van een nieuwe plaat die in 2017 zal verschijnen.

De vier tracks zijn in het Frans gezongen, maar laat je daar niet door afschrikken. Afsluiter Les Plus Beaux Jours heeft dat speelse Gainsbourg-sfeertje, maar de andere songs zijn gewoon tegendraadse indiepop. Les Zouzes heeft een exotisch tintje, maar het balsturige gitaargeluid hoort eerder thuis bij Vampire Weekend of Talking Heads. Les Vacances is postpunk, en voor eventjes lijkt de song wel op een hybride van The Fall en Taxi Girl. Het lijkt eenvoudige indiepop, maar voor je het beseft speel je de song vijf keer op een avond.

Juist, we kijken uit naar die lp!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets