tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/07/2015 : ASHBURY HEIGHTS - The Looking Glass Society

ASHBURY HEIGHTS

The Looking Glass Society

MusicCD
ElectroElectro PopSynthpop

[80/100]   

Out Of Line
23/07/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

If you are into accessible, well written and performed electro pop, than this album by ASHBURY HEIGHTS is a recommendation. New female singer Thea F. Thimé proves to be an asset and her voice fits perfectly with that of founding member Anders Hagström (male vocals, songwriter, music and programming). ASHBURY HEIGHTS knows its strength: mid tempo and danceable songs with the voices of Thea and/or Anders.

There are no real highlights, because all the songs have the same high quality. To get a good idea of what ASHBURY HEIGHTS has to offer, you should listen to songs like ‘Masque‘, ‘November Corrosion’, ‘Phantasmagoria’, ‘The Number 22’ and ‘Gravitational Man’. There is only one small point of critic: all the songs got that same feeling and (mid tempo) pace and therefore the album in total misses that little bit of extras.

Overall “The Looking Glass Society” is however a great electro pop album, especially for the summer, because the songs are of ‘the uplifting your mood’ kind. So there’s a dark summer after all.

Ron SCHOONWATER
23/07/2015


 

Next reviews
AJ HOLMES AND THE HACKNEY EMPIRE • Soft Power
DOMINIQUE MOLLARD • Adrift: People Of A Lesser God
POLO ACEVEDO & RAUL MONTELONGO (AMDUSCIA) • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Scared To Get Happy
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
TORBEN SCHMIDT (INFACTED RECORDS, SUICIDE COMMANDO, LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LAST DAYS OF APRIL • Sea Of Clouds
FRED ABBOTT • Serious Poke
AUTOPSIE D’UNE OMBRE • “Premier EP Éponyme”
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
ALISON MOYET • Live @ Arenberg Schouwburg - Antwerpen - 21.02.2015

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis