tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/01/2015 : AT THE HOLLOW - What I Hold Most Dear

AT THE HOLLOW

What I Hold Most Dear

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie

[90/100]   

Spinefarm Records
25/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Perhaps there is something in the Finnish air as this country with a relatively small population, produces a lot of quality groups. A description that surely applies to At The Hollow with What I Hold Most Dear being their first album. An Indie/rock band with a personal style. This is not a classic rock band. For instance the bassist is playing a contra bas,s which makes the sound special. The singer has a great voice with lots of variations.

After a first listen, some will argue that the music is not enough pure rock, but you must give this album a little time,
because the compositions grow every time you listen to them and there are lots of variations to keep it interesting. On Was it Worth it? there is for instance some nice drumming and singing. Otherside starts with a solid rhythm section after the guitar intro, and on Paleface we even get get some moody strings to support the song. A beautiful delicate composition with lots of rhythm changes.

Dead Memories is a small and intimate track. After Let's Eat Them we can conclude that this album has eleven great songs with lyrics that really have something to say (listen for example to Let's Eat Them).

Fans of Arcade Fire, Architecture In Helsinki or Beirut should check this out.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/01/2015


NL

Er moet toch iets in de Finse lucht hangen: er komen veel kwaliteitsvolle groepen uit dat land, dat een relatief kleine bevolkingscijfer heeft.

Dat geldt ook voor At The Hollow, dat met What I Hold Most Dear z'n eerste album uitbrengt. Een Indie/rockband met een eigen stijl. We spreken hier zeker niet over een klassieke rockgroep. De bassist speelt contrabas waardoor hun geluid specialer wordt. De zanger heeft een aangename stem, die zowel zacht als hard goed uit de verf komt. Ook het opvallende en puike drumwerk verdient een pluim, het is wel opvallend gemixt, maar het is nergens storend of te overheersend.

Na een eerste beluistering zullen sommigen misschien beweren dat de muziek nergens pure rock wordt, maar je moet deze plaat gewoon de tijd geven om te groeien, want dat doen de songs bij elke beluistering en er zit genoeg variatie in het materiaal om het boeiend te houden. Op Was it Worth it? zit bijv. mooi drumwerk en mooie samenzang. Otherside begint na de gitaarintro met een stevige ritmesectie, waarop de rest van het nummer leunt. Op Paleface krijgen we stemmige strijkers die het nummer helpen ondersteunen. Een mooi gevoelig nummer met veel ritmewissels. De zanger heeft een heel aangename stem om naar te luisteren.

Dead Memories is een klein en intieme compositie met minimale begeleiding. Met Let’s Eat Them sluiten we een album af dat over de gehele lijn uit knappe songs bestaat, met teksten die iets te vertellen hebben (luister maar eens naar Let’s Eat Them).

Liefhebbers van indie zoals Arcade Fire, Architecture In Helsinki of Beirut, moeten dit beslist een keer checken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/01/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design