tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

BACKYARD FOLK CLUB

The Broken Spoon

MusicCD (EP)
CountryFolk

[78/100]   

#14 Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With such a band name, you probably think we’re talking about a folk band. And indeed, some songs are influenced by both folk and country. A bit like the soundtrack of The Broken Circle Breakdown or the Belgian folk band Laïs. The EP contains five songs, sung by two singers (Magali and Hélène) and accompanied by guitar, banjo, percussion and keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon sounds very traditional and is not really my cup of tea. All well done, but quite predictable. The highlight is Summer Heat, a more modern track, beautiful and melancholic. My Soul is another fine song that floats on the sound of an organ. Dear is catchy, but again it just sounds very familiar. My King has a flute theme and is a fun song.

Those who love folk and country or the aforementioned bands, definitely have to listen to this EP.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Met zo een bandnaam moet het wel om een folkband gaan. En inderdaad, we horen liedjes die folk en country als basis hebben. Een beetje zoals The Broken Circle Breakdown of Laïs. De ep van deze uit de Elzas afkomstige muzikanten bevat vijf liedjes. Ze worden gezongen door twee zangeressen (Magali en Hélène) en begeleid door gitaar, banjo, percussie en keys.

Opener The Broken Spoon klinkt heel traditioneel en is niet meteen mijn ding. Goed gedaan, maar vrij voorspelbaar. Hoogtepunt is Summer Heat, een track die eerder modern klinkt. Een mooie weidse en melancholische song. Ook My Soul is een fijne song die drijft op een orgeltje. Dear is catchy, maar klinkt mij heel bekend in de oren en ik herinner me niet van wie. My King heeft een fluitthema en is een leuke song.

Wie van folk en country houdt of van de genoemde bands, moet dit zeker eens beluisteren. Fijn ep-tje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon 09/12/2016 : BACKYARD FOLK CLUB - The Broken Spoon

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On