tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : ARQUETTES - Yiss Yiss

ARQUETTES

Yiss Yiss

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[77/100]   

Slick Noise Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Four years ago, Arquettes was one of the many promising Belgian bands. Everyone praised the debut Wave On, and there was even a video clip in which well known politicians did some crazy dances. But at the end of the day it didn’t work out as planned. Despite the success, founder Koen Wijnant thought his brainchild wasn’t making the music he had in mind. Wave On was too electronic for Koen, and slowly the band fell apart. Granted, for years we thought that we never would hear from this Ghent based band. And then it suddenly happens: a new CD with a new line-up.

In all fairness, it remains a mystery why Koen still uses the name Arquettes (probably because he loves it) because he's about the only remainign member of the band that made Wave On, and stylistically it's all different too. Koen has his roots in the American indie rock sound from the 90s, and you hear that on this new CD which features ten songs, and even if they’re all cut from the same cloth, they sound all different.

Opener Stay Around invites the listener for a promising ride through Arquettes country: a noisy intro, a sing-along chorus with a high Beatles content and sublime feedback guitars in which you hear both the influences of Dinosaur Jnr. and Slowdive. It’s kind of funny to say, but I Do not Need sounds quite a lot like Teenage Fan Club, and the tune is just as contagious as its smash hit Starsign. Well, maybe Teenage Fan Club or The Posies are indeed the references to use when we are talking about the new Arquettes. A new direction, but Yiss Yiss has the sound of a band that is full of energy, and that results in a CD that begs for the repeat button.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar geleden was Arquettes één van vele beloftevolle bands in dit land. Iedereen prees het debuut Wave On en er was zelfs een hilarisch videoclipje waarin je allerlei bekende Gentse politici gekke toeren zag uithalen. Maar het mocht niet baten, ondanks het succes voelde oprichter Koen Wijnant zich niet goed in zijn vel met zijn geesteskind. De muziek op Wave On was voor Koen veel te elektronisch en stilaan viel de band uiteen. Toegegeven, jarenlang hebben we gedacht wellicht nooit nog van deze Gentse band te horen. En dan gebeurt er plots dit: een nieuwe cd (met jawel, een zo goed als nieuwe line-up).

Eerlijkheidshalve blijft het ons een raadsel waarom Koen alsnog voor de naam Arquettes koos (wellicht de liefde), want hij is zowat het enige die overblijft van de band die je op Wave On kon horen, en ook qua stijl heeft men het over een andere boeg gegooid. Koen is een gitaarjongen met roots in de Amerikaanse indierock van de jaren 90 en dat hoor je deze keer wel! Op deze cd prijken tien songs die weliswaar allemaal uit hetzelfde hout zijn gesneden, en toch stuk voor stuk verschillend zijn.

Met opener Stay Around is het meteen raak: een noisy intro, een meezingbaar refrein met een hoog Beatles-gehalte, aangevuld met heerlijke feedbackgitaartjes waarin je zowel Dinosaur Jnr. als Slowdive hoort. Grappig, maar I Don’t Need klinkt verdraaid veel op Teenage Fan Club en is minstens even aanstekelijk als hun grote hit Starsign. Tja, misschien zijn Teenage Fan Club, of zo je wil The Posies, de referentie die je moet gebruiken als je het over de nieuwe Arquettes hebt. Een nieuwe richting, zo veel is zeker, maar Yiss Yiss klinkt als een groep die er ontzettend veel zin in heeft, en dat zorgt voor een cd die steeds maar om de herhaaltoets smeekt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force