tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

BACKYARD FOLK CLUB

The Broken Spoon

MusicCD (EP)
CountryFolk

[78/100]   

#14 Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With such a band name, you probably think we’re talking about a folk band. And indeed, some songs are influenced by both folk and country. A bit like the soundtrack of The Broken Circle Breakdown or the Belgian folk band Laïs. The EP contains five songs, sung by two singers (Magali and Hélène) and accompanied by guitar, banjo, percussion and keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon sounds very traditional and is not really my cup of tea. All well done, but quite predictable. The highlight is Summer Heat, a more modern track, beautiful and melancholic. My Soul is another fine song that floats on the sound of an organ. Dear is catchy, but again it just sounds very familiar. My King has a flute theme and is a fun song.

Those who love folk and country or the aforementioned bands, definitely have to listen to this EP.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Met zo een bandnaam moet het wel om een folkband gaan. En inderdaad, we horen liedjes die folk en country als basis hebben. Een beetje zoals The Broken Circle Breakdown of Laïs. De ep van deze uit de Elzas afkomstige muzikanten bevat vijf liedjes. Ze worden gezongen door twee zangeressen (Magali en Hélène) en begeleid door gitaar, banjo, percussie en keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon klinkt heel traditioneel en is niet meteen mijn ding. Goed gedaan, maar vrij voorspelbaar. Hoogtepunt is Summer Heat, een track die eerder modern klinkt. Een mooie weidse en melancholische song. Ook My Soul is een fijne song die drijft op een orgeltje. Dear is catchy, maar klinkt mij heel bekend in de oren en ik herinner me niet van wie. My King heeft een fluitthema en is een leuke song.

Wie van folk en country houdt of van de genoemde bands, moet dit zeker eens beluisteren. Fijn ep-tje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon 09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles