tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

04/05/2014 : BAK XIII - In Omnia Paratus-tour: Tournai-concert 02-05-2014

BAK XIII

In Omnia Paratus-tour: Tournai-concert 02-05-2014

Concert
EBM

[99/100]   
04/05/2014, Peter DOLPHEN

This is the story from a day that does not go as planned! If I would have followed the plan, I had arrived in Antwerp that night to go see a PNE and Portion Control concert.

During some work in the garden, I heard from my brother-in-law that BAK XIII was playing in Tournai as well. Very short notice, as the planned concert of BAK XIII in The Hague was cancelled and they quickly arranged an alternative. So change of plans: No PNE, but a concert of BAK XIII it would be.

Surprise was even bigger when we arrived at the venue: Cornwall. OK, I read something about a Celtic Pub kind of thing but expected a side-room with a stage or so: hell no! This concert was in the middle of the pub. You want to go to the toilet? Well, just get up the 'stage' first: the toilets are in the back! I believe 90% of the people in the pub didn't even know about the concert until about.... it started?

It started with a bang: Chant du Cygne and Happy as fuck, both from the last album In Omnia Paratus, set the place on fire. What followed was a rollercoaster of hard hitting EBM tracks, a pub going bonkers and a temperature almost reaching the melting point. It was a bubble which took us for a flight and exploded when lights went on. It was over? Already? Well, that 'already' was about 1h30 later when the first beat started... Time flies when you're having fun.

Concert ended at about 23:30 and with no clear idea of an afterparty, we expected to be home around midnight. WRONG again! I went up to Damian, presenting myself and asking for the playlist for this short review. We ended up sharing a table in the pub, and exploring the extensive (and extensive it is) choice of beers in the Cornwall. At the end, I kind of made a rendez-vous for the Amsterdam-gig of the next day, but the extensive beer-tasting resulted in an equal extensive hangover... No Amsterdam that was... Even today on sunday (2 days later), my voice is still completely fucked up. And it was worth every damn second.

A last twist in my mind: why was there no promotion for this night? Why did I only hear about this the same day? And immediately I countered myself: don't mind about that: if there was 50 people more, it wouldn't have been that great atmosphere. Damn I love surprise-concerts!

Setlist:

Le chant du Sygne (In Omnia Paratus)
Happy as fuck (In Omnia Paratus)
Oh no! (In Omnia Paratus)
Where's the party? (Ultima Ratio Regum)
Where's my joy? (Ibi Deficit Orbis)
80's are back forever (In Cauda Venenum)
Weak (Morituri Te Salutant)
Tant mieux (Tant Mieux EP)
The hard way (In Omnia Paratus)
Vanguard (Ibi Deficit Orbis)
Vanguard 2 (Ace of spades 7")
We are alive (Ibi Deficit Orbis)
Body religion (Ultima Ratio Regum)
Until the end (Until the end EP)
Radio star (In Omnia Paratus)
Petit agité (Bérurier Noir cover) (Unreleased)
Ace of spades (Motorhead cover) (Ace of spades 7")
Headbanger (In Omnia Paratus)
Open the borders (Ultima Ratio Regum)
 

Peter DOLPHEN
04/05/2014


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On