tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : AUBIN - Any Day Now

AUBIN

Any Day Now

MusicCD
AmericanaElectronicsIndiePost Rock

[70/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

There is plenty of female musical talent in Belgium this month. There is a new album by Few Bits or the debut by Lily Grace, and from Brussels we welcome Aubin. This trio consists of Toon Van Dionant (drums), Jan Viggria (guitar) and of course the main factor of the band: the golden voice of Veerle Pollet, who also plays guitar and keyboards.

Earlier the trio released an EP, but Any Day Now is the self-released debut that features nine songs. Aubin’s music suits perfect for radio stations with good taste, as the more you hear Aubin’s folktronica, the more you discover beauty. The band opts for a nice combination of acoustic instruments (often post-rock with some Americana) and electronics. You can compare Aubin with many bands, but Veerle’s perfect voice makes the difference. She dares to experiment with her voice, Annie floats between the mainstream pop of Lady Linn and the cabaret style of Coco Rosie. Life Support is superb, while Set In Stone is nice indie pop in which Aubin shows its own face.

Aubin sounds neat and perhaps just a little too neat for some, but you will not doubt the fact that these three have talent!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Aan vrouwelijk muzikaal talent uit België is er deze maand geen gebrek. Er is de nieuwe van Few Bits of de knappe ep van Lily Grace, en uit Brussel komt nu Aubin aangewaaid. Dit trio bestaat uit Toon Van Dionant (drums), Jan Viggria (gitaar) en natuurlijk de belangrijkste factor: de gouden stem van Veerle Pollet, die trouwens ook het gitaar- en keyboardwerk doet.

Eerder bracht het trio al een ep uit, maar met Any Day Now is er nu een in eigen beheer uitgebrachte cd waarop 9 liedjes prijken. Aubin is wel braaf en uiterst geschikt als luistervoer voor de betere radio, maar hoe meer je de folktronica van deze Brusselaars draait,des te meer je er schoonheid in ontdekt. De band kiest voor een leuke combinatie van akoestische instrumenten (vaak post-rock met wat americana) en elektronica. Voorbeelden zijn er genoeg om Aubin mee te vergelijken, maar door Veerles aangename stem wordt het toch telkens iets anders. Ze durft ook al eens wat experimenteren met haar stem, zo zweeft Annie tussen de mainstreampop van Lady Linn en het cabaretachtige van Coco Rosie. Life Support is dan weer aangrijpend mooi, Set In Stone is knappe indie die Aubin een eigen gezicht geeft.

Aubin is braaf en misschien voor sommigen net iets te braaf, maar aan het feit dat deze drie over talent beschikken, hoef je niet te twijfelen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets