tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/05/2014 : AVATAR - Hail The Apocalypse

AVATAR

Hail The Apocalypse

MusicCD
GrungeHard RockHeavy MetalStonerock

[94/100]   

Gain Music
23/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Once again I got attracted by the artwork and once I started listening to the music I simply couldn't stop and because of that it was pretty hard to focus on the review; as I simply had too much fun with this one!

'Hail The Apocalypse' starts with a real show off: great sound, great Soulfy versus System of A Dawn, Clawfinger & Korn musical mix, roaring bass play, technical super lead guitar play and so much more! 'What I Don't Know' starts with a funny sound & funny vocals before it gets on fire. Love the sound and the pretty funky disco side-kick. A great title track is 'Death of Sound' which gets the needed agressivity! Strangely enough the vocals are clean and sound very melancholic (despite some screaming and grunting backings). The drums are by moments on fire, but nicely mixed into the background. 'Vultures Fly' sounds like a mix between Crematory, Clawfinger & Iron Maiden (the electronics and the vocals mixed with great metal) and it's a great switch of sound! 'Bloody Angel' is a bomb! Love the very sensitive start! Yet another change of mood & sound: more melancholic & with a clean voice leading the song! The grunting and raging is perfect as extra, just as the little choir & church bells in the end. 'Murderer' starts with the bass leading and a voice that reminds me a bit of Marilyn Manson. Love the brutal vocal explosion, the hammering guitars and the brutal sound! 'Tsar Bomba' is sung in German and sounds very aggressive, loaded with anger and rage. I see this one as the metal version of Suicide Commando (check it out if you don't know this band). Love the solo halfway the song! 'Puppet Show' is a nice gimmick with a very funny sound. Reminds me somehow of the Soviet Times. I'm not sure on how the fans will react if they play this one live on stage! Nice circus orgue and trumpet (or is it a trombone?). The 'lalalala' gives it a bit of a Russian party song. 'Get in Line' throws a bomb, like System of a Dawn does it! You can call it a fuelled song with roaring and hammering guitars! This one could also be the new hit of Channel Zero! Something completely different comes with 'Something in the Way', yesss: it's the song from Nirvana! It takes a lot of nerves to record this one and not fail! This version has harder guitars, the end is a bit brutal, but for the rest I can say I loved this version! 'Tower' is the last track and has lots of electronics in it, gets a more melancholic vocal play and less guitars (but they still play an important role). Love the sensitive sound of this track, just as the backings giving it a weeping sound.

My conclusion: This band serves a lot of different tracks, great variation and has great powers in it! The vocals are really stylish, melancholic; powerful... everything that I want to get is here! So, what are you waiting for?

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/05/2014


 

Next reviews
DOUGLAS AARNIOKOSKI • Nurse 3D
CLICK CLICK • Those Nervous Surgeons
SPENCER MOODY • SINGLE CAR ACIDENT
ROMAN POLANSKI • Venus In Fur
BLACK ANVIL • Hail Death
STILLE VOLK • La Peira Negra
JOSS WHEDON • Much ado about nothing
YOLANDE MOREAU • Henri
CODY CAMERON & KRIS PEARN • Cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2
BLOODY HAMMERS • Under Satan's Sun

 

Same genre: GRUNGE
L7 • Scatter The Rats
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
SO PITTED • Neo
BLISSARD • Blissard
DOWNERS • Noose (EP)
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)
DRY CAN • Meanwhile

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)