tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/07/2013 : BACKTRACK LANE - Black Truth & White Lies

BACKTRACK LANE

Black Truth & White Lies

MusicCD
GaragerockIndie RockMetalPost-MetalRockShoegaze

[91/100]   

Quart de Lune
17/07/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

As it's a brand new band for a lot of people i'll pass on their biography underneath, before starting the actual review:

Formed in January 2009, Backtrack Lane is a rock band conposed of two brotherhoods.

The band recorded an EP “It’s Not Like” during summer 2009. This EP is for sale online and was recommended on fnac.com in 2011.

In early 2010 Backtrack Lane won a contest for young bands named Fallenfest. After that, the band had the opportunities to play in a lot of great venues in France and abroad (Boule Noire, Trabendo, Elysée Montmartre, Batofar, Scène Bastille, festival interceltique de Lorient, Charlie Steewart in Irland). The band also performed some unplugged gigs.

During summer 2011 the band recorded and produced its first album “Black Truth & White Lies” at Fat Bros Production studio. On the track “ I Live Again” appears as a guest Eddy Santacreu from the australian band Koritni! The project was completed in 2012.
The group has been broadcasted several times on french radio (OUIFM on the show Bring The Noise), and regularly online (La Grosse Radio).

With the intro song they already state what they are standing for: great quality and lots of variation! From soft guitar to raging ones, heavy drums, sliding guitars, rock, metal... All very melodic and very well arranged and produced!

It's useful to say that they have a kind of nu retro sound (reads a bit weird, but I think that's the most correct way to describe them). Ok, they describe themselves as beiing influenced by Soundgarden, Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam,... I also think about Kid Rock, Nickelback and Red Hot Chili Peppers. 'Burn it' is indeed a fuelled song, straight, screaming (even with the hard on backing vocals). It could be the new Iron Maiden. Love the solo in the middle. 'Untie me' has a nice combination between the guitars and the drums. Love the energy in it, it feels more like everybody has already been untied. Nice shoegaze and nu metal, great vocals (o man, he can scream)! 'Ain't it enough' is a nice ballad, like Nickelback and Poison offers them (the emotions are really lived trough and honest)! Love the sliding guitar and the desperation in the vocals! 'Bad Stories' starts as a real nu metal song: hard and heavy, but polished. Love the grunting and screaming. Again lots of energy and powerfull vibe. The voice gets some kind of effect from time to time and here I can hear some Iron Maiden influences. Heading straightforward, great solo and great drummer! This could be one of those you hear on a one million dollar produced albums, so professional and so good.
'Excess' is following the same vibe, the voices melting together to make the vocals even stronger is simply great! A real tearjerker comes with 'Some memories remain', a typical nu mtal ballad. Once again we get the prove that they have a great singer and great musicians on board. For sure a sexy song with the typical Red Hot Chilli Peppers guitar sound is 'I live again (feat. Eddy Sant). The lyrics are a bit hot, but i think a lot of people will like this one. I hope it gets some airplay! Great retro sound, somehow a mix of all the best you can get, well mastered! 'Watch out' is a killersong! Again his masters voice behind the mic, killer guitars, great backings and a monster on the drums! This is the kind of songs which makes you want to see them on stage! 'Running away' plays in the same league as the previous one, with a bit more upfronted drums and some more breakdowns where we hear some pure singing. The breaks are killed by a yelling leadguitar and well worked out screaming. Real metal rules in this one! 'Hollywood Gonzo' is the last one, sadly as it feels like we can have more of this one! Once again we can hear how good his masters voice sings. The tempo is a bit lower than the previous songs, but too fast for a slow. Still a great song to end a great cd! Already hoping to see them one day on stage! Thumbs up and put your shoulder underneath this one!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Backtrack-Lane/143002764878?fref=ts

https://www.facebook.com/DominoMediaGroup?fref=ts

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
17/07/2013


 

Next reviews
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
OPPENHEIMER MKII • The Presence Of The Abnormal
TECHNOMANCER • System Failure
TZOLK'IN • The Sixth Sun
RASTABAN • Aurora
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide