tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ARQUETTES - Yiss Yiss

ARQUETTES

Yiss Yiss

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[77/100]   

Slick Noise Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Four years ago, Arquettes was one of the many promising Belgian bands. Everyone praised the debut Wave On, and there was even a video clip in which well known politicians did some crazy dances. But at the end of the day it didn’t work out as planned. Despite the success, founder Koen Wijnant thought his brainchild wasn’t making the music he had in mind. Wave On was too electronic for Koen, and slowly the band fell apart. Granted, for years we thought that we never would hear from this Ghent based band. And then it suddenly happens: a new CD with a new line-up.

In all fairness, it remains a mystery why Koen still uses the name Arquettes (probably because he loves it) because he's about the only remainign member of the band that made Wave On, and stylistically it's all different too. Koen has his roots in the American indie rock sound from the 90s, and you hear that on this new CD which features ten songs, and even if they’re all cut from the same cloth, they sound all different.

Opener Stay Around invites the listener for a promising ride through Arquettes country: a noisy intro, a sing-along chorus with a high Beatles content and sublime feedback guitars in which you hear both the influences of Dinosaur Jnr. and Slowdive. It’s kind of funny to say, but I Do not Need sounds quite a lot like Teenage Fan Club, and the tune is just as contagious as its smash hit Starsign. Well, maybe Teenage Fan Club or The Posies are indeed the references to use when we are talking about the new Arquettes. A new direction, but Yiss Yiss has the sound of a band that is full of energy, and that results in a CD that begs for the repeat button.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar geleden was Arquettes één van vele beloftevolle bands in dit land. Iedereen prees het debuut Wave On en er was zelfs een hilarisch videoclipje waarin je allerlei bekende Gentse politici gekke toeren zag uithalen. Maar het mocht niet baten, ondanks het succes voelde oprichter Koen Wijnant zich niet goed in zijn vel met zijn geesteskind. De muziek op Wave On was voor Koen veel te elektronisch en stilaan viel de band uiteen. Toegegeven, jarenlang hebben we gedacht wellicht nooit nog van deze Gentse band te horen. En dan gebeurt er plots dit: een nieuwe cd (met jawel, een zo goed als nieuwe line-up).

Eerlijkheidshalve blijft het ons een raadsel waarom Koen alsnog voor de naam Arquettes koos (wellicht de liefde), want hij is zowat het enige die overblijft van de band die je op Wave On kon horen, en ook qua stijl heeft men het over een andere boeg gegooid. Koen is een gitaarjongen met roots in de Amerikaanse indierock van de jaren 90 en dat hoor je deze keer wel! Op deze cd prijken tien songs die weliswaar allemaal uit hetzelfde hout zijn gesneden, en toch stuk voor stuk verschillend zijn.

Met opener Stay Around is het meteen raak: een noisy intro, een meezingbaar refrein met een hoog Beatles-gehalte, aangevuld met heerlijke feedbackgitaartjes waarin je zowel Dinosaur Jnr. als Slowdive hoort. Grappig, maar I Don’t Need klinkt verdraaid veel op Teenage Fan Club en is minstens even aanstekelijk als hun grote hit Starsign. Tja, misschien zijn Teenage Fan Club, of zo je wil The Posies, de referentie die je moet gebruiken als je het over de nieuwe Arquettes hebt. Een nieuwe richting, zo veel is zeker, maar Yiss Yiss klinkt als een groep die er ontzettend veel zin in heeft, en dat zorgt voor een cd die steeds maar om de herhaaltoets smeekt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno