tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/01/2015 : AT THE HOLLOW - What I Hold Most Dear

AT THE HOLLOW

What I Hold Most Dear

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndie

[90/100]   

Spinefarm Records
25/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Perhaps there is something in the Finnish air as this country with a relatively small population, produces a lot of quality groups. A description that surely applies to At The Hollow with What I Hold Most Dear being their first album. An Indie/rock band with a personal style. This is not a classic rock band. For instance the bassist is playing a contra bas,s which makes the sound special. The singer has a great voice with lots of variations.

After a first listen, some will argue that the music is not enough pure rock, but you must give this album a little time,
because the compositions grow every time you listen to them and there are lots of variations to keep it interesting. On Was it Worth it? there is for instance some nice drumming and singing. Otherside starts with a solid rhythm section after the guitar intro, and on Paleface we even get get some moody strings to support the song. A beautiful delicate composition with lots of rhythm changes.

Dead Memories is a small and intimate track. After Let's Eat Them we can conclude that this album has eleven great songs with lyrics that really have something to say (listen for example to Let's Eat Them).

Fans of Arcade Fire, Architecture In Helsinki or Beirut should check this out.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/01/2015


NL

Er moet toch iets in de Finse lucht hangen: er komen veel kwaliteitsvolle groepen uit dat land, dat een relatief kleine bevolkingscijfer heeft.

Dat geldt ook voor At The Hollow, dat met What I Hold Most Dear z'n eerste album uitbrengt. Een Indie/rockband met een eigen stijl. We spreken hier zeker niet over een klassieke rockgroep. De bassist speelt contrabas waardoor hun geluid specialer wordt. De zanger heeft een aangename stem, die zowel zacht als hard goed uit de verf komt. Ook het opvallende en puike drumwerk verdient een pluim, het is wel opvallend gemixt, maar het is nergens storend of te overheersend.

Na een eerste beluistering zullen sommigen misschien beweren dat de muziek nergens pure rock wordt, maar je moet deze plaat gewoon de tijd geven om te groeien, want dat doen de songs bij elke beluistering en er zit genoeg variatie in het materiaal om het boeiend te houden. Op Was it Worth it? zit bijv. mooi drumwerk en mooie samenzang. Otherside begint na de gitaarintro met een stevige ritmesectie, waarop de rest van het nummer leunt. Op Paleface krijgen we stemmige strijkers die het nummer helpen ondersteunen. Een mooi gevoelig nummer met veel ritmewissels. De zanger heeft een heel aangename stem om naar te luisteren.

Dead Memories is een klein en intieme compositie met minimale begeleiding. Met Let’s Eat Them sluiten we een album af dat over de gehele lijn uit knappe songs bestaat, met teksten die iets te vertellen hebben (luister maar eens naar Let’s Eat Them).

Liefhebbers van indie zoals Arcade Fire, Architecture In Helsinki of Beirut, moeten dit beslist een keer checken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/01/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis