tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/03/2013 : ATTRITION - The unraveller of Angels

ATTRITION

The unraveller of Angels

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDrum n bassDubstepElectro RockExperimentalIndustrial

[89/100]   

A two gods production
21/03/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

in 1982 Attrition produced a cassette, in 1984 the first cd. Since then the band went on and kept on producing albums, playing gigs...

Founder Martin Bowes has teamed up with US singer Tylean on vocals and created 10 new works varying in style from industrial to gothic to dark ambient soundscapes, whilst lyrically continuing his exploration of introspective themes of life, love and death... Due to this the sound is almost unclassifiable (see this as very positive). Something that really stole my heart are amount of special guests: Mona Mur (Einsturzende Neubauten, En Esch etc), Matt Howden (Sieben etc), Annie Hogan (Marc and the Mambas, Nick Cave etc), Erica Mulkey (Unwoman) Ian Arkely (My Silent Wake, Seventh Angel) Jyri Glynn, Joanna Dalin and more..

I can skip the intro of the album and right away go to the second one, which I really love because of the drum'n bass start and eclectic sound. 'Karma mechanic' reminds me a bit of Cobalt 60 and that is really a great score! It's hard to sit still on this one and i can see it been played by DJ's and crowds go nuts! You almost get sucked in right away with the single 'The Narcissist'. The violin gives it a special touch, just as the beat and the murmuring. It feels like being hunted by Medusa. Going further down like in Twin Peaks or Lost highway (the start or the end of the movie) with 'Histrionic!' So much images are starting to hunt me, somehow this song awakes so much things, it feels almost like exploding, just as the sound coming to the end of the song and dying slowly to overflow in 'One horserider'. It really feels like David Lynch could make a movie around this music, simply being inspired by Attrition. 'Snakepit' and 'Suicide engineer' go even a bit further: it's almost like a silent nightmare, drifting and unable to catch. The piano, the saxophone and howling wind kind background vocals sound very scary, this one really counts as scary soundscape! Almost like a murder story is 'The Casual agent', for sure with the sentence of 'There is a devil on my shoulder' and than there is the violin... In the end you almost get captured by the upcoming trance-vibe. Quickly followed by two real soundscape is 'Hollow Latitudes' and 'The internal narrator', for the fans!

I'm pretty sure that a lot of fans will love this one, even the fans of the special guests!

The first video...for the first single Narcissist, is here now : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8ZozakYviI&feature=share

http://attritionuk.bandcamp.com/album/the-unraveller-of-angels

www.attrition.co.uk
facebook.com/attrition
attritionuk.bandcamp.com
twitter.com/attritionuk
www.thecagestudios.co.uk

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/03/2013


 

Next reviews
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
NASTY BULLETZ • Right Time To Rock You
AESTHETISCHE • Nachtbrenner ep
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
LOVE IS COLDER THAN DEATH • Tempest
DAVID BOWIE • The Next Day
THE KLINIK • Eat Your Heart Out
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware Comes Alive
ATTRITION • narcissist ep

 

Other reviews from ATTRITION
ATTRITION • Black Easter 2016
ATTRITION • Millions of the Mouthless Dead
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
ATTRITION • Demonstro - 1982 - 85
ATTRITION • Acid Tongue : Remodel EP 2014
ATTRITION • narcissist ep
ATTRITION • demonstro 1981 - 1986

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox

 

Same genre: DRUM N BASS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
FRANQ • Common Ground
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
TACTICAL MODULE • Into exile
HYDRUS • Nodes

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MARCHING DYNAMICS • Shutter And Cross Yourself
OYAARSS • Smaida Greizi Nākamība
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
KMFDM • Hyena
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser