tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/05/2014 : AVATAR - Hail The Apocalypse

AVATAR

Hail The Apocalypse

MusicCD
GrungeHard RockHeavy MetalStonerock

[94/100]   

Gain Music
23/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Once again I got attracted by the artwork and once I started listening to the music I simply couldn't stop and because of that it was pretty hard to focus on the review; as I simply had too much fun with this one!

'Hail The Apocalypse' starts with a real show off: great sound, great Soulfy versus System of A Dawn, Clawfinger & Korn musical mix, roaring bass play, technical super lead guitar play and so much more! 'What I Don't Know' starts with a funny sound & funny vocals before it gets on fire. Love the sound and the pretty funky disco side-kick. A great title track is 'Death of Sound' which gets the needed agressivity! Strangely enough the vocals are clean and sound very melancholic (despite some screaming and grunting backings). The drums are by moments on fire, but nicely mixed into the background. 'Vultures Fly' sounds like a mix between Crematory, Clawfinger & Iron Maiden (the electronics and the vocals mixed with great metal) and it's a great switch of sound! 'Bloody Angel' is a bomb! Love the very sensitive start! Yet another change of mood & sound: more melancholic & with a clean voice leading the song! The grunting and raging is perfect as extra, just as the little choir & church bells in the end. 'Murderer' starts with the bass leading and a voice that reminds me a bit of Marilyn Manson. Love the brutal vocal explosion, the hammering guitars and the brutal sound! 'Tsar Bomba' is sung in German and sounds very aggressive, loaded with anger and rage. I see this one as the metal version of Suicide Commando (check it out if you don't know this band). Love the solo halfway the song! 'Puppet Show' is a nice gimmick with a very funny sound. Reminds me somehow of the Soviet Times. I'm not sure on how the fans will react if they play this one live on stage! Nice circus orgue and trumpet (or is it a trombone?). The 'lalalala' gives it a bit of a Russian party song. 'Get in Line' throws a bomb, like System of a Dawn does it! You can call it a fuelled song with roaring and hammering guitars! This one could also be the new hit of Channel Zero! Something completely different comes with 'Something in the Way', yesss: it's the song from Nirvana! It takes a lot of nerves to record this one and not fail! This version has harder guitars, the end is a bit brutal, but for the rest I can say I loved this version! 'Tower' is the last track and has lots of electronics in it, gets a more melancholic vocal play and less guitars (but they still play an important role). Love the sensitive sound of this track, just as the backings giving it a weeping sound.

My conclusion: This band serves a lot of different tracks, great variation and has great powers in it! The vocals are really stylish, melancholic; powerful... everything that I want to get is here! So, what are you waiting for?

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/05/2014


 

Next reviews
DOUGLAS AARNIOKOSKI • Nurse 3D
CLICK CLICK • Those Nervous Surgeons
SPENCER MOODY • SINGLE CAR ACIDENT
ROMAN POLANSKI • Venus In Fur
BLACK ANVIL • Hail Death
STILLE VOLK • La Peira Negra
JOSS WHEDON • Much ado about nothing
YOLANDE MOREAU • Henri
CODY CAMERON & KRIS PEARN • Cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2
BLOODY HAMMERS • Under Satan's Sun

 

Same genre: GRUNGE
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
L7 • Scatter The Rats
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
SO PITTED • Neo
BLISSARD • Blissard
DOWNERS • Noose (EP)
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

28
01
FRAGRANCE
Salt Water
19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Blackened Bass Act, LUNA 13 Drops The Provocative LP, Gorgo & New Single, 'Hear My Call'
27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover