tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ARQUETTES - Yiss Yiss

ARQUETTES

Yiss Yiss

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[77/100]   

Slick Noise Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Four years ago, Arquettes was one of the many promising Belgian bands. Everyone praised the debut Wave On, and there was even a video clip in which well known politicians did some crazy dances. But at the end of the day it didn’t work out as planned. Despite the success, founder Koen Wijnant thought his brainchild wasn’t making the music he had in mind. Wave On was too electronic for Koen, and slowly the band fell apart. Granted, for years we thought that we never would hear from this Ghent based band. And then it suddenly happens: a new CD with a new line-up.

In all fairness, it remains a mystery why Koen still uses the name Arquettes (probably because he loves it) because he's about the only remainign member of the band that made Wave On, and stylistically it's all different too. Koen has his roots in the American indie rock sound from the 90s, and you hear that on this new CD which features ten songs, and even if they’re all cut from the same cloth, they sound all different.

Opener Stay Around invites the listener for a promising ride through Arquettes country: a noisy intro, a sing-along chorus with a high Beatles content and sublime feedback guitars in which you hear both the influences of Dinosaur Jnr. and Slowdive. It’s kind of funny to say, but I Do not Need sounds quite a lot like Teenage Fan Club, and the tune is just as contagious as its smash hit Starsign. Well, maybe Teenage Fan Club or The Posies are indeed the references to use when we are talking about the new Arquettes. A new direction, but Yiss Yiss has the sound of a band that is full of energy, and that results in a CD that begs for the repeat button.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar geleden was Arquettes één van vele beloftevolle bands in dit land. Iedereen prees het debuut Wave On en er was zelfs een hilarisch videoclipje waarin je allerlei bekende Gentse politici gekke toeren zag uithalen. Maar het mocht niet baten, ondanks het succes voelde oprichter Koen Wijnant zich niet goed in zijn vel met zijn geesteskind. De muziek op Wave On was voor Koen veel te elektronisch en stilaan viel de band uiteen. Toegegeven, jarenlang hebben we gedacht wellicht nooit nog van deze Gentse band te horen. En dan gebeurt er plots dit: een nieuwe cd (met jawel, een zo goed als nieuwe line-up).

Eerlijkheidshalve blijft het ons een raadsel waarom Koen alsnog voor de naam Arquettes koos (wellicht de liefde), want hij is zowat het enige die overblijft van de band die je op Wave On kon horen, en ook qua stijl heeft men het over een andere boeg gegooid. Koen is een gitaarjongen met roots in de Amerikaanse indierock van de jaren 90 en dat hoor je deze keer wel! Op deze cd prijken tien songs die weliswaar allemaal uit hetzelfde hout zijn gesneden, en toch stuk voor stuk verschillend zijn.

Met opener Stay Around is het meteen raak: een noisy intro, een meezingbaar refrein met een hoog Beatles-gehalte, aangevuld met heerlijke feedbackgitaartjes waarin je zowel Dinosaur Jnr. als Slowdive hoort. Grappig, maar I Don’t Need klinkt verdraaid veel op Teenage Fan Club en is minstens even aanstekelijk als hun grote hit Starsign. Tja, misschien zijn Teenage Fan Club, of zo je wil The Posies, de referentie die je moet gebruiken als je het over de nieuwe Arquettes hebt. Een nieuwe richting, zo veel is zeker, maar Yiss Yiss klinkt als een groep die er ontzettend veel zin in heeft, en dat zorgt voor een cd die steeds maar om de herhaaltoets smeekt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi