tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

03/11/2015 : AYRIA - Feed Her To The Wolves

AYRIA

Feed Her To The Wolves

MusicCD (EP)
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[75/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
03/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

The gothic world is very diverse and has in fact become a term for various styles of dark music. To sum up all the existing subgenres, would be a hopeless task.

This Canadian project Ayria is the work of singer Jennifer Parkin and her musical partner in crime, Sebastian R. Komor, who is supporting her soft poppy voice with dark synths and dark beats. This is true future pop. When listening to this EP, I immediately have Implant from Belgium in mind. That is not so surprising because Jennifer used to be the guest singer of the band and both acts are signed to Alfa Matrix.

The EP contains four songs. Underneath The Water, that is followed by the title track Feed Her To The Wolves. Both these numbers are also featured in a decent remix version: Sebastian Komor’s mix of Underneath The Water has an EBM Industrial touch; Feed Her To The Wolves is featured in the Judgement Version, which contains slightly fewer electronic effects and sounds more pure. The rhythm is very different from the original, and it is a track that probably will fill many dance floors in the more alternative clubs. The EP Feed Her To The Wolves is an accessible appetizer for the new Ayria album Paper Dolls, that is already on the wish list of future pop fans.

Ruben SAEY
03/11/2015


NL

Dat de gothicwereld heel divers is, is al lang geen geheim meer. Het is ondertussen meer een verzamelnaam geworden voor diverse stijlen binnen het ietwat duistere spectrum van de muziek. Alle subgenres opnoemen is onbegonnen werk en zou ons veel te ver laten afdwalen.

Dit Canadese project Ayria is voor een groot deel het werk van zangeres Jennifer Parkin en haar muzikale partner in crime Sebastian R. Komor die haar zachte poppy stem ondersteunt met donkere synths en donkere beats. Dit is echte futurepop. Bij het beluisteren van deze ep dacht ik meteen aan Implant uit België. Dat is niet eens zo verwonderlijk als je weet dat Jennifer als gastzangeres bij deze band heeft gezongen en dat ze beiden uit de Alfa Matrix stal komen.

De ep bevat vier nummers. Twee nieuwe songs, te beginnen met Underneath The Water, gevolgd door de titeltrack Feed Her To The Wolves. Beide nummers krijg je nadien nog eens in een degelijke remix versie: 
Underneath The Water in de Sebastian Komor mix heeft een EBM-Industrial tintje zonder daarin te overdrijven; van Feed Her To The Wolves krijgen we de Judgement Version. Deze versie bevat iets minder elektronische effecten en is dus iets puurder. Ook het ritme is heel verschillend van het origineel, dus echt wel een andere bewerking en een track die in de toekomst misschien menig dansvloeren kan vullen in de alternatievere clubs. De ep Feed Her To The Wolves is de toegankelijke voorbode van het nieuwe Ayria-album Paper Dolls, en dus echt iets voor de futurepopliefhebbers om naar uit te kijken.

Ruben SAEY
03/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis