tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

ART DIKTATOR

Isola

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[83/100]   

Prof Sny Records
21/03/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Turkey … Not immediately the country that we link with the darker music scene. Ok, She Past Away is rather well known by now but with this Art Diktator, another Turkish duo, the Turkish electronic underground music may be gaining some more recognition in our western regions. Their new and second album, ‘Isola’, is planned for March 2019 and will be released as an 12” vinyl.

The opening melody ‘Fulci Lives’ is a symphonic hymn. Orphaned, full of sorrow and melancholy, cold and chilly to almost extremes. But the album offers more than only this, it also offers a nice balance between cheerful synth-wave (Aybaşı) that are very danceable and more gothic-sounding overtures.

Dark-wave gems such as ‘Beton Mezar’, ‘Anti-Depressive’, which lies more in-between hip-waving synth-wave and dark-wave, to cold-wave-like songs such as ‘Zone Fatal’. These tracks cheerfully use dry, monotonous rhythm sections, peppered with lots of melodies and some spars guitars.

Sen ve Ben’ brings in some melancholy and throws you back to the 80's of the last century. It’s singer Hakan's deep baritone vocals that give every song the rather heavy dark touch. ‘Gölü Canavarı’ was released as the preliminary single of this album. A track with lots of hit potential and ingredients for succes: sufficient tempo, melody, danceable and with a healthy dose of modest anger. After this, we get a bit more epic and at some times fairy sounding with ‘Moscow’. It reminds me from time to time a bit of a polonaise …

With the song title ‘Hellectro’ one will have certain expectations but the song deviates from those expectations to a very eighties-sounding feel-good song which, also in this case gets a very sombre edge due to the characteristic vocals and the strong Turkish language.

Why not going back to the primal synth-wave with the next track ‘Do not Dream It, Be It!’, with a great melody and synths that use an arpeggiator to loop themselves through the song.

For lovers of this genre, keep an eye on this release. It’s a very solid album that might bring this Turkish band fame and who knows a stage in our regions. The diversity of leashing out to different styles within the dark electro scene makes this a very enjoyable album indeed!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


NL

Turkije... Niet meteen het land dat we linken aan de ietwat donkerder muziekscene. She Past Away is intussen genoegzaam bekend. En met Art Diktator, een Turks duo, krijgt ook de Turkse elektronische muziek misschien wel voet aan wal in onzer contreien. Het nieuwe (en tevens tweede) album van de band, Isola, is gepland voor maart 2019. Het wordt een vinyl-uitgave.

De openingsmelodie Fulci Lives is een symfonische lofzang. Verweesd, vol verdriet en melancholie, koud en kil tot in de meest minieme toon. Maar het album biedt meer dan dat met een balans tussen vrolijke synthwave (Aybaşı) die zeer dansbaar is en meer gothic-klinkende ouvertures.
Darkwave-pareltjes als Beton Mezar, Anti-Depressive die het midden houden tussen heupwiegende synthwave en darkwave, tot coldwave-achtige songs als Zone Fatal. Deze bedient zich vrolijk van kurkdroog monotone ritmesecties, doorspekt met heel wat melodieën en zuinige gitaren.
En met enige weemoed vlieg je terug naar de jaren '80 van de vorige eeuw met Sen ve Ben. Zanger Hakans diepe bariton maakt het weliswaar elke keer weer zwaar. Van Gölü Canavarı is als single de voorbode van dit album. Hitpotentieel met tonnen kans. Voldoende tempo, melodie, dansbaar, met een gezonde dosis ingetogen kwaadheid. We krijgen een ietwat epischer, met momenten feëriek klinkend Moskau. Het doet bijwijlen denken aan een polonaise.

Een titel als Hellectro schept bepaalde verwachtingen, maar is een zeer eighties klinkende feelgood-song die echter ook hier terug door de karakteristieke stem en de kortaf klinkende Turkse taal een heel somber randje heeft.
En waarom niet nog eens terug naar de oer-synthwave met Don't Dream It, Be It! Een onwaarschijnlijk vrolijke melodie, synths die zich bedienen van een arpeggiator om zichzelf herhalend doorheen de song te kronkelen.

Voor de liefhebbers van het genre: hou deze release in de gaten in de loop van maart. Het is een sterk album en het brengt deze Turkse band misschien ook wat bekendheid en wie weet een podium in onze contreien. De diversiteit van uithalen naar verschillende stijlen binnen de donkere electro maakt dit een zeer genietbaar album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola 21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

 

Next reviews
LADYTRON • Ladytron
DER KLINKE • Decade
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
PHOSPHOR • Youth & Immortality

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
APSURDE • See Me Coming
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday