tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN

live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

Concert
Cold EBMDark Electro

[89/100]   
21/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I interviewed Llumen already last year, assuming that the Vampire Party Live would take place, but sadly it was cancelled. So I was pretty happy when this new gig got announced! Finally I would be able to see Llumen on stage. Two guys in a nice suit and a guitar player (who looked like impressive one Heavy Metal guy) entered the stage and they started off with a wall of sound, like a war was coming … sounding very dramatic! It was the intro of 'New Moon Rise' which seems to be indeed a great opener! Song after song blasted towards us electronic salvos, fueled with Pieter Coussements energy. I really love the love guitar sound and the backing vocals that alter between a computerlike vocoder-voice to normal screaming and singing vocals, perfact to back-up Pieters vocals. One of their greatest songs in my opinion is 'World on Mute' but also one of new songs 'Death Walks On High Heels' works well live. Their new and older work seems to blends in perfectly. I must say I Love the rhythmic and cold electro. The last song 'Storyteller', is one of their first creations but it sets the venue completely on fire! It was absolutely great to see Llummen finally live on stage!

Then it was time for the headliner. I saw Assemblage 23 already a few times play in the past but when I see how the crowd reacts to the first notes they start to play, I realized that they became more popular then before. I even had to take cover behind the speakers to make sure that my camera didn't get damaged by the people all started to dance, clap their hands, shake their heads, jump up and down and sing a long or better scream a long every song … It was clear it was going to be a big party! Sound-wise I can compare them to VNV Nation what can explain their success. I love the live drums and seeing this guy enjoying his work and giving everything he has in him is surely heating up the party. One of the highlights for sure was 'The Noise Inside My Head'! But actually, I could mention every single track they played, because it was simply a brilliant show and the band seemed to have as much fun as the heated up audience! This was probably also the reason why the crowd didn't have the time to scream for more … The people on the front rows just didn't let the band go off the stage, so singer Tom Shear nicely asked if we wanted to hear more and of course everybody started to scream really loud for more! We got 3 encores and then again two extra song from 'Oceania' an album from Tom's side-project Surveillance. After that they asked the crowd to let them please go to the backstage but not without the promised to come back for a chat, pictures, autographs and merchandising...
I think that I have never heard of a band begging the audience to let them go from stage…
Well, I think this says it all … what a night!

 

pictures Llumen

 pictures assemblage 23


(interview: Portion Control & PNE)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/04/2014


21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium 21/04/2014 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 & LLUMEN - live in Concert At KAVKA, 20/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium

 

Next reviews
SHIVENDRA SINGH DUNGARPUR • Celluloid Man
HAMMERCULT • Steelcrusher
• Atlantis, The Legend Begins (The Complete First Season)
DIABLO CODY • Paradise
AXEL RUDI PELL • Into The Storm
CHRISTOPHER FOLINO • Sparks
VOGON POETRY • Don't Panic
VANGUARD • Retribution
BRIAN DE PALMA • Sisters
ARKONA • Yav

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + DARK ELECTRO
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil
KERKOVIAN DEATH CYCLE • Distorted Religion
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
LOVELORN DOLLS • The thrill EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
NEURO-SENTENCE • The Shores of Anhedonia
EMBRYOID • Dead Cells

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
3TEETH • 3TEETH
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
FRONT242 + RADICAL G • live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo