tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

12/11/2015 : ARBEID ADELT! - Brussels, Beursschouwburg 11/11/2015

ARBEID ADELT!

Brussels, Beursschouwburg 11/11/2015

Concert
12/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

11th November. When arriving in Brussels, we witnessed how the folding chairs for the annual ceremony at the monument of the Unknown Soldier were carried away. Ironically, barely 500 meters further, three veterans of the Belgian music scene were presenting their new album Slik. Their name ? Just as in 1981: Arbeid Adelt ! It would have been easy and profitable to act just like a jukebox, just like so many others. The trio decided (thankfully) for a completely different approach. Back to their roots, experimenting, doing whatever they want to do, refusing to make concessions, in short: Arbeid Adelt ! as it was. The wrinkles and the gray hair may be difficult to camouflage, yesterday Marcel, Luke and Jan proved that they still are the greatest anarchists of the Flemish music scene, and that after 34 years!

You've seen it before? No, forget for a moment the show of 2011 at the AB or their comeback at Sinner's Day, because this is not another greatest hits show, on the contrary! The stage was filled with analogue synths, Jan’s saxophone and of course that legendary yellow (almost toy) guitar of Luc.

The set began with Astra Astra , a song with the same experimental character as Cabaret Voltaire material. A very brave start, because it was clear that this would be Arbeid Adelt ! in the most extreme sense of the word, just as it was in the 80s.

Popcornmario had the same effect as on CD: it moves you to dance! There were some technical difficulties in the beginning, but that is punk. No one wanted to see a perfect concert at the sold out Beursschouwburg. It was allowed that Marcel pushed the wrong key on his keyboard, or that he accidentally skipped a song. The man in the flamboyant glitter costume was clearly amused. Sometimes he was extremely sympathetic (signing a CD after the third song because someone had to catch a train), sometimes viciously (a fuck you to the radio stations that refuse to play the new album).

The set hardly included hits (well, there was Ik Sta Scherp, but no radio station dares to play music of a guitarist who is dressed like a Chinese and runs in the venue with a traffic sign), but quirky songs like a cover of Ik Heb Geen Zin Om Op Te Staan (of the Dutch band HET, that no one remembers) or the strange electronic spielerei of Apparaat.

After thirteen songs the trio closed the set with (how could it be otherwise) Bedankt En Tot Ziens. You could see on the musician’s faces how they felt, there was no routine, and perhaps it was their symbolic middle finger to prove that you do not need the hip media if you have enough balls! And what about that audience? No one had the feeling that it should have been otherwise. Arbeid Adelt! was never meant to be a band for some nostalgia on your radio, this is a band that comes from the Johnny Rotten generation and that's what we got!

Afterwards, they came back for three songs, including De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen and a cover of Ricky's Hand by Fad Gadget. The latter was more like a statement, a band who dares to end the set of a comeback concert with such a song does not care about the stupid charts or radio friendly material. Twelve hours earlier the Belgian king greeted his loyal soldiers, twelve hours later an enthusiastic crowd saluted its new young heroes. Punk is back, and it’s invented for the second time by the same men!

Do not worry if you missed this show, as Arbeid Adelt ! also plays on these dates and locations:

03/12/15 HEIST OP DEN BERG (Zwaneberg)
05/12/2015 ANTWERPEN (Piaf)
18/12/2015 OUDENAARDE (Harmonie)
15/01/2016 TONGEREN (Retro Velinx)
16/01/2016 GISTEL (Zomerloos)
22/01/2016 POPERINGE (Den Couter)
23/01/2016 LEOPLODSBURG (Yap)
19/02/2016 GENT (Vooruit)
19/03/2016 STABROEK (Moorland)
16/04/2016 DE PANNE (Seaside Revisited)

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


NL

11 november. In de Brusselse hoofdstad haalt men aan het monument van de Onbekende Soldaat de klapstoeltjes voor de jaarlijkse ceremonie weg. De ironie wil dat amper 500 meter verder drie oud-strijders van de Belgische muziekscène hun nieuwe plaat Slik in première komen voorstellen. Hun naam? Net zoals dat in 1981 was: Arbeid Adelt! Het zou gemakkelijk en winstgevend geweest zijn om een jukebox te zijn zoals vaak het geval is, maar het trio koos (gelukkig) voor een compleet andere aanpak. Terug naar hun roots, volop experimenteren, doen waar ze zin in hebben, weigeren om toegevingen te doen, kortom Arbeid Adelt! zoals het was. De rimpels en de grijze haren zijn misschien moeilijk te camoufleren, gisteren bewezen Marcel, Luc en Jan in de Beursschouwburg met verve dat ze na 34 jaar nog steeds de grootste durvers in het Vlaamse muzieklandschap zijn.

