tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/12/2015 : ARMS & HEARTS - Set in Stone

ARMS & HEARTS

Set in Stone

MusicCD (EP)
AcousticFolk

[75/100]   

Self-released
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I admit it, Christmas songs don’t give me a warm feeling at all, they rather make me puke. But Dust And Bones by Arms & Hearts it is different. The song evokes images of a snowy landscape with in the background some wooden chalet where a stove creates a cosy atmosphere. But enough of that melancholy! Arms & Hearts is the alter ego of the Northwich artist Steve Millar who makes folk punk.

In terms of music we hear some acoustic folk that is combined with a warm voice. In other words: a stripped down version of The Levellers with an American musical accent. This EP has five tracks and contains some great tunes: as said before there’s Dust And Bones, but also the more quiet Take No Prisoners or the tear-jerking Rain2 deserve to be heard. This EP is a beautiful release that probably works best when you’re sitting in front of the fire.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Van kerstmuziek krijg ik eerder braakneigingen dan een warm gevoel. Bij Dust and Bones van Arms & Hearts is dat gelukkig anders. De song roept beelden op van een sneeuwlandschap met in de achtergrond een houten chalet waar een kachel brandt. Maar genoeg melancholie. Arms & Hearts is eigenlijk de dekmantel voor de uit Northwich afkomstige Steve Millar die folkpunk maakt.

Qua muziek horen we akoestische folk die wordt gecombineerd met een warme stem, of anders gezegd: een uitgeklede versie van The Levellers met een Amerikaans muzikaal accent. Dat levert enkele leuke songs op zoals bijv. Dust and Bones, het meer rustige Take No Prisoners en het tranentrekkende Rain2. De ep bevat vijf degelijke tracks. Een sfeervolle release die mooi bij een haard- of kampvuurtje past.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden