tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/07/2013 : BACKTRACK LANE - Black Truth & White Lies

BACKTRACK LANE

Black Truth & White Lies

MusicCD
GaragerockIndie RockMetalPost-MetalRockShoegaze

[91/100]   

Quart de Lune
17/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

As it's a brand new band for a lot of people i'll pass on their biography underneath, before starting the actual review:

Formed in January 2009, Backtrack Lane is a rock band conposed of two brotherhoods.

The band recorded an EP “It’s Not Like” during summer 2009. This EP is for sale online and was recommended on fnac.com in 2011.

In early 2010 Backtrack Lane won a contest for young bands named Fallenfest. After that, the band had the opportunities to play in a lot of great venues in France and abroad (Boule Noire, Trabendo, Elysée Montmartre, Batofar, Scène Bastille, festival interceltique de Lorient, Charlie Steewart in Irland). The band also performed some unplugged gigs.

During summer 2011 the band recorded and produced its first album “Black Truth & White Lies” at Fat Bros Production studio. On the track “ I Live Again” appears as a guest Eddy Santacreu from the australian band Koritni! The project was completed in 2012.
The group has been broadcasted several times on french radio (OUIFM on the show Bring The Noise), and regularly online (La Grosse Radio).

With the intro song they already state what they are standing for: great quality and lots of variation! From soft guitar to raging ones, heavy drums, sliding guitars, rock, metal... All very melodic and very well arranged and produced!

It's useful to say that they have a kind of nu retro sound (reads a bit weird, but I think that's the most correct way to describe them). Ok, they describe themselves as beiing influenced by Soundgarden, Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam,... I also think about Kid Rock, Nickelback and Red Hot Chili Peppers. 'Burn it' is indeed a fuelled song, straight, screaming (even with the hard on backing vocals). It could be the new Iron Maiden. Love the solo in the middle. 'Untie me' has a nice combination between the guitars and the drums. Love the energy in it, it feels more like everybody has already been untied. Nice shoegaze and nu metal, great vocals (o man, he can scream)! 'Ain't it enough' is a nice ballad, like Nickelback and Poison offers them (the emotions are really lived trough and honest)! Love the sliding guitar and the desperation in the vocals! 'Bad Stories' starts as a real nu metal song: hard and heavy, but polished. Love the grunting and screaming. Again lots of energy and powerfull vibe. The voice gets some kind of effect from time to time and here I can hear some Iron Maiden influences. Heading straightforward, great solo and great drummer! This could be one of those you hear on a one million dollar produced albums, so professional and so good.
'Excess' is following the same vibe, the voices melting together to make the vocals even stronger is simply great! A real tearjerker comes with 'Some memories remain', a typical nu mtal ballad. Once again we get the prove that they have a great singer and great musicians on board. For sure a sexy song with the typical Red Hot Chilli Peppers guitar sound is 'I live again (feat. Eddy Sant). The lyrics are a bit hot, but i think a lot of people will like this one. I hope it gets some airplay! Great retro sound, somehow a mix of all the best you can get, well mastered! 'Watch out' is a killersong! Again his masters voice behind the mic, killer guitars, great backings and a monster on the drums! This is the kind of songs which makes you want to see them on stage! 'Running away' plays in the same league as the previous one, with a bit more upfronted drums and some more breakdowns where we hear some pure singing. The breaks are killed by a yelling leadguitar and well worked out screaming. Real metal rules in this one! 'Hollywood Gonzo' is the last one, sadly as it feels like we can have more of this one! Once again we can hear how good his masters voice sings. The tempo is a bit lower than the previous songs, but too fast for a slow. Still a great song to end a great cd! Already hoping to see them one day on stage! Thumbs up and put your shoulder underneath this one!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Backtrack-Lane/143002764878?fref=ts

https://www.facebook.com/DominoMediaGroup?fref=ts

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/07/2013


 

Next reviews
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
OPPENHEIMER MKII • The Presence Of The Abnormal
TECHNOMANCER • System Failure
TZOLK'IN • The Sixth Sun
RASTABAN • Aurora
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline