tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/07/2015 : ASHBURY HEIGHTS - The Looking Glass Society

ASHBURY HEIGHTS

The Looking Glass Society

MusicCD
ElectroElectro PopSynthpop

[80/100]   

Out Of Line
23/07/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

If you are into accessible, well written and performed electro pop, than this album by ASHBURY HEIGHTS is a recommendation. New female singer Thea F. Thimé proves to be an asset and her voice fits perfectly with that of founding member Anders Hagström (male vocals, songwriter, music and programming). ASHBURY HEIGHTS knows its strength: mid tempo and danceable songs with the voices of Thea and/or Anders.

There are no real highlights, because all the songs have the same high quality. To get a good idea of what ASHBURY HEIGHTS has to offer, you should listen to songs like ‘Masque‘, ‘November Corrosion’, ‘Phantasmagoria’, ‘The Number 22’ and ‘Gravitational Man’. There is only one small point of critic: all the songs got that same feeling and (mid tempo) pace and therefore the album in total misses that little bit of extras.

Overall “The Looking Glass Society” is however a great electro pop album, especially for the summer, because the songs are of ‘the uplifting your mood’ kind. So there’s a dark summer after all.

Ron SCHOONWATER
23/07/2015


 

Next reviews
AJ HOLMES AND THE HACKNEY EMPIRE • Soft Power
DOMINIQUE MOLLARD • Adrift: People Of A Lesser God
POLO ACEVEDO & RAUL MONTELONGO (AMDUSCIA) • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Scared To Get Happy
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
TORBEN SCHMIDT (INFACTED RECORDS, SUICIDE COMMANDO, LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LAST DAYS OF APRIL • Sea Of Clouds
FRED ABBOTT • Serious Poke
AUTOPSIE D’UNE OMBRE • “Premier EP Éponyme”
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
ALISON MOYET • Live @ Arenberg Schouwburg - Antwerpen - 21.02.2015

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay
WE THE NORTH • Endemic

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire