tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ARQUETTES - Yiss Yiss

ARQUETTES

Yiss Yiss

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[77/100]   

Slick Noise Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Four years ago, Arquettes was one of the many promising Belgian bands. Everyone praised the debut Wave On, and there was even a video clip in which well known politicians did some crazy dances. But at the end of the day it didn’t work out as planned. Despite the success, founder Koen Wijnant thought his brainchild wasn’t making the music he had in mind. Wave On was too electronic for Koen, and slowly the band fell apart. Granted, for years we thought that we never would hear from this Ghent based band. And then it suddenly happens: a new CD with a new line-up.

In all fairness, it remains a mystery why Koen still uses the name Arquettes (probably because he loves it) because he's about the only remainign member of the band that made Wave On, and stylistically it's all different too. Koen has his roots in the American indie rock sound from the 90s, and you hear that on this new CD which features ten songs, and even if they’re all cut from the same cloth, they sound all different.

Opener Stay Around invites the listener for a promising ride through Arquettes country: a noisy intro, a sing-along chorus with a high Beatles content and sublime feedback guitars in which you hear both the influences of Dinosaur Jnr. and Slowdive. It’s kind of funny to say, but I Do not Need sounds quite a lot like Teenage Fan Club, and the tune is just as contagious as its smash hit Starsign. Well, maybe Teenage Fan Club or The Posies are indeed the references to use when we are talking about the new Arquettes. A new direction, but Yiss Yiss has the sound of a band that is full of energy, and that results in a CD that begs for the repeat button.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vier jaar geleden was Arquettes één van vele beloftevolle bands in dit land. Iedereen prees het debuut Wave On en er was zelfs een hilarisch videoclipje waarin je allerlei bekende Gentse politici gekke toeren zag uithalen. Maar het mocht niet baten, ondanks het succes voelde oprichter Koen Wijnant zich niet goed in zijn vel met zijn geesteskind. De muziek op Wave On was voor Koen veel te elektronisch en stilaan viel de band uiteen. Toegegeven, jarenlang hebben we gedacht wellicht nooit nog van deze Gentse band te horen. En dan gebeurt er plots dit: een nieuwe cd (met jawel, een zo goed als nieuwe line-up).

Eerlijkheidshalve blijft het ons een raadsel waarom Koen alsnog voor de naam Arquettes koos (wellicht de liefde), want hij is zowat het enige die overblijft van de band die je op Wave On kon horen, en ook qua stijl heeft men het over een andere boeg gegooid. Koen is een gitaarjongen met roots in de Amerikaanse indierock van de jaren 90 en dat hoor je deze keer wel! Op deze cd prijken tien songs die weliswaar allemaal uit hetzelfde hout zijn gesneden, en toch stuk voor stuk verschillend zijn.

Met opener Stay Around is het meteen raak: een noisy intro, een meezingbaar refrein met een hoog Beatles-gehalte, aangevuld met heerlijke feedbackgitaartjes waarin je zowel Dinosaur Jnr. als Slowdive hoort. Grappig, maar I Don’t Need klinkt verdraaid veel op Teenage Fan Club en is minstens even aanstekelijk als hun grote hit Starsign. Tja, misschien zijn Teenage Fan Club, of zo je wil The Posies, de referentie die je moet gebruiken als je het over de nieuwe Arquettes hebt. Een nieuwe richting, zo veel is zeker, maar Yiss Yiss klinkt als een groep die er ontzettend veel zin in heeft, en dat zorgt voor een cd die steeds maar om de herhaaltoets smeekt.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis