tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/12/2015 : ARMS & HEARTS - Set in Stone

ARMS & HEARTS

Set in Stone

MusicCD (EP)
AcousticFolk

[75/100]   

Self-released
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I admit it, Christmas songs don’t give me a warm feeling at all, they rather make me puke. But Dust And Bones by Arms & Hearts it is different. The song evokes images of a snowy landscape with in the background some wooden chalet where a stove creates a cosy atmosphere. But enough of that melancholy! Arms & Hearts is the alter ego of the Northwich artist Steve Millar who makes folk punk.

In terms of music we hear some acoustic folk that is combined with a warm voice. In other words: a stripped down version of The Levellers with an American musical accent. This EP has five tracks and contains some great tunes: as said before there’s Dust And Bones, but also the more quiet Take No Prisoners or the tear-jerking Rain2 deserve to be heard. This EP is a beautiful release that probably works best when you’re sitting in front of the fire.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Van kerstmuziek krijg ik eerder braakneigingen dan een warm gevoel. Bij Dust and Bones van Arms & Hearts is dat gelukkig anders. De song roept beelden op van een sneeuwlandschap met in de achtergrond een houten chalet waar een kachel brandt. Maar genoeg melancholie. Arms & Hearts is eigenlijk de dekmantel voor de uit Northwich afkomstige Steve Millar die folkpunk maakt.

Qua muziek horen we akoestische folk die wordt gecombineerd met een warme stem, of anders gezegd: een uitgeklede versie van The Levellers met een Amerikaans muzikaal accent. Dat levert enkele leuke songs op zoals bijv. Dust and Bones, het meer rustige Take No Prisoners en het tranentrekkende Rain2. De ep bevat vijf degelijke tracks. Een sfeervolle release die mooi bij een haard- of kampvuurtje past.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery