tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

BACKYARD FOLK CLUB

The Broken Spoon

MusicCD (EP)
CountryFolk

[78/100]   

#14 Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With such a band name, you probably think we’re talking about a folk band. And indeed, some songs are influenced by both folk and country. A bit like the soundtrack of The Broken Circle Breakdown or the Belgian folk band Laïs. The EP contains five songs, sung by two singers (Magali and Hélène) and accompanied by guitar, banjo, percussion and keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon sounds very traditional and is not really my cup of tea. All well done, but quite predictable. The highlight is Summer Heat, a more modern track, beautiful and melancholic. My Soul is another fine song that floats on the sound of an organ. Dear is catchy, but again it just sounds very familiar. My King has a flute theme and is a fun song.

Those who love folk and country or the aforementioned bands, definitely have to listen to this EP.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Met zo een bandnaam moet het wel om een folkband gaan. En inderdaad, we horen liedjes die folk en country als basis hebben. Een beetje zoals The Broken Circle Breakdown of Laïs. De ep van deze uit de Elzas afkomstige muzikanten bevat vijf liedjes. Ze worden gezongen door twee zangeressen (Magali en Hélène) en begeleid door gitaar, banjo, percussie en keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon klinkt heel traditioneel en is niet meteen mijn ding. Goed gedaan, maar vrij voorspelbaar. Hoogtepunt is Summer Heat, een track die eerder modern klinkt. Een mooie weidse en melancholische song. Ook My Soul is een fijne song die drijft op een orgeltje. Dear is catchy, maar klinkt mij heel bekend in de oren en ik herinner me niet van wie. My King heeft een fluitthema en is een leuke song.

Wie van folk en country houdt of van de genoemde bands, moet dit zeker eens beluisteren. Fijn ep-tje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon 09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap