tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

ART DIKTATOR

Isola

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[83/100]   

Prof Sny Records
21/03/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Turkey … Not immediately the country that we link with the darker music scene. Ok, She Past Away is rather well known by now but with this Art Diktator, another Turkish duo, the Turkish electronic underground music may be gaining some more recognition in our western regions. Their new and second album, ‘Isola’, is planned for March 2019 and will be released as an 12” vinyl.

The opening melody ‘Fulci Lives’ is a symphonic hymn. Orphaned, full of sorrow and melancholy, cold and chilly to almost extremes. But the album offers more than only this, it also offers a nice balance between cheerful synth-wave (Aybaşı) that are very danceable and more gothic-sounding overtures.

Dark-wave gems such as ‘Beton Mezar’, ‘Anti-Depressive’, which lies more in-between hip-waving synth-wave and dark-wave, to cold-wave-like songs such as ‘Zone Fatal’. These tracks cheerfully use dry, monotonous rhythm sections, peppered with lots of melodies and some spars guitars.

Sen ve Ben’ brings in some melancholy and throws you back to the 80's of the last century. It’s singer Hakan's deep baritone vocals that give every song the rather heavy dark touch. ‘Gölü Canavarı’ was released as the preliminary single of this album. A track with lots of hit potential and ingredients for succes: sufficient tempo, melody, danceable and with a healthy dose of modest anger. After this, we get a bit more epic and at some times fairy sounding with ‘Moscow’. It reminds me from time to time a bit of a polonaise …

With the song title ‘Hellectro’ one will have certain expectations but the song deviates from those expectations to a very eighties-sounding feel-good song which, also in this case gets a very sombre edge due to the characteristic vocals and the strong Turkish language.

Why not going back to the primal synth-wave with the next track ‘Do not Dream It, Be It!’, with a great melody and synths that use an arpeggiator to loop themselves through the song.

For lovers of this genre, keep an eye on this release. It’s a very solid album that might bring this Turkish band fame and who knows a stage in our regions. The diversity of leashing out to different styles within the dark electro scene makes this a very enjoyable album indeed!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


NL

Turkije... Niet meteen het land dat we linken aan de ietwat donkerder muziekscene. She Past Away is intussen genoegzaam bekend. En met Art Diktator, een Turks duo, krijgt ook de Turkse elektronische muziek misschien wel voet aan wal in onzer contreien. Het nieuwe (en tevens tweede) album van de band, Isola, is gepland voor maart 2019. Het wordt een vinyl-uitgave.

De openingsmelodie Fulci Lives is een symfonische lofzang. Verweesd, vol verdriet en melancholie, koud en kil tot in de meest minieme toon. Maar het album biedt meer dan dat met een balans tussen vrolijke synthwave (Aybaşı) die zeer dansbaar is en meer gothic-klinkende ouvertures.
Darkwave-pareltjes als Beton Mezar, Anti-Depressive die het midden houden tussen heupwiegende synthwave en darkwave, tot coldwave-achtige songs als Zone Fatal. Deze bedient zich vrolijk van kurkdroog monotone ritmesecties, doorspekt met heel wat melodieën en zuinige gitaren.
En met enige weemoed vlieg je terug naar de jaren '80 van de vorige eeuw met Sen ve Ben. Zanger Hakans diepe bariton maakt het weliswaar elke keer weer zwaar. Van Gölü Canavarı is als single de voorbode van dit album. Hitpotentieel met tonnen kans. Voldoende tempo, melodie, dansbaar, met een gezonde dosis ingetogen kwaadheid. We krijgen een ietwat epischer, met momenten feëriek klinkend Moskau. Het doet bijwijlen denken aan een polonaise.

Een titel als Hellectro schept bepaalde verwachtingen, maar is een zeer eighties klinkende feelgood-song die echter ook hier terug door de karakteristieke stem en de kortaf klinkende Turkse taal een heel somber randje heeft.
En waarom niet nog eens terug naar de oer-synthwave met Don't Dream It, Be It! Een onwaarschijnlijk vrolijke melodie, synths die zich bedienen van een arpeggiator om zichzelf herhalend doorheen de song te kronkelen.

Voor de liefhebbers van het genre: hou deze release in de gaten in de loop van maart. Het is een sterk album en het brengt deze Turkse band misschien ook wat bekendheid en wie weet een podium in onze contreien. De diversiteit van uithalen naar verschillende stijlen binnen de donkere electro maakt dit een zeer genietbaar album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola 21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

 

Next reviews
LADYTRON • Ladytron
DER KLINKE • Decade
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
PHOSPHOR • Youth & Immortality

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]