tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/01/2014 : AU REVOIR SIMONE - Move in Spectrums

AU REVOIR SIMONE

Move in Spectrums

MusicCD
Dark PopDreampopElectro PopNew wave

[90/100]   

Moshi Moshi Records
23/01/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After getting the single 'More than' I was delighted that I could review the complete cd! Right now I already forgot how many times I already listened to it, but it has been quite a lot! I just love these women! They know how to make nice tunes and turn them into a poppy heaven and very tasteful!

The single was already a major hit, but there is more! 'The Lead is Galloping' for example is a great one: nice lyrics, very catchy sound, nice and well worked out poppy sound, a real earworm! I would love to see them on stage!

'Crazy' is more like a real pop song, with nice guitars and a good drive! Love the clapping hands sound blending in with the synth! At some point I hear some nice 80's sound and that makes it even better! This is the kind of song that can make you jump up and down and smile, for sure!

'We both know' starts slowly, almost like a soundscape, a piano, a guitar, a synth... When the vocals jump in the songs keeps something like floating in the thin air... It sounds more like a dream...

'Just Like A Tree' almost starts like 'Rendez-Vous' (the song from Pas de Deux) and goes on like a typical 80's minimal wave song with nice female vocals who give it a great sound! However it's a very sweet song, the lyrics aren't. Nice way to stay away from somebody!

'Gravitron' is again nice minimal wave with great vocals! This one sounds very heavenly, very sweet, despite the little bit of a chaotic sound at some point. This one has really a nice and poppy sound too, just love it!

'Boiling Point' is a nice and soft one, but somehow my least favorite one (and still better than an average song on most of the other cd's is Heard recently). Somehow the synths aren't blending in, disturbing a bit the peace and the heavenly sound. I feel that the song would be so much better without this little wall of sound, but that's just my personal opinion and who am I?

'Love you Don't Know Me' starts with a nice piano and a mesmerizing voice, almost dreaming away. Somehow it feels like it's too short, as I'm each surprised that the next song already starts...

'Hand over Hand' is another sweet song, this time with a bit more electronics. I love the softness of the vocals, dreaming away, thinking about nice things, calming me down, and bringing in peace... and love! 

'Let The night Win' with this nice electronic dreamer a great cd ends and I have to say Au Revoir Simone, but luckily there is a repeat button, so here we go again!

This record sounds like your lover whispering all the kind of sweet things you want to hear from one that loves you, can't say it better than like this...

I can't wait to see them on stage!

Here's my review of their single:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/au-revoir-simone-more-than-single/

And they just announced a large tour, so what are you waiting for?

Tourdates:

Au Revoir Simone – NME Awards Show
20th Feb 2014
The Garage, London
20-22 Highbury Crescent, N5 1RD
Tickets on sale here.
 
 5th Feb – Loppen, Copenhagen Tickets
6th Feb – Strand, Stockholm Tickets
7th Feb – Babel, Malmo Tickets
8th Feb – Indra, Hamburg Tickets
9th Feb – Lido, Berlin Tickets
10th Feb – Gebaude 9, Cologne Tickets
12th Feb – La Laiterie, Strasbourg Tickets
13th Feb – Les Trinitaires, Metz Tickets
14th Feb – Lune Des Pirates, Amiens Tickets
15th Feb – Orangerie @ Botanique, Brussels Tickets
16th Feb – Fireworks! Festival @ Trabendo, Paris Tickets
18th Feb – 106, Rouen Tickets
21st Feb – Fireworks! Festival @ La Condition Publique, Roubaix (near Lille) Tickets
22nd Feb – MXDX, Midi Winter Festival @ Omega Live, Toulon Tickets
23rd Feb – Paloma, Nimes Tickets
24th Feb – Connection Café, Toulouse Tickets

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/01/2014


 

Next reviews
ROLAND EMMERICH • White House Down
LA LUNE NOIRE • ECHOLAND
JEROEN LEINDERS • Tula, The Revolt
UJ LATASMOD FUZIO • Amorf, Különös, Amorf 1992-1997
BENJAMIN JOHNS • Traveller
WOODY ALLEN • Blue Jasmine
LOVE CREAM • First Taste
JULEAH • Entangled And Entwined EP
DAVID TWOHY • Riddick
THE ISOLATION PROCESS • The Isolation Process

 

Other reviews from AU REVOIR SIMONE
AU REVOIR SIMONE • More Than (single)

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat