tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN

live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Concert
Cold EBMDark Electro

[89/100]   
21/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I interviewed Llumen already last year, assuming that the Vampire Party Live would take place, but sadly it was cancelled. So I was pretty happy when this new gig got announced! Finally I would be able to see Llumen on stage. Two guys in a nice suit and a guitar player (who looked like impressive one Heavy Metal guy) entered the stage and they started off with a wall of sound, like a war was coming … sounding very dramatic! It was the intro of 'New Moon Rise' which seems to be indeed a great opener! Song after song blasted towards us electronic salvos, fueled with Pieter Coussements energy. I really love the love guitar sound and the backing vocals that alter between a computerlike vocoder-voice to normal screaming and singing vocals, perfact to back-up Pieters vocals. One of their greatest songs in my opinion is 'World on Mute' but also one of new songs 'Death Walks On High Heels' works well live. Their new and older work seems to blends in perfectly. I must say I Love the rhythmic and cold electro. The last song 'Storyteller', is one of their first creations but it sets the venue completely on fire! It was absolutely great to see Llummen finally live on stage!

Then it was time for the headliner. I saw Assemblage 23 already a few times play in the past but when I see how the crowd reacts to the first notes they start to play, I realized that they became more popular then before. I even had to take cover behind the speakers to make sure that my camera didn't get damaged by the people all started to dance, clap their hands, shake their heads, jump up and down and sing a long or better scream a long every song … It was clear it was going to be a big party! Sound-wise I can compare them to VNV Nation what can explain their success. I love the live drums and seeing this guy enjoying his work and giving everything he has in him is surely heating up the party. One of the highlights for sure was 'The Noise Inside My Head'! But actually, I could mention every single track they played, because it was simply a brilliant show and the band seemed to have as much fun as the heated up audience! This was probably also the reason why the crowd didn't have the time to scream for more … The people on the front rows just didn't let the band go off the stage, so singer Tom Shear nicely asked if we wanted to hear more and of course everybody started to scream really loud for more! We got 3 encores and then again two extra song from 'Oceania' an album from Tom's side-project Surveillance. After that they asked the crowd to let them please go to the backstage but not without the promised to come back for a chat, pictures, autographs and merchandising...
I think that I have never heard of a band begging the audience to let them go from stage…
Well, I think this says it all … what a night!

 

pictures Llumen

 pictures assemblage 23


(interview: Portion Control & PNE)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/04/2014


21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

 

Next reviews
SHIVENDRA SINGH DUNGARPUR • Celluloid Man
HAMMERCULT • Steelcrusher
• Atlantis, The Legend Begins (The Complete First Season)
DIABLO CODY • Paradise
AXEL RUDI PELL • Into The Storm
CHRISTOPHER FOLINO • Sparks
VOGON POETRY • Don't Panic
VANGUARD • Retribution
BRIAN DE PALMA • Sisters
ARKONA • Yav

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + DARK ELECTRO
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil
KERKOVIAN DEATH CYCLE • Distorted Religion
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
LOVELORN DOLLS • The thrill EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
NEURO-SENTENCE • The Shores of Anhedonia
EMBRYOID • Dead Cells

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
3TEETH • 3TEETH
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
FRONT242 + RADICAL G • live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir