tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN

live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Concert
Cold EBMDark Electro

[89/100]   
21/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I interviewed Llumen already last year, assuming that the Vampire Party Live would take place, but sadly it was cancelled. So I was pretty happy when this new gig got announced! Finally I would be able to see Llumen on stage. Two guys in a nice suit and a guitar player (who looked like impressive one Heavy Metal guy) entered the stage and they started off with a wall of sound, like a war was coming … sounding very dramatic! It was the intro of 'New Moon Rise' which seems to be indeed a great opener! Song after song blasted towards us electronic salvos, fueled with Pieter Coussements energy. I really love the love guitar sound and the backing vocals that alter between a computerlike vocoder-voice to normal screaming and singing vocals, perfact to back-up Pieters vocals. One of their greatest songs in my opinion is 'World on Mute' but also one of new songs 'Death Walks On High Heels' works well live. Their new and older work seems to blends in perfectly. I must say I Love the rhythmic and cold electro. The last song 'Storyteller', is one of their first creations but it sets the venue completely on fire! It was absolutely great to see Llummen finally live on stage!

Then it was time for the headliner. I saw Assemblage 23 already a few times play in the past but when I see how the crowd reacts to the first notes they start to play, I realized that they became more popular then before. I even had to take cover behind the speakers to make sure that my camera didn't get damaged by the people all started to dance, clap their hands, shake their heads, jump up and down and sing a long or better scream a long every song … It was clear it was going to be a big party! Sound-wise I can compare them to VNV Nation what can explain their success. I love the live drums and seeing this guy enjoying his work and giving everything he has in him is surely heating up the party. One of the highlights for sure was 'The Noise Inside My Head'! But actually, I could mention every single track they played, because it was simply a brilliant show and the band seemed to have as much fun as the heated up audience! This was probably also the reason why the crowd didn't have the time to scream for more … The people on the front rows just didn't let the band go off the stage, so singer Tom Shear nicely asked if we wanted to hear more and of course everybody started to scream really loud for more! We got 3 encores and then again two extra song from 'Oceania' an album from Tom's side-project Surveillance. After that they asked the crowd to let them please go to the backstage but not without the promised to come back for a chat, pictures, autographs and merchandising...
I think that I have never heard of a band begging the audience to let them go from stage…
Well, I think this says it all … what a night!

 

pictures Llumen

 pictures assemblage 23


(interview: Portion Control & PNE)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/04/2014


21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?