tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/12/2014 : BABY FIRE - The Red Robe

BABY FIRE

The Red Robe

MusicCD
Gothic RockPost PunkPost Rock
Off-recordlabel
01/12/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Baby Fire started in January 2009 as Diabolita's solo project. Her first solo show was at the Ladyfest in Liège (Belgium) in May of that same year. She was joined by Cha on drums in January 2010 and within a few months they were opening for bands such as HRSTA (Canada), Part Chimp (UK) and CJ Boyd (US).

When I noticed that other artists and journalists liked them, I decided to grab a review copy. One of the most remarkable things about this CD is that I always get that feeling: is it already over? Yeah, the CD could be a bit longer, meaning it's a good one. There is more than enough variety on it to keep it interesting. Their sound seems to be their own and not a copy of another band, and that is a good thing. They describe themselves as Post-Punk, but Gothic-Rock would make it for me too.

Door of Mercy has great guitars, a weeping sound and the vocals are nice: a bit like the young version of Siouxsie. The Red Robe is slower and the voice is highly pitched, just as if someone is having sex whilst worrying about the neighbours.

The Wolf feels like someone is telling us a story an keeps the music on low profiled. Victory sounds like screaming ladies in a cage match, at least in my head. Dogs carries on a nice vibe, but the short lyrics are a bit crazy. You wander what has happening in bed, or at least what is there to see. Sunrise With Seamonsters sounds a bit epic.

Mother is funny too, although it's more a cry for help of a daughter to her mother. Cold and The Perfect Dress are nice rock songs whilst At The Very Heart Of The Darkening Of The Light is more storytelling in a scary way. Another scary bedtime story is A Secret Ceremony, sung on a high tone. The Lit Light is the last track and you surely will wake up as the guitars are very sharp.

Not bad at all, however it took me a while before I could appreciate it. It's a good one, but a slow grower: so give it time and you'll love it more!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/12/2014


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)