tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : AQUASERGE - Guerre EP

AQUASERGE

Guerre EP

MusicCD
Indie

[73/100]   

Crammed Discs
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There are only a few certainties in life left, one thing is sure though: releases on the Belgian Crammed Discs are always a tad different. That also is the case with the newest EP of Aquaserge.

The three members of Aquaserge from Toulouse (Julien Barbagallo, Julien Gasc and Benjamin Glibertin) worked with Tame Impala (yes!), Stereolab and Melody's Echo Chamber in the past. The band has been around for a while (some time ago it released a split with April March) and this new EP with four songs is the harbinger of a new album in 2017.

The four tracks are sung in French, but do not be put off by it. Les Plus Beaux Jours has a bit of a Gainsbourg atmosphere, but the other songs are rebellious indie pop. Les Zouzes has an exotic touch, but the guitar sound reminds us of Vampire Weekend or (if you prefer the real thing) Talking Heads. Les Vacances is post-punk, and even like a hybrid of The Fall and Taxi Girl. At first it souds like simple indie pop, but before you realize it, you played the song five times in a row.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Er zijn maar weinig zekerheden overgebleven, maar één ding staat als een paal boven water: releases op het Belgische Crammed Discs zijn altijd anders. Dat geldt ook voor de ep van Aquaserge.

Aquaserge is immers een band met leden die een cv hebben om u tegen te zeggen. De drie bandleden uit Toulouse (Julien Barbagallo, Julien Gasc en Benjamin Glibertin) werkten reeds samen met Tame Impala (jawel), Stereolab en Melody’s Echo Chamber. De band is al een tijdje bezig (zo bracht hij een split uit met de Amerikaanse April March) en deze nieuwe ep met daarop vier songs is de voorbode van een nieuwe plaat die in 2017 zal verschijnen.

De vier tracks zijn in het Frans gezongen, maar laat je daar niet door afschrikken. Afsluiter Les Plus Beaux Jours heeft dat speelse Gainsbourg-sfeertje, maar de andere songs zijn gewoon tegendraadse indiepop. Les Zouzes heeft een exotisch tintje, maar het balsturige gitaargeluid hoort eerder thuis bij Vampire Weekend of Talking Heads. Les Vacances is postpunk, en voor eventjes lijkt de song wel op een hybride van The Fall en Taxi Girl. Het lijkt eenvoudige indiepop, maar voor je het beseft speel je de song vijf keer op een avond.

Juist, we kijken uit naar die lp!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots