tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : AQUASERGE - Guerre EP

AQUASERGE

Guerre EP

MusicCD
Indie

[73/100]   

Crammed Discs
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There are only a few certainties in life left, one thing is sure though: releases on the Belgian Crammed Discs are always a tad different. That also is the case with the newest EP of Aquaserge.

The three members of Aquaserge from Toulouse (Julien Barbagallo, Julien Gasc and Benjamin Glibertin) worked with Tame Impala (yes!), Stereolab and Melody's Echo Chamber in the past. The band has been around for a while (some time ago it released a split with April March) and this new EP with four songs is the harbinger of a new album in 2017.

The four tracks are sung in French, but do not be put off by it. Les Plus Beaux Jours has a bit of a Gainsbourg atmosphere, but the other songs are rebellious indie pop. Les Zouzes has an exotic touch, but the guitar sound reminds us of Vampire Weekend or (if you prefer the real thing) Talking Heads. Les Vacances is post-punk, and even like a hybrid of The Fall and Taxi Girl. At first it souds like simple indie pop, but before you realize it, you played the song five times in a row.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Er zijn maar weinig zekerheden overgebleven, maar één ding staat als een paal boven water: releases op het Belgische Crammed Discs zijn altijd anders. Dat geldt ook voor de ep van Aquaserge.

Aquaserge is immers een band met leden die een cv hebben om u tegen te zeggen. De drie bandleden uit Toulouse (Julien Barbagallo, Julien Gasc en Benjamin Glibertin) werkten reeds samen met Tame Impala (jawel), Stereolab en Melody’s Echo Chamber. De band is al een tijdje bezig (zo bracht hij een split uit met de Amerikaanse April March) en deze nieuwe ep met daarop vier songs is de voorbode van een nieuwe plaat die in 2017 zal verschijnen.

De vier tracks zijn in het Frans gezongen, maar laat je daar niet door afschrikken. Afsluiter Les Plus Beaux Jours heeft dat speelse Gainsbourg-sfeertje, maar de andere songs zijn gewoon tegendraadse indiepop. Les Zouzes heeft een exotisch tintje, maar het balsturige gitaargeluid hoort eerder thuis bij Vampire Weekend of Talking Heads. Les Vacances is postpunk, en voor eventjes lijkt de song wel op een hybride van The Fall en Taxi Girl. Het lijkt eenvoudige indiepop, maar voor je het beseft speel je de song vijf keer op een avond.

Juist, we kijken uit naar die lp!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis