tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/01/2013 : AVGVST - Onlooker

AVGVST

Onlooker

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[85/100]   
25/01/2013, Didier BECU

I know it's very hard to convince people to give unsigned bands a change. It's even hard to tell those people to listen to them for five minutes. True, if you have to check out all bands that are recommended throughout the net then not only you won't have any time left for anything else, plus the disappointment is quite big as the recommendations aren't that great after all.

But please take these words seriously: give Avgvst a chance! Who, you say? Avgvst. Perhaps it's not the best band's name of all time (I don't even have a clue what it stands for), but their music will tear your soul apart. Their influences? Cold wave, post-punk and Warp. Sounds odd on paper? It does, but imagine The Cure in their Faith-days doing something with vocoders. Add a Hooky-bassline and a very dark sound (Another Source sounds like a suicide note) and you have the sound of the French band Avgvst. What a sound. It's kind of dancable (well at least if you like to dance to early Factory-releases) and you can hear synths that are similar to the ones Clan Of Xymox used on Medusa. Oh, and to top it all, at times they sound as fantastic as Slowdive.

It's noisy, it's melancholic, it's....almost perfect!

The band have now released a stunning EP containing six songs that are destinated for something quite big. If 4-AD would be as brilliant as they used to be they gave 'em a record deal immediately.

Didier BECU
25/01/2013


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL