tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/12/2015 : ARMS & HEARTS - Set in Stone

ARMS & HEARTS

Set in Stone

MusicCD (EP)
AcousticFolk

[75/100]   

Self-released
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I admit it, Christmas songs don’t give me a warm feeling at all, they rather make me puke. But Dust And Bones by Arms & Hearts it is different. The song evokes images of a snowy landscape with in the background some wooden chalet where a stove creates a cosy atmosphere. But enough of that melancholy! Arms & Hearts is the alter ego of the Northwich artist Steve Millar who makes folk punk.

In terms of music we hear some acoustic folk that is combined with a warm voice. In other words: a stripped down version of The Levellers with an American musical accent. This EP has five tracks and contains some great tunes: as said before there’s Dust And Bones, but also the more quiet Take No Prisoners or the tear-jerking Rain2 deserve to be heard. This EP is a beautiful release that probably works best when you’re sitting in front of the fire.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Van kerstmuziek krijg ik eerder braakneigingen dan een warm gevoel. Bij Dust and Bones van Arms & Hearts is dat gelukkig anders. De song roept beelden op van een sneeuwlandschap met in de achtergrond een houten chalet waar een kachel brandt. Maar genoeg melancholie. Arms & Hearts is eigenlijk de dekmantel voor de uit Northwich afkomstige Steve Millar die folkpunk maakt.

Qua muziek horen we akoestische folk die wordt gecombineerd met een warme stem, of anders gezegd: een uitgeklede versie van The Levellers met een Amerikaans muzikaal accent. Dat levert enkele leuke songs op zoals bijv. Dust and Bones, het meer rustige Take No Prisoners en het tranentrekkende Rain2. De ep bevat vijf degelijke tracks. Een sfeervolle release die mooi bij een haard- of kampvuurtje past.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?