tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

BACKYARD FOLK CLUB

The Broken Spoon

MusicCD (EP)
CountryFolk

[78/100]   

#14 Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With such a band name, you probably think we’re talking about a folk band. And indeed, some songs are influenced by both folk and country. A bit like the soundtrack of The Broken Circle Breakdown or the Belgian folk band Laïs. The EP contains five songs, sung by two singers (Magali and Hélène) and accompanied by guitar, banjo, percussion and keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon sounds very traditional and is not really my cup of tea. All well done, but quite predictable. The highlight is Summer Heat, a more modern track, beautiful and melancholic. My Soul is another fine song that floats on the sound of an organ. Dear is catchy, but again it just sounds very familiar. My King has a flute theme and is a fun song.

Those who love folk and country or the aforementioned bands, definitely have to listen to this EP.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Met zo een bandnaam moet het wel om een folkband gaan. En inderdaad, we horen liedjes die folk en country als basis hebben. Een beetje zoals The Broken Circle Breakdown of Laïs. De ep van deze uit de Elzas afkomstige muzikanten bevat vijf liedjes. Ze worden gezongen door twee zangeressen (Magali en Hélène) en begeleid door gitaar, banjo, percussie en keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon klinkt heel traditioneel en is niet meteen mijn ding. Goed gedaan, maar vrij voorspelbaar. Hoogtepunt is Summer Heat, een track die eerder modern klinkt. Een mooie weidse en melancholische song. Ook My Soul is een fijne song die drijft op een orgeltje. Dear is catchy, maar klinkt mij heel bekend in de oren en ik herinner me niet van wie. My King heeft een fluitthema en is een leuke song.

Wie van folk en country houdt of van de genoemde bands, moet dit zeker eens beluisteren. Fijn ep-tje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon 09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall