tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

ART DIKTATOR

Isola

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[83/100]   

Prof Sny Records
21/03/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Turkey … Not immediately the country that we link with the darker music scene. Ok, She Past Away is rather well known by now but with this Art Diktator, another Turkish duo, the Turkish electronic underground music may be gaining some more recognition in our western regions. Their new and second album, ‘Isola’, is planned for March 2019 and will be released as an 12” vinyl.

The opening melody ‘Fulci Lives’ is a symphonic hymn. Orphaned, full of sorrow and melancholy, cold and chilly to almost extremes. But the album offers more than only this, it also offers a nice balance between cheerful synth-wave (Aybaşı) that are very danceable and more gothic-sounding overtures.

Dark-wave gems such as ‘Beton Mezar’, ‘Anti-Depressive’, which lies more in-between hip-waving synth-wave and dark-wave, to cold-wave-like songs such as ‘Zone Fatal’. These tracks cheerfully use dry, monotonous rhythm sections, peppered with lots of melodies and some spars guitars.

Sen ve Ben’ brings in some melancholy and throws you back to the 80's of the last century. It’s singer Hakan's deep baritone vocals that give every song the rather heavy dark touch. ‘Gölü Canavarı’ was released as the preliminary single of this album. A track with lots of hit potential and ingredients for succes: sufficient tempo, melody, danceable and with a healthy dose of modest anger. After this, we get a bit more epic and at some times fairy sounding with ‘Moscow’. It reminds me from time to time a bit of a polonaise …

With the song title ‘Hellectro’ one will have certain expectations but the song deviates from those expectations to a very eighties-sounding feel-good song which, also in this case gets a very sombre edge due to the characteristic vocals and the strong Turkish language.

Why not going back to the primal synth-wave with the next track ‘Do not Dream It, Be It!’, with a great melody and synths that use an arpeggiator to loop themselves through the song.

For lovers of this genre, keep an eye on this release. It’s a very solid album that might bring this Turkish band fame and who knows a stage in our regions. The diversity of leashing out to different styles within the dark electro scene makes this a very enjoyable album indeed!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


NL

Turkije... Niet meteen het land dat we linken aan de ietwat donkerder muziekscene. She Past Away is intussen genoegzaam bekend. En met Art Diktator, een Turks duo, krijgt ook de Turkse elektronische muziek misschien wel voet aan wal in onzer contreien. Het nieuwe (en tevens tweede) album van de band, Isola, is gepland voor maart 2019. Het wordt een vinyl-uitgave.

De openingsmelodie Fulci Lives is een symfonische lofzang. Verweesd, vol verdriet en melancholie, koud en kil tot in de meest minieme toon. Maar het album biedt meer dan dat met een balans tussen vrolijke synthwave (Aybaşı) die zeer dansbaar is en meer gothic-klinkende ouvertures.
Darkwave-pareltjes als Beton Mezar, Anti-Depressive die het midden houden tussen heupwiegende synthwave en darkwave, tot coldwave-achtige songs als Zone Fatal. Deze bedient zich vrolijk van kurkdroog monotone ritmesecties, doorspekt met heel wat melodieën en zuinige gitaren.
En met enige weemoed vlieg je terug naar de jaren '80 van de vorige eeuw met Sen ve Ben. Zanger Hakans diepe bariton maakt het weliswaar elke keer weer zwaar. Van Gölü Canavarı is als single de voorbode van dit album. Hitpotentieel met tonnen kans. Voldoende tempo, melodie, dansbaar, met een gezonde dosis ingetogen kwaadheid. We krijgen een ietwat epischer, met momenten feëriek klinkend Moskau. Het doet bijwijlen denken aan een polonaise.

Een titel als Hellectro schept bepaalde verwachtingen, maar is een zeer eighties klinkende feelgood-song die echter ook hier terug door de karakteristieke stem en de kortaf klinkende Turkse taal een heel somber randje heeft.
En waarom niet nog eens terug naar de oer-synthwave met Don't Dream It, Be It! Een onwaarschijnlijk vrolijke melodie, synths die zich bedienen van een arpeggiator om zichzelf herhalend doorheen de song te kronkelen.

Voor de liefhebbers van het genre: hou deze release in de gaten in de loop van maart. Het is een sterk album en het brengt deze Turkse band misschien ook wat bekendheid en wie weet een podium in onze contreien. De diversiteit van uithalen naar verschillende stijlen binnen de donkere electro maakt dit een zeer genietbaar album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/03/2019


21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola 21/03/2019 : ART DIKTATOR - Isola

 

Next reviews
LADYTRON • Ladytron
DER KLINKE • Decade
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
PHOSPHOR • Youth & Immortality

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
DARK • Nightmare
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)