Je hebt het al eens gezien? Neen, vergeet eventjes de show die je in 2011 in de AB of op Sinner’s Day zag, want van deze greatest hits-show laten de drie maar weinig over. Deze keer geen orkest op het podium of een jas met kerstlichtjes, maar een podium vol analoge synths, de saxofoon van Jan en dat legendarische gele (bijna speelgoed-) gitaartje van Luc.

De set begon met Astra Astra, een nummer vol experiment zoals alleen Cabaret Voltaire het kan maken. Een zeer moedig begin, want meteen werd duidelijk dat dit Arbeid Adelt! in de meest extreme zin van het woord zou worden, net zoals dat in de jaren 80 het geval was.

Popcornmario zette meteen de zaal in vuur en vlam, net zoals ze dat op de cd doen. Er waren wat technische moeilijkheden in het begin, maar ook dat is punk. Geen mens die in de volle Beursschouwburg een afgelikt concert wilde zien waarin alles perfect liep. Marcel mocht gerust een verkeerde toets op zijn keyboard indrukken of zelfs een nummer overslaan. De man in het flamboyante glitterpak was duidelijk in zijn nopjes. Soms uiterst sympathiek (een cd signeren na amper het derde nummer omdat iemand zijn trein moest halen), soms venijnig (een welgemeende fuck you naar de radiostations die weigeren om de nieuwe plaat te draaien).

In de set zaten nauwelijks hits (nou ja, Ik Sta Scherp, maar geen radiostation die het aandurft om muziek te draaien van een gitarist die verkleed als Chinees met een verkeersbord de zaal rondloopt), wel eigenzinnige nummers zoals een cover van Ik Heb Geen Zin Om Op Te Staan (van de Nederlandse band HET die geen mens nog kent) of de vreemde elektronische spielerei in Apparaat.

Na dertien nummers sloot het trio de set af met (hoe kan het ook anders) Bedankt En Tot Ziens. De drie muzikanten straalden, ze hadden gedaan waar ze zin in hadden, van routine was geen sprake en wellicht was het hun symbolische middelvinger om te bewijzen dat je de hippe media niet nodig hebt als je ballen aan je lijf hebt! En dat publiek? Geen mens die vond dat het anders moest. Arbeid Adelt! is nooit de band geweest die men uit nostalgie nog eens op de playlist van de radio zet, dit is een band die uit de Johnny Rotten-generatie komt en dat zagen we!

Nadien kwamen ze nog eens terug met drie nummers, waaronder De Dag Dat Het Zonlicht Niet Meer Scheen en Ricky’s Hand van Fad Gadget. Dat laatste was meer dan een statement, een band die het aandurft om met zo’n nummer een comebackconcert af te sluiten heeft lak aan stomme hitparades of radiovriendelijk materiaal. Twaalf uur eerder groette de koning zijn trouwe soldaten, twaalf uur later salueerde een publiek z'n nieuwe jonge helden. Punk is back, en voor de tweede keer uitgevonden door dezelfde mannen! Straf!

Geen nood als je dit optreden hebt gemist, je kan Arbeid Adelt! nog zien op deze data en plaatsen:

03/12/15 HEIST OP DEN BERG (Zwaneberg)
05/12/2015 ANTWERPEN (Piaf)
18/12/2015 OUDENAARDE (Harmonie)
15/01/2016 TONGEREN (Retro Velinx)
16/01/2016 GISTEL (Zomerloos)
22/01/2016 POPERINGE (Den Couter)
23/01/2016 LEOPLODSBURG (Yap)
19/02/2016 GENT (Vooruit)
19/03/2016 STABROEK (Moorland)
16/04/2016 DE PANNE (Seaside Revisited)

Didier BECU
12/11/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline