tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/01/2015 : AT THE HOLLOW - What I Hold Most Dear

AT THE HOLLOW

What I Hold Most Dear

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie

[90/100]   

Spinefarm Records
25/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Perhaps there is something in the Finnish air as this country with a relatively small population, produces a lot of quality groups. A description that surely applies to At The Hollow with What I Hold Most Dear being their first album. An Indie/rock band with a personal style. This is not a classic rock band. For instance the bassist is playing a contra bas,s which makes the sound special. The singer has a great voice with lots of variations.

After a first listen, some will argue that the music is not enough pure rock, but you must give this album a little time,
because the compositions grow every time you listen to them and there are lots of variations to keep it interesting. On Was it Worth it? there is for instance some nice drumming and singing. Otherside starts with a solid rhythm section after the guitar intro, and on Paleface we even get get some moody strings to support the song. A beautiful delicate composition with lots of rhythm changes.

Dead Memories is a small and intimate track. After Let's Eat Them we can conclude that this album has eleven great songs with lyrics that really have something to say (listen for example to Let's Eat Them).

Fans of Arcade Fire, Architecture In Helsinki or Beirut should check this out.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/01/2015


NL

Er moet toch iets in de Finse lucht hangen: er komen veel kwaliteitsvolle groepen uit dat land, dat een relatief kleine bevolkingscijfer heeft.

Dat geldt ook voor At The Hollow, dat met What I Hold Most Dear z'n eerste album uitbrengt. Een Indie/rockband met een eigen stijl. We spreken hier zeker niet over een klassieke rockgroep. De bassist speelt contrabas waardoor hun geluid specialer wordt. De zanger heeft een aangename stem, die zowel zacht als hard goed uit de verf komt. Ook het opvallende en puike drumwerk verdient een pluim, het is wel opvallend gemixt, maar het is nergens storend of te overheersend.

Na een eerste beluistering zullen sommigen misschien beweren dat de muziek nergens pure rock wordt, maar je moet deze plaat gewoon de tijd geven om te groeien, want dat doen de songs bij elke beluistering en er zit genoeg variatie in het materiaal om het boeiend te houden. Op Was it Worth it? zit bijv. mooi drumwerk en mooie samenzang. Otherside begint na de gitaarintro met een stevige ritmesectie, waarop de rest van het nummer leunt. Op Paleface krijgen we stemmige strijkers die het nummer helpen ondersteunen. Een mooi gevoelig nummer met veel ritmewissels. De zanger heeft een heel aangename stem om naar te luisteren.

Dead Memories is een klein en intieme compositie met minimale begeleiding. Met Let’s Eat Them sluiten we een album af dat over de gehele lijn uit knappe songs bestaat, met teksten die iets te vertellen hebben (luister maar eens naar Let’s Eat Them).

Liefhebbers van indie zoals Arcade Fire, Architecture In Helsinki of Beirut, moeten dit beslist een keer checken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/01/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout