tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

ART DIKTATOR

Isola

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[83/100]   

Prof Sny Records
21/03/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Turkey … Not immediately the country that we link with the darker music scene. Ok, She Past Away is rather well known by now but with this Art Diktator, another Turkish duo, the Turkish electronic underground music may be gaining some more recognition in our western regions. Their new and second album, ‘Isola’, is planned for March 2019 and will be released as an 12” vinyl.

The opening melody ‘Fulci Lives’ is a symphonic hymn. Orphaned, full of sorrow and melancholy, cold and chilly to almost extremes. But the album offers more than only this, it also offers a nice balance between cheerful synth-wave (Aybaşı) that are very danceable and more gothic-sounding overtures.

Dark-wave gems such as ‘Beton Mezar’, ‘Anti-Depressive’, which lies more in-between hip-waving synth-wave and dark-wave, to cold-wave-like songs such as ‘Zone Fatal’. These tracks cheerfully use dry, monotonous rhythm sections, peppered with lots of melodies and some spars guitars.

Sen ve Ben’ brings in some melancholy and throws you back to the 80's of the last century. It’s singer Hakan's deep baritone vocals that give every song the rather heavy dark touch. ‘Gölü Canavarı’ was released as the preliminary single of this album. A track with lots of hit potential and ingredients for succes: sufficient tempo, melody, danceable and with a healthy dose of modest anger. After this, we get a bit more epic and at some times fairy sounding with ‘Moscow’. It reminds me from time to time a bit of a polonaise …

With the song title ‘Hellectro’ one will have certain expectations but the song deviates from those expectations to a very eighties-sounding feel-good song which, also in this case gets a very sombre edge due to the characteristic vocals and the strong Turkish language.

Why not going back to the primal synth-wave with the next track ‘Do not Dream It, Be It!’, with a great melody and synths that use an arpeggiator to loop themselves through the song.

For lovers of this genre, keep an eye on this release. It’s a very solid album that might bring this Turkish band fame and who knows a stage in our regions. The diversity of leashing out to different styles within the dark electro scene makes this a very enjoyable album indeed!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


NL

Turkije... Niet meteen het land dat we linken aan de ietwat donkerder muziekscene. She Past Away is intussen genoegzaam bekend. En met Art Diktator, een Turks duo, krijgt ook de Turkse elektronische muziek misschien wel voet aan wal in onzer contreien. Het nieuwe (en tevens tweede) album van de band, Isola, is gepland voor maart 2019. Het wordt een vinyl-uitgave.

De openingsmelodie Fulci Lives is een symfonische lofzang. Verweesd, vol verdriet en melancholie, koud en kil tot in de meest minieme toon. Maar het album biedt meer dan dat met een balans tussen vrolijke synthwave (Aybaşı) die zeer dansbaar is en meer gothic-klinkende ouvertures.
Darkwave-pareltjes als Beton Mezar, Anti-Depressive die het midden houden tussen heupwiegende synthwave en darkwave, tot coldwave-achtige songs als Zone Fatal. Deze bedient zich vrolijk van kurkdroog monotone ritmesecties, doorspekt met heel wat melodieën en zuinige gitaren.
En met enige weemoed vlieg je terug naar de jaren '80 van de vorige eeuw met Sen ve Ben. Zanger Hakans diepe bariton maakt het weliswaar elke keer weer zwaar. Van Gölü Canavarı is als single de voorbode van dit album. Hitpotentieel met tonnen kans. Voldoende tempo, melodie, dansbaar, met een gezonde dosis ingetogen kwaadheid. We krijgen een ietwat epischer, met momenten feëriek klinkend Moskau. Het doet bijwijlen denken aan een polonaise.

Een titel als Hellectro schept bepaalde verwachtingen, maar is een zeer eighties klinkende feelgood-song die echter ook hier terug door de karakteristieke stem en de kortaf klinkende Turkse taal een heel somber randje heeft.
En waarom niet nog eens terug naar de oer-synthwave met Don't Dream It, Be It! Een onwaarschijnlijk vrolijke melodie, synths die zich bedienen van een arpeggiator om zichzelf herhalend doorheen de song te kronkelen.

Voor de liefhebbers van het genre: hou deze release in de gaten in de loop van maart. Het is een sterk album en het brengt deze Turkse band misschien ook wat bekendheid en wie weet een podium in onze contreien. De diversiteit van uithalen naar verschillende stijlen binnen de donkere electro maakt dit een zeer genietbaar album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola 21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins