tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/12/2014 : BABY FIRE - The Red Robe

BABY FIRE

The Red Robe

MusicCD
Gothic RockPost PunkPost Rock
Off-recordlabel
01/12/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Baby Fire started in January 2009 as Diabolita's solo project. Her first solo show was at the Ladyfest in Liège (Belgium) in May of that same year. She was joined by Cha on drums in January 2010 and within a few months they were opening for bands such as HRSTA (Canada), Part Chimp (UK) and CJ Boyd (US).

When I noticed that other artists and journalists liked them, I decided to grab a review copy. One of the most remarkable things about this CD is that I always get that feeling: is it already over? Yeah, the CD could be a bit longer, meaning it's a good one. There is more than enough variety on it to keep it interesting. Their sound seems to be their own and not a copy of another band, and that is a good thing. They describe themselves as Post-Punk, but Gothic-Rock would make it for me too.

Door of Mercy has great guitars, a weeping sound and the vocals are nice: a bit like the young version of Siouxsie. The Red Robe is slower and the voice is highly pitched, just as if someone is having sex whilst worrying about the neighbours.

The Wolf feels like someone is telling us a story an keeps the music on low profiled. Victory sounds like screaming ladies in a cage match, at least in my head. Dogs carries on a nice vibe, but the short lyrics are a bit crazy. You wander what has happening in bed, or at least what is there to see. Sunrise With Seamonsters sounds a bit epic.

Mother is funny too, although it's more a cry for help of a daughter to her mother. Cold and The Perfect Dress are nice rock songs whilst At The Very Heart Of The Darkening Of The Light is more storytelling in a scary way. Another scary bedtime story is A Secret Ceremony, sung on a high tone. The Lit Light is the last track and you surely will wake up as the guitars are very sharp.

Not bad at all, however it took me a while before I could appreciate it. It's a good one, but a slow grower: so give it time and you'll love it more!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/12/2014


Music reviews

16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!
12
01
Happy Birthday Rob Zombie! (56)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
10
01
DAVID BOWIE
Modern Love