tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ARQUETTES - Yiss Yiss

ARQUETTES

Yiss Yiss

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[77/100]   

Slick Noise Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Four years ago, Arquettes was one of the many promising Belgian bands. Everyone praised the debut Wave On, and there was even a video clip in which well known politicians did some crazy dances. But at the end of the day it didn’t work out as planned. Despite the success, founder Koen Wijnant thought his brainchild wasn’t making the music he had in mind. Wave On was too electronic for Koen, and slowly the band fell apart. Granted, for years we thought that we never would hear from this Ghent based band. And then it suddenly happens: a new CD with a new line-up.

In all fairness, it remains a mystery why Koen still uses the name Arquettes (probably because he loves it) because he's about the only remainign member of the band that made Wave On, and stylistically it's all different too. Koen has his roots in the American indie rock sound from the 90s, and you hear that on this new CD which features ten songs, and even if they’re all cut from the same cloth, they sound all different.

Opener Stay Around invites the listener for a promising ride through Arquettes country: a noisy intro, a sing-along chorus with a high Beatles content and sublime feedback guitars in which you hear both the influences of Dinosaur Jnr. and Slowdive. It’s kind of funny to say, but I Do not Need sounds quite a lot like Teenage Fan Club, and the tune is just as contagious as its smash hit Starsign. Well, maybe Teenage Fan Club or The Posies are indeed the references to use when we are talking about the new Arquettes. A new direction, but Yiss Yiss has the sound of a band that is full of energy, and that results in a CD that begs for the repeat button.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar geleden was Arquettes één van vele beloftevolle bands in dit land. Iedereen prees het debuut Wave On en er was zelfs een hilarisch videoclipje waarin je allerlei bekende Gentse politici gekke toeren zag uithalen. Maar het mocht niet baten, ondanks het succes voelde oprichter Koen Wijnant zich niet goed in zijn vel met zijn geesteskind. De muziek op Wave On was voor Koen veel te elektronisch en stilaan viel de band uiteen. Toegegeven, jarenlang hebben we gedacht wellicht nooit nog van deze Gentse band te horen. En dan gebeurt er plots dit: een nieuwe cd (met jawel, een zo goed als nieuwe line-up).

Eerlijkheidshalve blijft het ons een raadsel waarom Koen alsnog voor de naam Arquettes koos (wellicht de liefde), want hij is zowat het enige die overblijft van de band die je op Wave On kon horen, en ook qua stijl heeft men het over een andere boeg gegooid. Koen is een gitaarjongen met roots in de Amerikaanse indierock van de jaren 90 en dat hoor je deze keer wel! Op deze cd prijken tien songs die weliswaar allemaal uit hetzelfde hout zijn gesneden, en toch stuk voor stuk verschillend zijn.

Met opener Stay Around is het meteen raak: een noisy intro, een meezingbaar refrein met een hoog Beatles-gehalte, aangevuld met heerlijke feedbackgitaartjes waarin je zowel Dinosaur Jnr. als Slowdive hoort. Grappig, maar I Don’t Need klinkt verdraaid veel op Teenage Fan Club en is minstens even aanstekelijk als hun grote hit Starsign. Tja, misschien zijn Teenage Fan Club, of zo je wil The Posies, de referentie die je moet gebruiken als je het over de nieuwe Arquettes hebt. Een nieuwe richting, zo veel is zeker, maar Yiss Yiss klinkt als een groep die er ontzettend veel zin in heeft, en dat zorgt voor een cd die steeds maar om de herhaaltoets smeekt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS
14
08
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
13
08
TEST DEPARTMENT
Landlord
12
08
MERCIFUL NUNS
BLACK HALO