tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/12/2014 : BABY FIRE - The Red Robe

BABY FIRE

The Red Robe

MusicCD
Gothic RockPost PunkPost Rock
Off-recordlabel
01/12/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Baby Fire started in January 2009 as Diabolita's solo project. Her first solo show was at the Ladyfest in Liège (Belgium) in May of that same year. She was joined by Cha on drums in January 2010 and within a few months they were opening for bands such as HRSTA (Canada), Part Chimp (UK) and CJ Boyd (US).

When I noticed that other artists and journalists liked them, I decided to grab a review copy. One of the most remarkable things about this CD is that I always get that feeling: is it already over? Yeah, the CD could be a bit longer, meaning it's a good one. There is more than enough variety on it to keep it interesting. Their sound seems to be their own and not a copy of another band, and that is a good thing. They describe themselves as Post-Punk, but Gothic-Rock would make it for me too.

Door of Mercy has great guitars, a weeping sound and the vocals are nice: a bit like the young version of Siouxsie. The Red Robe is slower and the voice is highly pitched, just as if someone is having sex whilst worrying about the neighbours.

The Wolf feels like someone is telling us a story an keeps the music on low profiled. Victory sounds like screaming ladies in a cage match, at least in my head. Dogs carries on a nice vibe, but the short lyrics are a bit crazy. You wander what has happening in bed, or at least what is there to see. Sunrise With Seamonsters sounds a bit epic.

Mother is funny too, although it's more a cry for help of a daughter to her mother. Cold and The Perfect Dress are nice rock songs whilst At The Very Heart Of The Darkening Of The Light is more storytelling in a scary way. Another scary bedtime story is A Secret Ceremony, sung on a high tone. The Lit Light is the last track and you surely will wake up as the guitars are very sharp.

Not bad at all, however it took me a while before I could appreciate it. It's a good one, but a slow grower: so give it time and you'll love it more!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/12/2014


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos