tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

24/06/2011 : ATTRITION - demonstro 1981 - 1986

ATTRITION

demonstro 1981 - 1986

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrialPost Punk

[81/100]   
24/06/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Until now I had one record of Attrition, “death house” from 1987, the vinyl edition of a former cassette-only release from 1982. After listening to “demonstro” and also some more recent material, I am under the impression I have a lot of catching up to do.

Attrition, an electronic ensemble from Coventry (UK), started in 1980 and has released 18 albums and loads of singles and other stuff since then. The new “demonstro” album is a collection of previously unreleased, rare and demo recordings from the earliest days. Martin Bowes, Attrition’s founder and frontman, restored and re-mastered all material himself in his own studio, “The Cage”.

The album was released by VOD-records (vinyl on demand) from Germany and vinyl feels right for this particular release. The artwork is exquisite and on the limited double album (600 copies) you can find 24 songs, that don’t sound dated at all! VOD members get a nice bonus, the “demonstro ep” with 4 extra songs.

“demonstro” has become a varied, rich and layered record. On “Commandment” and “Oblivion” you get lured into a strange and fascinating world. The beautiful “Into the waves” goes on quietly and then gently dies on you. Some of the songs sound like Siouxsie on tranquillizers (“The Mistake” and “Devoid”), in “Shrinkwrap” you can hear echoes of Front 242, “Interference” puts the experimental, industrial side of Attrition on display and so on …

In conclusion we could say that “demonstro 1981 - 1986” offers an interesting mix of electronic, intense, industrial, adventurous, experimental and theatrical music.

Coming soon: an interview with Martin! Be sure to read it!

Didier PIETERS
24/06/2011


NL

Ik had tot nu toe één plaat van Attrition in huis, “death house” uit 1987, een vinyluitgave van hun allereerste cassette-only release uit 1982. Na het beluisteren van deze “demonstro” en ook wat recenter materiaal is gebleken dat ik heel wat heb gemist. Tijd voor een fikse inhaalbeweging!

Attrition, een elektronisch ensemble uit Coventry (UK), heeft inmiddels 18 volwaardige albums uit en tal van singles en verzamelaars. Het “nieuwe” “demonstro” album is eigenlijk een compilatie van nooit eerder uitgebrachte en zeldzame opnames uit de periode, u kon het al vermoeden, 1981 tot 1986. Martin Bowes, de drijvende kracht achter Attrition, restaureerde en re-masterde het materiaal hoogstpersoonlijk, in zijn eigen studio (“The Cage”).

Het album werd uitgebracht door het Duitse VOD-records (Vinyl On Demand) en vinyl lijkt me een uitstekende keuze voor deze release. Het artwork mag er zijn en op de gelimiteerde dubbel LP (600 copies) staan 24 nummers die helemaal niet gedateerd klinken. Voor VOD-leden is er een leuke bonus, de “demonstro ep” met nog eens 4 nummers extra.

“demonstro” is een zeer gevarieerde, rijke en gelaagde plaat geworden die diverse luisterbeurten meer dan waard is.

Op “Commandment” en “Oblivion” wordt je meegezogen in een vreemde, fascinerende wereld. “Into the waves” is dan weer een prachtig nummer dat sereen verder kabbelt tot het zachtjes uitdooft. Enkele songs doen denken aan Siouxsie op laag toerental (“The Mistake” en “Devoid”), op “Shrinkwrap” hoor je echo’s van Front 242, “Interference” zet de “industriële” kant van Attrition in de verf en zo kunnen we nog een tijdje doorgaan.

Samenvattend zouden we kunnen zeggen dat “demonstro” een boeiende mix van elektronische, intense, industriële, avontuurlijke, experimentele en theatrale muziek biedt.

Elders op de site vindt u binnenkort ook een interview met Martin. Zeker lezen!

Didier PIETERS
24/06/2011


 

Next reviews
GIRLS NAMES • Dead to me
FINK • Perfect Darkness
TUNES OF DAWN • Goodbye cruel world
HYDRONE • Confusion
THE SPIRITUAL BAT • Cruel machine
ICEHOUSE • Flowers
DOWNSTAIRS LEFT • Nothing but memories
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
RETRIEVER • The Rattle and the Hiss
ARCTIC MONKEYS • Suck it and see

 

Other reviews from ATTRITION
ATTRITION • Black Easter 2016
ATTRITION • Millions of the Mouthless Dead
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
ATTRITION • Demonstro - 1982 - 85
ATTRITION • Acid Tongue : Remodel EP 2014
ATTRITION • narcissist ep
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes