tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/01/2012 : ARSINE TIBE - Good Evening, The Mountain Said

ARSINE TIBE

Good Evening, The Mountain Said

MusicCD
Ambient PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[75/100]   

Echozone
28/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Echozone continues its steady flow of releases, in different styles and of different quality. I can name a few bands that were under par (Bionic, Minusheart, Minerve), but I was also glad to discover gems like the albums from The Last Cry, Der Klinke and Avoid A Void lately! And what do we have here? Arsine Tibé, the new project of Manfred Thomaser, known from synthpoppers !Distain.

No synthpop here, or not so much at least. “Good Evening, The Mountain Said” is more down-tempo and easy listening kind of stuff. The duet between Tania Murray and Alex Braun, "Darkness", reminds me of Sixth June, having the same feel of beautiful coldness and detachment. Guitars add a certain edge on the instrumental "In My Room At Night" and after that comes "Dawn At Night", a very good song with Tania on vocals (again) and a soft Delerium-like Dance/IDM sound. "Death Of A Cube", featuring Seyhan, reminds me of Anne Clark’s poetry stuff and is another good song!

Best songs to me are "Darkness" and "Maximum Boy", a cold and dark song with a lot of keyboards, reminding me of early Fra Lippo Lippi material (In Silence, Small Mercies). "Skyline - Deep And Dead" has too much of that "end of the 80's ballad" kind of twist, to be convincing. The trip towards soft futurepop on "At The Gates" is very refreshing and gets the album back on its feet. After that it’s all downhill, ending in the rather pointless and lengthy "Monumental Movement"-track. There's not much monumental about it! The intro is promising (for a moment, In The Nursery peeks around the corner), but the song never really breaks loose and ends in a lame loop that goes on and on...

Hiking in the mountains is all about ups and downs, but I'm not sure that's what Manfred wanted to demonstrate with his album. However, Arsine Tibé might be able to reach a very broad audience and gives you the opportunity to convince your ignorant friends that your music is not all about dark and depressive mumbling in the mist... Pretty good this one, I'll keep this in mind when he releases something else!

Arsine Tibé

Echozone

Chris KONINGS
28/01/2012


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient