tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/01/2012 : ARSINE TIBE - Good Evening, The Mountain Said

ARSINE TIBE

Good Evening, The Mountain Said

MusicCD
Ambient PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[75/100]   

Echozone
28/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Echozone continues its steady flow of releases, in different styles and of different quality. I can name a few bands that were under par (Bionic, Minusheart, Minerve), but I was also glad to discover gems like the albums from The Last Cry, Der Klinke and Avoid A Void lately! And what do we have here? Arsine Tibé, the new project of Manfred Thomaser, known from synthpoppers !Distain.

No synthpop here, or not so much at least. “Good Evening, The Mountain Said” is more down-tempo and easy listening kind of stuff. The duet between Tania Murray and Alex Braun, "Darkness", reminds me of Sixth June, having the same feel of beautiful coldness and detachment. Guitars add a certain edge on the instrumental "In My Room At Night" and after that comes "Dawn At Night", a very good song with Tania on vocals (again) and a soft Delerium-like Dance/IDM sound. "Death Of A Cube", featuring Seyhan, reminds me of Anne Clark’s poetry stuff and is another good song!

Best songs to me are "Darkness" and "Maximum Boy", a cold and dark song with a lot of keyboards, reminding me of early Fra Lippo Lippi material (In Silence, Small Mercies). "Skyline - Deep And Dead" has too much of that "end of the 80's ballad" kind of twist, to be convincing. The trip towards soft futurepop on "At The Gates" is very refreshing and gets the album back on its feet. After that it’s all downhill, ending in the rather pointless and lengthy "Monumental Movement"-track. There's not much monumental about it! The intro is promising (for a moment, In The Nursery peeks around the corner), but the song never really breaks loose and ends in a lame loop that goes on and on...

Hiking in the mountains is all about ups and downs, but I'm not sure that's what Manfred wanted to demonstrate with his album. However, Arsine Tibé might be able to reach a very broad audience and gives you the opportunity to convince your ignorant friends that your music is not all about dark and depressive mumbling in the mist... Pretty good this one, I'll keep this in mind when he releases something else!

Arsine Tibé

Echozone

Chris KONINGS
28/01/2012


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg