casinomaxi casino metropol canli casino

01/12/2014 : BABY FIRE - The Red Robe

BABY FIRE

The Red Robe

MusicCD
Gothic RockPost PunkPost Rock
Off-recordlabel
01/12/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Baby Fire started in January 2009 as Diabolita's solo project. Her first solo show was at the Ladyfest in Liège (Belgium) in May of that same year. She was joined by Cha on drums in January 2010 and within a few months they were opening for bands such as HRSTA (Canada), Part Chimp (UK) and CJ Boyd (US).

When I noticed that other artists and journalists liked them, I decided to grab a review copy. One of the most remarkable things about this CD is that I always get that feeling: is it already over? Yeah, the CD could be a bit longer, meaning it's a good one. There is more than enough variety on it to keep it interesting. Their sound seems to be their own and not a copy of another band, and that is a good thing. They describe themselves as Post-Punk, but Gothic-Rock would make it for me too.

Door of Mercy has great guitars, a weeping sound and the vocals are nice: a bit like the young version of Siouxsie. The Red Robe is slower and the voice is highly pitched, just as if someone is having sex whilst worrying about the neighbours.

The Wolf feels like someone is telling us a story an keeps the music on low profiled. Victory sounds like screaming ladies in a cage match, at least in my head. Dogs carries on a nice vibe, but the short lyrics are a bit crazy. You wander what has happening in bed, or at least what is there to see. Sunrise With Seamonsters sounds a bit epic.

Mother is funny too, although it's more a cry for help of a daughter to her mother. Cold and The Perfect Dress are nice rock songs whilst At The Very Heart Of The Darkening Of The Light is more storytelling in a scary way. Another scary bedtime story is A Secret Ceremony, sung on a high tone. The Lit Light is the last track and you surely will wake up as the guitars are very sharp.

Not bad at all, however it took me a while before I could appreciate it. It's a good one, but a slow grower: so give it time and you'll love it more!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/12/2014


Music reviews

29
03
STRUCKTURA
Satues Also Die
27
03
PHALLUS DEI
Black Dawn
25
03
CYGNOSIC
Siren
24
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
(STILL) Heartless
23
03
PEINE PERDUE
Histoire d'une Âme
21
03
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO
Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
CUBANATE is back with ‘BRUTALISM'- a retrospective collection!
27
03
Steven Severin releases (a lot of) new work
26
03
DIVE (Dirk Ivens) releases brand new studio album 'Underneath'
24
03
115 bands announced for Wave Gotik Treffen
23
03
Alison Moyet announces new album “Other” (& tour)
22
03
Lokerse Feesten: 19 new bands announced!

Concert reviews

26
03
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017
Some minimal bands to check out !
21
03
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA
Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017
02
03
THIS MORN'OMINA, STIN SCATZOR, MIREXXX, NOIZE MACHINE
Dark Discharge Industrial Night - Roubaix - 25/02/2017
28
01
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT
Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
12
12
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER
Kinky Star - 9 december
11
12
KILLING JOKE
Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
03
ALVAR
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
27
03
X-MOUTH SYNDROME
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
24
03
ELM
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
22
03
31ST TILE
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate
21
03
CAUSENATION
2017 Dark Demo(n)s candidate

PHOTOS

19
03
COLD CAVE
Fantastique Night XLXI, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Fantastique Night XLXI, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
13
03
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
SUICIDE COMMANDO
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
13
03
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
DownHill XI Edition, Poppodium Volt, Sittard, The Netherlands
11
03
LEBANON HANOVER
BEURSSCHOUWBURG, Brussels, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
COVENANT
Sound Mirrors
29
03
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Conjure
28
03
GOOSE
Synrise
27
03
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
26
03
BLONDIE
Call Me
25
03
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
24
03
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg