tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/12/2014 : BABY FIRE - The Red Robe

BABY FIRE

The Red Robe

MusicCD
Gothic RockPost PunkPost Rock
Off-recordlabel
01/12/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Baby Fire started in January 2009 as Diabolita's solo project. Her first solo show was at the Ladyfest in Liège (Belgium) in May of that same year. She was joined by Cha on drums in January 2010 and within a few months they were opening for bands such as HRSTA (Canada), Part Chimp (UK) and CJ Boyd (US).

When I noticed that other artists and journalists liked them, I decided to grab a review copy. One of the most remarkable things about this CD is that I always get that feeling: is it already over? Yeah, the CD could be a bit longer, meaning it's a good one. There is more than enough variety on it to keep it interesting. Their sound seems to be their own and not a copy of another band, and that is a good thing. They describe themselves as Post-Punk, but Gothic-Rock would make it for me too.

Door of Mercy has great guitars, a weeping sound and the vocals are nice: a bit like the young version of Siouxsie. The Red Robe is slower and the voice is highly pitched, just as if someone is having sex whilst worrying about the neighbours.

The Wolf feels like someone is telling us a story an keeps the music on low profiled. Victory sounds like screaming ladies in a cage match, at least in my head. Dogs carries on a nice vibe, but the short lyrics are a bit crazy. You wander what has happening in bed, or at least what is there to see. Sunrise With Seamonsters sounds a bit epic.

Mother is funny too, although it's more a cry for help of a daughter to her mother. Cold and The Perfect Dress are nice rock songs whilst At The Very Heart Of The Darkening Of The Light is more storytelling in a scary way. Another scary bedtime story is A Secret Ceremony, sung on a high tone. The Lit Light is the last track and you surely will wake up as the guitars are very sharp.

Not bad at all, however it took me a while before I could appreciate it. It's a good one, but a slow grower: so give it time and you'll love it more!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/12/2014


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu