tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN

live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Concert
Cold EBMDark Electro

[89/100]   
21/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I interviewed Llumen already last year, assuming that the Vampire Party Live would take place, but sadly it was cancelled. So I was pretty happy when this new gig got announced! Finally I would be able to see Llumen on stage. Two guys in a nice suit and a guitar player (who looked like impressive one Heavy Metal guy) entered the stage and they started off with a wall of sound, like a war was coming … sounding very dramatic! It was the intro of 'New Moon Rise' which seems to be indeed a great opener! Song after song blasted towards us electronic salvos, fueled with Pieter Coussements energy. I really love the love guitar sound and the backing vocals that alter between a computerlike vocoder-voice to normal screaming and singing vocals, perfact to back-up Pieters vocals. One of their greatest songs in my opinion is 'World on Mute' but also one of new songs 'Death Walks On High Heels' works well live. Their new and older work seems to blends in perfectly. I must say I Love the rhythmic and cold electro. The last song 'Storyteller', is one of their first creations but it sets the venue completely on fire! It was absolutely great to see Llummen finally live on stage!

Then it was time for the headliner. I saw Assemblage 23 already a few times play in the past but when I see how the crowd reacts to the first notes they start to play, I realized that they became more popular then before. I even had to take cover behind the speakers to make sure that my camera didn't get damaged by the people all started to dance, clap their hands, shake their heads, jump up and down and sing a long or better scream a long every song … It was clear it was going to be a big party! Sound-wise I can compare them to VNV Nation what can explain their success. I love the live drums and seeing this guy enjoying his work and giving everything he has in him is surely heating up the party. One of the highlights for sure was 'The Noise Inside My Head'! But actually, I could mention every single track they played, because it was simply a brilliant show and the band seemed to have as much fun as the heated up audience! This was probably also the reason why the crowd didn't have the time to scream for more … The people on the front rows just didn't let the band go off the stage, so singer Tom Shear nicely asked if we wanted to hear more and of course everybody started to scream really loud for more! We got 3 encores and then again two extra song from 'Oceania' an album from Tom's side-project Surveillance. After that they asked the crowd to let them please go to the backstage but not without the promised to come back for a chat, pictures, autographs and merchandising...
I think that I have never heard of a band begging the audience to let them go from stage…
Well, I think this says it all … what a night!

 

pictures Llumen

 pictures assemblage 23


(interview: Portion Control & PNE)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/04/2014


21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky