tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/07/2015 : ASHBURY HEIGHTS - The Looking Glass Society

ASHBURY HEIGHTS

The Looking Glass Society

MusicCD
ElectroElectro PopSynthpop

[80/100]   

Out Of Line
23/07/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

If you are into accessible, well written and performed electro pop, than this album by ASHBURY HEIGHTS is a recommendation. New female singer Thea F. Thimé proves to be an asset and her voice fits perfectly with that of founding member Anders Hagström (male vocals, songwriter, music and programming). ASHBURY HEIGHTS knows its strength: mid tempo and danceable songs with the voices of Thea and/or Anders.

There are no real highlights, because all the songs have the same high quality. To get a good idea of what ASHBURY HEIGHTS has to offer, you should listen to songs like ‘Masque‘, ‘November Corrosion’, ‘Phantasmagoria’, ‘The Number 22’ and ‘Gravitational Man’. There is only one small point of critic: all the songs got that same feeling and (mid tempo) pace and therefore the album in total misses that little bit of extras.

Overall “The Looking Glass Society” is however a great electro pop album, especially for the summer, because the songs are of ‘the uplifting your mood’ kind. So there’s a dark summer after all.

Ron SCHOONWATER
23/07/2015


 

Next reviews
AJ HOLMES AND THE HACKNEY EMPIRE • Soft Power
DOMINIQUE MOLLARD • Adrift: People Of A Lesser God
POLO ACEVEDO & RAUL MONTELONGO (AMDUSCIA) • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Scared To Get Happy
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
TORBEN SCHMIDT (INFACTED RECORDS, SUICIDE COMMANDO, LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LAST DAYS OF APRIL • Sea Of Clouds
FRED ABBOTT • Serious Poke
AUTOPSIE D’UNE OMBRE • “Premier EP Éponyme”
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
ALISON MOYET • Live @ Arenberg Schouwburg - Antwerpen - 21.02.2015

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked