tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

BACKYARD FOLK CLUB

The Broken Spoon

MusicCD (EP)
CountryFolk

[78/100]   

#14 Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With such a band name, you probably think we’re talking about a folk band. And indeed, some songs are influenced by both folk and country. A bit like the soundtrack of The Broken Circle Breakdown or the Belgian folk band Laïs. The EP contains five songs, sung by two singers (Magali and Hélène) and accompanied by guitar, banjo, percussion and keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon sounds very traditional and is not really my cup of tea. All well done, but quite predictable. The highlight is Summer Heat, a more modern track, beautiful and melancholic. My Soul is another fine song that floats on the sound of an organ. Dear is catchy, but again it just sounds very familiar. My King has a flute theme and is a fun song.

Those who love folk and country or the aforementioned bands, definitely have to listen to this EP.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Met zo een bandnaam moet het wel om een folkband gaan. En inderdaad, we horen liedjes die folk en country als basis hebben. Een beetje zoals The Broken Circle Breakdown of Laïs. De ep van deze uit de Elzas afkomstige muzikanten bevat vijf liedjes. Ze worden gezongen door twee zangeressen (Magali en Hélène) en begeleid door gitaar, banjo, percussie en keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon klinkt heel traditioneel en is niet meteen mijn ding. Goed gedaan, maar vrij voorspelbaar. Hoogtepunt is Summer Heat, een track die eerder modern klinkt. Een mooie weidse en melancholische song. Ook My Soul is een fijne song die drijft op een orgeltje. Dear is catchy, maar klinkt mij heel bekend in de oren en ik herinner me niet van wie. My King heeft een fluitthema en is een leuke song.

Wie van folk en country houdt of van de genoemde bands, moet dit zeker eens beluisteren. Fijn ep-tje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon 09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift