tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/01/2013 : AVGVST - Onlooker

AVGVST

Onlooker

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[85/100]   
25/01/2013, Didier BECU

I know it's very hard to convince people to give unsigned bands a change. It's even hard to tell those people to listen to them for five minutes. True, if you have to check out all bands that are recommended throughout the net then not only you won't have any time left for anything else, plus the disappointment is quite big as the recommendations aren't that great after all.

But please take these words seriously: give Avgvst a chance! Who, you say? Avgvst. Perhaps it's not the best band's name of all time (I don't even have a clue what it stands for), but their music will tear your soul apart. Their influences? Cold wave, post-punk and Warp. Sounds odd on paper? It does, but imagine The Cure in their Faith-days doing something with vocoders. Add a Hooky-bassline and a very dark sound (Another Source sounds like a suicide note) and you have the sound of the French band Avgvst. What a sound. It's kind of dancable (well at least if you like to dance to early Factory-releases) and you can hear synths that are similar to the ones Clan Of Xymox used on Medusa. Oh, and to top it all, at times they sound as fantastic as Slowdive.

It's noisy, it's melancholic, it's....almost perfect!

The band have now released a stunning EP containing six songs that are destinated for something quite big. If 4-AD would be as brilliant as they used to be they gave 'em a record deal immediately.

Didier BECU
25/01/2013


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete