tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

ART DIKTATOR

Isola

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[83/100]   

Prof Sny Records
21/03/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Turkey … Not immediately the country that we link with the darker music scene. Ok, She Past Away is rather well known by now but with this Art Diktator, another Turkish duo, the Turkish electronic underground music may be gaining some more recognition in our western regions. Their new and second album, ‘Isola’, is planned for March 2019 and will be released as an 12” vinyl.

The opening melody ‘Fulci Lives’ is a symphonic hymn. Orphaned, full of sorrow and melancholy, cold and chilly to almost extremes. But the album offers more than only this, it also offers a nice balance between cheerful synth-wave (Aybaşı) that are very danceable and more gothic-sounding overtures.

Dark-wave gems such as ‘Beton Mezar’, ‘Anti-Depressive’, which lies more in-between hip-waving synth-wave and dark-wave, to cold-wave-like songs such as ‘Zone Fatal’. These tracks cheerfully use dry, monotonous rhythm sections, peppered with lots of melodies and some spars guitars.

Sen ve Ben’ brings in some melancholy and throws you back to the 80's of the last century. It’s singer Hakan's deep baritone vocals that give every song the rather heavy dark touch. ‘Gölü Canavarı’ was released as the preliminary single of this album. A track with lots of hit potential and ingredients for succes: sufficient tempo, melody, danceable and with a healthy dose of modest anger. After this, we get a bit more epic and at some times fairy sounding with ‘Moscow’. It reminds me from time to time a bit of a polonaise …

With the song title ‘Hellectro’ one will have certain expectations but the song deviates from those expectations to a very eighties-sounding feel-good song which, also in this case gets a very sombre edge due to the characteristic vocals and the strong Turkish language.

Why not going back to the primal synth-wave with the next track ‘Do not Dream It, Be It!’, with a great melody and synths that use an arpeggiator to loop themselves through the song.

For lovers of this genre, keep an eye on this release. It’s a very solid album that might bring this Turkish band fame and who knows a stage in our regions. The diversity of leashing out to different styles within the dark electro scene makes this a very enjoyable album indeed!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


NL

Turkije... Niet meteen het land dat we linken aan de ietwat donkerder muziekscene. She Past Away is intussen genoegzaam bekend. En met Art Diktator, een Turks duo, krijgt ook de Turkse elektronische muziek misschien wel voet aan wal in onzer contreien. Het nieuwe (en tevens tweede) album van de band, Isola, is gepland voor maart 2019. Het wordt een vinyl-uitgave.

De openingsmelodie Fulci Lives is een symfonische lofzang. Verweesd, vol verdriet en melancholie, koud en kil tot in de meest minieme toon. Maar het album biedt meer dan dat met een balans tussen vrolijke synthwave (Aybaşı) die zeer dansbaar is en meer gothic-klinkende ouvertures.
Darkwave-pareltjes als Beton Mezar, Anti-Depressive die het midden houden tussen heupwiegende synthwave en darkwave, tot coldwave-achtige songs als Zone Fatal. Deze bedient zich vrolijk van kurkdroog monotone ritmesecties, doorspekt met heel wat melodieën en zuinige gitaren.
En met enige weemoed vlieg je terug naar de jaren '80 van de vorige eeuw met Sen ve Ben. Zanger Hakans diepe bariton maakt het weliswaar elke keer weer zwaar. Van Gölü Canavarı is als single de voorbode van dit album. Hitpotentieel met tonnen kans. Voldoende tempo, melodie, dansbaar, met een gezonde dosis ingetogen kwaadheid. We krijgen een ietwat epischer, met momenten feëriek klinkend Moskau. Het doet bijwijlen denken aan een polonaise.

Een titel als Hellectro schept bepaalde verwachtingen, maar is een zeer eighties klinkende feelgood-song die echter ook hier terug door de karakteristieke stem en de kortaf klinkende Turkse taal een heel somber randje heeft.
En waarom niet nog eens terug naar de oer-synthwave met Don't Dream It, Be It! Een onwaarschijnlijk vrolijke melodie, synths die zich bedienen van een arpeggiator om zichzelf herhalend doorheen de song te kronkelen.

Voor de liefhebbers van het genre: hou deze release in de gaten in de loop van maart. Het is een sterk album en het brengt deze Turkse band misschien ook wat bekendheid en wie weet een podium in onze contreien. De diversiteit van uithalen naar verschillende stijlen binnen de donkere electro maakt dit een zeer genietbaar album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola 21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

 

Next reviews
LADYTRON • Ladytron
DER KLINKE • Decade
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
PHOSPHOR • Youth & Immortality

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless