tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/01/2014 : AU REVOIR SIMONE - Move in Spectrums

AU REVOIR SIMONE

Move in Spectrums

MusicCD
Dark PopDreampopElectro PopNew wave

[90/100]   

Moshi Moshi Records
23/01/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After getting the single 'More than' I was delighted that I could review the complete cd! Right now I already forgot how many times I already listened to it, but it has been quite a lot! I just love these women! They know how to make nice tunes and turn them into a poppy heaven and very tasteful!

The single was already a major hit, but there is more! 'The Lead is Galloping' for example is a great one: nice lyrics, very catchy sound, nice and well worked out poppy sound, a real earworm! I would love to see them on stage!

'Crazy' is more like a real pop song, with nice guitars and a good drive! Love the clapping hands sound blending in with the synth! At some point I hear some nice 80's sound and that makes it even better! This is the kind of song that can make you jump up and down and smile, for sure!

'We both know' starts slowly, almost like a soundscape, a piano, a guitar, a synth... When the vocals jump in the songs keeps something like floating in the thin air... It sounds more like a dream...

'Just Like A Tree' almost starts like 'Rendez-Vous' (the song from Pas de Deux) and goes on like a typical 80's minimal wave song with nice female vocals who give it a great sound! However it's a very sweet song, the lyrics aren't. Nice way to stay away from somebody!

'Gravitron' is again nice minimal wave with great vocals! This one sounds very heavenly, very sweet, despite the little bit of a chaotic sound at some point. This one has really a nice and poppy sound too, just love it!

'Boiling Point' is a nice and soft one, but somehow my least favorite one (and still better than an average song on most of the other cd's is Heard recently). Somehow the synths aren't blending in, disturbing a bit the peace and the heavenly sound. I feel that the song would be so much better without this little wall of sound, but that's just my personal opinion and who am I?

'Love you Don't Know Me' starts with a nice piano and a mesmerizing voice, almost dreaming away. Somehow it feels like it's too short, as I'm each surprised that the next song already starts...

'Hand over Hand' is another sweet song, this time with a bit more electronics. I love the softness of the vocals, dreaming away, thinking about nice things, calming me down, and bringing in peace... and love! 

'Let The night Win' with this nice electronic dreamer a great cd ends and I have to say Au Revoir Simone, but luckily there is a repeat button, so here we go again!

This record sounds like your lover whispering all the kind of sweet things you want to hear from one that loves you, can't say it better than like this...

I can't wait to see them on stage!

Here's my review of their single:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/au-revoir-simone-more-than-single/

And they just announced a large tour, so what are you waiting for?

Tourdates:

Au Revoir Simone – NME Awards Show
20th Feb 2014
The Garage, London
20-22 Highbury Crescent, N5 1RD
Tickets on sale here.
 
 5th Feb – Loppen, Copenhagen Tickets
6th Feb – Strand, Stockholm Tickets
7th Feb – Babel, Malmo Tickets
8th Feb – Indra, Hamburg Tickets
9th Feb – Lido, Berlin Tickets
10th Feb – Gebaude 9, Cologne Tickets
12th Feb – La Laiterie, Strasbourg Tickets
13th Feb – Les Trinitaires, Metz Tickets
14th Feb – Lune Des Pirates, Amiens Tickets
15th Feb – Orangerie @ Botanique, Brussels Tickets
16th Feb – Fireworks! Festival @ Trabendo, Paris Tickets
18th Feb – 106, Rouen Tickets
21st Feb – Fireworks! Festival @ La Condition Publique, Roubaix (near Lille) Tickets
22nd Feb – MXDX, Midi Winter Festival @ Omega Live, Toulon Tickets
23rd Feb – Paloma, Nimes Tickets
24th Feb – Connection Café, Toulouse Tickets

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/01/2014


 

Next reviews
ROLAND EMMERICH • White House Down
LA LUNE NOIRE • ECHOLAND
JEROEN LEINDERS • Tula, The Revolt
UJ LATASMOD FUZIO • Amorf, Különös, Amorf 1992-1997
BENJAMIN JOHNS • Traveller
WOODY ALLEN • Blue Jasmine
LOVE CREAM • First Taste
JULEAH • Entangled And Entwined EP
DAVID TWOHY • Riddick
THE ISOLATION PROCESS • The Isolation Process

 

Other reviews from AU REVOIR SIMONE
AU REVOIR SIMONE • More Than (single)

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide