tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

24/06/2011 : ATTRITION - demonstro 1981 - 1986

ATTRITION

demonstro 1981 - 1986

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrialPost Punk

[81/100]   
24/06/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Until now I had one record of Attrition, “death house” from 1987, the vinyl edition of a former cassette-only release from 1982. After listening to “demonstro” and also some more recent material, I am under the impression I have a lot of catching up to do.

Attrition, an electronic ensemble from Coventry (UK), started in 1980 and has released 18 albums and loads of singles and other stuff since then. The new “demonstro” album is a collection of previously unreleased, rare and demo recordings from the earliest days. Martin Bowes, Attrition’s founder and frontman, restored and re-mastered all material himself in his own studio, “The Cage”.

The album was released by VOD-records (vinyl on demand) from Germany and vinyl feels right for this particular release. The artwork is exquisite and on the limited double album (600 copies) you can find 24 songs, that don’t sound dated at all! VOD members get a nice bonus, the “demonstro ep” with 4 extra songs.

“demonstro” has become a varied, rich and layered record. On “Commandment” and “Oblivion” you get lured into a strange and fascinating world. The beautiful “Into the waves” goes on quietly and then gently dies on you. Some of the songs sound like Siouxsie on tranquillizers (“The Mistake” and “Devoid”), in “Shrinkwrap” you can hear echoes of Front 242, “Interference” puts the experimental, industrial side of Attrition on display and so on …

In conclusion we could say that “demonstro 1981 - 1986” offers an interesting mix of electronic, intense, industrial, adventurous, experimental and theatrical music.

Coming soon: an interview with Martin! Be sure to read it!

Didier PIETERS
24/06/2011


NL

Ik had tot nu toe één plaat van Attrition in huis, “death house” uit 1987, een vinyluitgave van hun allereerste cassette-only release uit 1982. Na het beluisteren van deze “demonstro” en ook wat recenter materiaal is gebleken dat ik heel wat heb gemist. Tijd voor een fikse inhaalbeweging!

Attrition, een elektronisch ensemble uit Coventry (UK), heeft inmiddels 18 volwaardige albums uit en tal van singles en verzamelaars. Het “nieuwe” “demonstro” album is eigenlijk een compilatie van nooit eerder uitgebrachte en zeldzame opnames uit de periode, u kon het al vermoeden, 1981 tot 1986. Martin Bowes, de drijvende kracht achter Attrition, restaureerde en re-masterde het materiaal hoogstpersoonlijk, in zijn eigen studio (“The Cage”).

Het album werd uitgebracht door het Duitse VOD-records (Vinyl On Demand) en vinyl lijkt me een uitstekende keuze voor deze release. Het artwork mag er zijn en op de gelimiteerde dubbel LP (600 copies) staan 24 nummers die helemaal niet gedateerd klinken. Voor VOD-leden is er een leuke bonus, de “demonstro ep” met nog eens 4 nummers extra.

“demonstro” is een zeer gevarieerde, rijke en gelaagde plaat geworden die diverse luisterbeurten meer dan waard is.

Op “Commandment” en “Oblivion” wordt je meegezogen in een vreemde, fascinerende wereld. “Into the waves” is dan weer een prachtig nummer dat sereen verder kabbelt tot het zachtjes uitdooft. Enkele songs doen denken aan Siouxsie op laag toerental (“The Mistake” en “Devoid”), op “Shrinkwrap” hoor je echo’s van Front 242, “Interference” zet de “industriële” kant van Attrition in de verf en zo kunnen we nog een tijdje doorgaan.

Samenvattend zouden we kunnen zeggen dat “demonstro” een boeiende mix van elektronische, intense, industriële, avontuurlijke, experimentele en theatrale muziek biedt.

Elders op de site vindt u binnenkort ook een interview met Martin. Zeker lezen!

Didier PIETERS
24/06/2011


 

Next reviews
GIRLS NAMES • Dead to me
FINK • Perfect Darkness
TUNES OF DAWN • Goodbye cruel world
HYDRONE • Confusion
THE SPIRITUAL BAT • Cruel machine
ICEHOUSE • Flowers
DOWNSTAIRS LEFT • Nothing but memories
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
RETRIEVER • The Rattle and the Hiss
ARCTIC MONKEYS • Suck it and see

 

Other reviews from ATTRITION
ATTRITION • Black Easter 2016
ATTRITION • Millions of the Mouthless Dead
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
ATTRITION • Demonstro - 1982 - 85
ATTRITION • Acid Tongue : Remodel EP 2014
ATTRITION • narcissist ep
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched