tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

27/12/2015 : ARMS & HEARTS - Set in Stone

ARMS & HEARTS

Set in Stone

MusicCD (EP)
AcousticFolk

[75/100]   

Self-released
27/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I admit it, Christmas songs don’t give me a warm feeling at all, they rather make me puke. But Dust And Bones by Arms & Hearts it is different. The song evokes images of a snowy landscape with in the background some wooden chalet where a stove creates a cosy atmosphere. But enough of that melancholy! Arms & Hearts is the alter ego of the Northwich artist Steve Millar who makes folk punk.

In terms of music we hear some acoustic folk that is combined with a warm voice. In other words: a stripped down version of The Levellers with an American musical accent. This EP has five tracks and contains some great tunes: as said before there’s Dust And Bones, but also the more quiet Take No Prisoners or the tear-jerking Rain2 deserve to be heard. This EP is a beautiful release that probably works best when you’re sitting in front of the fire.

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


NL

Van kerstmuziek krijg ik eerder braakneigingen dan een warm gevoel. Bij Dust and Bones van Arms & Hearts is dat gelukkig anders. De song roept beelden op van een sneeuwlandschap met in de achtergrond een houten chalet waar een kachel brandt. Maar genoeg melancholie. Arms & Hearts is eigenlijk de dekmantel voor de uit Northwich afkomstige Steve Millar die folkpunk maakt.

Qua muziek horen we akoestische folk die wordt gecombineerd met een warme stem, of anders gezegd: een uitgeklede versie van The Levellers met een Amerikaans muzikaal accent. Dat levert enkele leuke songs op zoals bijv. Dust and Bones, het meer rustige Take No Prisoners en het tranentrekkende Rain2. De ep bevat vijf degelijke tracks. Een sfeervolle release die mooi bij een haard- of kampvuurtje past.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
27/12/2015


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger