tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

04/05/2014 : BAK XIII - In Omnia Paratus-tour: Tournai-concert 02-05-2014

BAK XIII

In Omnia Paratus-tour: Tournai-concert 02-05-2014

Concert
EBM

[99/100]   
04/05/2014, Peter DOLPHEN

This is the story from a day that does not go as planned! If I would have followed the plan, I had arrived in Antwerp that night to go see a PNE and Portion Control concert.

During some work in the garden, I heard from my brother-in-law that BAK XIII was playing in Tournai as well. Very short notice, as the planned concert of BAK XIII in The Hague was cancelled and they quickly arranged an alternative. So change of plans: No PNE, but a concert of BAK XIII it would be.

Surprise was even bigger when we arrived at the venue: Cornwall. OK, I read something about a Celtic Pub kind of thing but expected a side-room with a stage or so: hell no! This concert was in the middle of the pub. You want to go to the toilet? Well, just get up the 'stage' first: the toilets are in the back! I believe 90% of the people in the pub didn't even know about the concert until about.... it started?

It started with a bang: Chant du Cygne and Happy as fuck, both from the last album In Omnia Paratus, set the place on fire. What followed was a rollercoaster of hard hitting EBM tracks, a pub going bonkers and a temperature almost reaching the melting point. It was a bubble which took us for a flight and exploded when lights went on. It was over? Already? Well, that 'already' was about 1h30 later when the first beat started... Time flies when you're having fun.

Concert ended at about 23:30 and with no clear idea of an afterparty, we expected to be home around midnight. WRONG again! I went up to Damian, presenting myself and asking for the playlist for this short review. We ended up sharing a table in the pub, and exploring the extensive (and extensive it is) choice of beers in the Cornwall. At the end, I kind of made a rendez-vous for the Amsterdam-gig of the next day, but the extensive beer-tasting resulted in an equal extensive hangover... No Amsterdam that was... Even today on sunday (2 days later), my voice is still completely fucked up. And it was worth every damn second.

A last twist in my mind: why was there no promotion for this night? Why did I only hear about this the same day? And immediately I countered myself: don't mind about that: if there was 50 people more, it wouldn't have been that great atmosphere. Damn I love surprise-concerts!

Setlist:

Le chant du Sygne (In Omnia Paratus)
Happy as fuck (In Omnia Paratus)
Oh no! (In Omnia Paratus)
Where's the party? (Ultima Ratio Regum)
Where's my joy? (Ibi Deficit Orbis)
80's are back forever (In Cauda Venenum)
Weak (Morituri Te Salutant)
Tant mieux (Tant Mieux EP)
The hard way (In Omnia Paratus)
Vanguard (Ibi Deficit Orbis)
Vanguard 2 (Ace of spades 7")
We are alive (Ibi Deficit Orbis)
Body religion (Ultima Ratio Regum)
Until the end (Until the end EP)
Radio star (In Omnia Paratus)
Petit agité (Bérurier Noir cover) (Unreleased)
Ace of spades (Motorhead cover) (Ace of spades 7")
Headbanger (In Omnia Paratus)
Open the borders (Ultima Ratio Regum)
 

Peter DOLPHEN
04/05/2014


Music reviews

08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac
13
07
HER OWN WORLD
A Different Kind Of Reality

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence