tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

07/10/2017 : ASTARI NITE - Dreams Of Majesty

ASTARI NITE

Dreams Of Majesty

MusicCD (EP)
GothicGothic Rock

[83/100]   

Danse Macabre
07/10/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Astari Nite brings us their new EP Dreams Of Majesty. A beautiful mix of rather classic new-wave melodies, more danceable gothic beats and a beautiful dose of melancholic rock. The EP was released by Cleopatra Records (United States) and Danse Macabre Records (Europe).

The EP opens with Lovesick. Quite an energetic track in which old school guitars play the first violin, backed by a clever bass, solid drums and contemporary synths. The Girl Who Tried, the first single on this EP, catapults us back in time to the late eighties. This song would have had the vrowd glide over the dancefloor in many ghastly, dark English clubs at that time but I suspect that today, these songs, because of how retro they sound, will also spur the dark people into motion.

Something more postpunk and mysterious synths trigger in Divination. The vocal line is great, the atmosphere is too "Somewhere deep in your heart, I know you feel the same...." a ballad but with plenty of balls.

The Witching Hour is the closing song of this EP. It does not take much to imagine that this brings us back to the Desintegration years of The Cure.

Astari Nite delivers a very good EP with Dreams Of Majesty. The vocal is not always as pure as it could be but the whole thing is still well executed.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/10/2017


NL

Astari Nite brengt ons hun nieuwe EP Dreams Of Majesty. Een mooie mix van eerder klassieke new-wave melodieën, meer dansbare gothic beats en een mooie dosis melancholische rock. De EP is uitgebracht door Cleopatra Records (Verenigde Staten) en Danse Macabre Records (Europe) verschijnen.

Het EP opent met Lovesick. En eerder energieke track waarin old school gitaren de eerste viool spelen, geruggesteund door een snedige bass, stevige drums en hedendaagse synths. The Girl Who Tried, de eerste single uit deze EP, slingert ons terug in de tijd naar de late eighties. Deze song zou in menige groezelige, donkere Engelse club in die tijd het publiek wel over de dansvloer hebben laten glijden. Maar ik vermoed dat ook op vandaag, hier en nu deze songs, hoe retro hij ook klinkt, het donkere volk wel in beweging zal zetten.

Iets meer postpunk en mysterieuze synths trekken Divination op gang. De zanglijn is geweldig, de sfeer ook. Somewhere deep in your heart, I know you feel the same,.... ballad, maar met meer dan genoeg ballen.
The Witching Hour is de afsluiter van deze EP. Het heeft niet veel nodig om de idee te hebben dat dit ons terugbrengt naar de Desintegration-jaren van The Cure.

Astari Nite levert met Dreams Of Majesty een heel degelijke EP af. Vocaal is het niet steeds even zuiver, maar het geheel blijft meer dan overeind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/10/2017


07/10/2017 : ASTARI NITE - Dreams Of Majesty 07/10/2017 : ASTARI NITE - Dreams Of Majesty

 

Next reviews
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE • Situational Awareness
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LCD SOUNDSYSTEM • American Dream
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
OMD • The Punishment Of Luxury
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
CULT WITH NO NAME • Heir Of The Dog

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + GOTHIC ROCK
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
DATE AT MIDNIGHT • Songs To Fall And Forget
SKELETAL FAMILY • Eternal Singles-Albums-Rarities-BBC Sessions-Live-Demos (1982-2015)
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
DOUBLE ECHO • La Danza
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid