tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/12/2015 : ARMS & HEARTS - Set in Stone

ARMS & HEARTS

Set in Stone

MusicCD (EP)
AcousticFolk

[75/100]   

Self-released
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I admit it, Christmas songs don’t give me a warm feeling at all, they rather make me puke. But Dust And Bones by Arms & Hearts it is different. The song evokes images of a snowy landscape with in the background some wooden chalet where a stove creates a cosy atmosphere. But enough of that melancholy! Arms & Hearts is the alter ego of the Northwich artist Steve Millar who makes folk punk.

In terms of music we hear some acoustic folk that is combined with a warm voice. In other words: a stripped down version of The Levellers with an American musical accent. This EP has five tracks and contains some great tunes: as said before there’s Dust And Bones, but also the more quiet Take No Prisoners or the tear-jerking Rain2 deserve to be heard. This EP is a beautiful release that probably works best when you’re sitting in front of the fire.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Van kerstmuziek krijg ik eerder braakneigingen dan een warm gevoel. Bij Dust and Bones van Arms & Hearts is dat gelukkig anders. De song roept beelden op van een sneeuwlandschap met in de achtergrond een houten chalet waar een kachel brandt. Maar genoeg melancholie. Arms & Hearts is eigenlijk de dekmantel voor de uit Northwich afkomstige Steve Millar die folkpunk maakt.

Qua muziek horen we akoestische folk die wordt gecombineerd met een warme stem, of anders gezegd: een uitgeklede versie van The Levellers met een Amerikaans muzikaal accent. Dat levert enkele leuke songs op zoals bijv. Dust and Bones, het meer rustige Take No Prisoners en het tranentrekkende Rain2. De ep bevat vijf degelijke tracks. Een sfeervolle release die mooi bij een haard- of kampvuurtje past.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On