tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/05/2014 : AVATAR - Hail The Apocalypse

AVATAR

Hail The Apocalypse

MusicCD
GrungeHard RockHeavy MetalStonerock

[94/100]   

Gain Music
23/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Once again I got attracted by the artwork and once I started listening to the music I simply couldn't stop and because of that it was pretty hard to focus on the review; as I simply had too much fun with this one!

'Hail The Apocalypse' starts with a real show off: great sound, great Soulfy versus System of A Dawn, Clawfinger & Korn musical mix, roaring bass play, technical super lead guitar play and so much more! 'What I Don't Know' starts with a funny sound & funny vocals before it gets on fire. Love the sound and the pretty funky disco side-kick. A great title track is 'Death of Sound' which gets the needed agressivity! Strangely enough the vocals are clean and sound very melancholic (despite some screaming and grunting backings). The drums are by moments on fire, but nicely mixed into the background. 'Vultures Fly' sounds like a mix between Crematory, Clawfinger & Iron Maiden (the electronics and the vocals mixed with great metal) and it's a great switch of sound! 'Bloody Angel' is a bomb! Love the very sensitive start! Yet another change of mood & sound: more melancholic & with a clean voice leading the song! The grunting and raging is perfect as extra, just as the little choir & church bells in the end. 'Murderer' starts with the bass leading and a voice that reminds me a bit of Marilyn Manson. Love the brutal vocal explosion, the hammering guitars and the brutal sound! 'Tsar Bomba' is sung in German and sounds very aggressive, loaded with anger and rage. I see this one as the metal version of Suicide Commando (check it out if you don't know this band). Love the solo halfway the song! 'Puppet Show' is a nice gimmick with a very funny sound. Reminds me somehow of the Soviet Times. I'm not sure on how the fans will react if they play this one live on stage! Nice circus orgue and trumpet (or is it a trombone?). The 'lalalala' gives it a bit of a Russian party song. 'Get in Line' throws a bomb, like System of a Dawn does it! You can call it a fuelled song with roaring and hammering guitars! This one could also be the new hit of Channel Zero! Something completely different comes with 'Something in the Way', yesss: it's the song from Nirvana! It takes a lot of nerves to record this one and not fail! This version has harder guitars, the end is a bit brutal, but for the rest I can say I loved this version! 'Tower' is the last track and has lots of electronics in it, gets a more melancholic vocal play and less guitars (but they still play an important role). Love the sensitive sound of this track, just as the backings giving it a weeping sound.

My conclusion: This band serves a lot of different tracks, great variation and has great powers in it! The vocals are really stylish, melancholic; powerful... everything that I want to get is here! So, what are you waiting for?

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/05/2014


 

Next reviews
DOUGLAS AARNIOKOSKI • Nurse 3D
CLICK CLICK • Those Nervous Surgeons
SPENCER MOODY • SINGLE CAR ACIDENT
ROMAN POLANSKI • Venus In Fur
BLACK ANVIL • Hail Death
STILLE VOLK • La Peira Negra
JOSS WHEDON • Much ado about nothing
YOLANDE MOREAU • Henri
CODY CAMERON & KRIS PEARN • Cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2
BLOODY HAMMERS • Under Satan's Sun

 

Same genre: GRUNGE
L7 • Scatter The Rats
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
SO PITTED • Neo
BLISSARD • Blissard
DOWNERS • Noose (EP)
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)
DRY CAN • Meanwhile

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer