tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

04/05/2014 : BAK XIII - In Omnia Paratus-tour: Tournai-concert 02-05-2014

BAK XIII

In Omnia Paratus-tour: Tournai-concert 02-05-2014

Concert
EBM

[99/100]   
04/05/2014, Peter DOLPHEN

This is the story from a day that does not go as planned! If I would have followed the plan, I had arrived in Antwerp that night to go see a PNE and Portion Control concert.

During some work in the garden, I heard from my brother-in-law that BAK XIII was playing in Tournai as well. Very short notice, as the planned concert of BAK XIII in The Hague was cancelled and they quickly arranged an alternative. So change of plans: No PNE, but a concert of BAK XIII it would be.

Surprise was even bigger when we arrived at the venue: Cornwall. OK, I read something about a Celtic Pub kind of thing but expected a side-room with a stage or so: hell no! This concert was in the middle of the pub. You want to go to the toilet? Well, just get up the 'stage' first: the toilets are in the back! I believe 90% of the people in the pub didn't even know about the concert until about.... it started?

It started with a bang: Chant du Cygne and Happy as fuck, both from the last album In Omnia Paratus, set the place on fire. What followed was a rollercoaster of hard hitting EBM tracks, a pub going bonkers and a temperature almost reaching the melting point. It was a bubble which took us for a flight and exploded when lights went on. It was over? Already? Well, that 'already' was about 1h30 later when the first beat started... Time flies when you're having fun.

Concert ended at about 23:30 and with no clear idea of an afterparty, we expected to be home around midnight. WRONG again! I went up to Damian, presenting myself and asking for the playlist for this short review. We ended up sharing a table in the pub, and exploring the extensive (and extensive it is) choice of beers in the Cornwall. At the end, I kind of made a rendez-vous for the Amsterdam-gig of the next day, but the extensive beer-tasting resulted in an equal extensive hangover... No Amsterdam that was... Even today on sunday (2 days later), my voice is still completely fucked up. And it was worth every damn second.

A last twist in my mind: why was there no promotion for this night? Why did I only hear about this the same day? And immediately I countered myself: don't mind about that: if there was 50 people more, it wouldn't have been that great atmosphere. Damn I love surprise-concerts!

Setlist:

Le chant du Sygne (In Omnia Paratus)
Happy as fuck (In Omnia Paratus)
Oh no! (In Omnia Paratus)
Where's the party? (Ultima Ratio Regum)
Where's my joy? (Ibi Deficit Orbis)
80's are back forever (In Cauda Venenum)
Weak (Morituri Te Salutant)
Tant mieux (Tant Mieux EP)
The hard way (In Omnia Paratus)
Vanguard (Ibi Deficit Orbis)
Vanguard 2 (Ace of spades 7")
We are alive (Ibi Deficit Orbis)
Body religion (Ultima Ratio Regum)
Until the end (Until the end EP)
Radio star (In Omnia Paratus)
Petit agité (Bérurier Noir cover) (Unreleased)
Ace of spades (Motorhead cover) (Ace of spades 7")
Headbanger (In Omnia Paratus)
Open the borders (Ultima Ratio Regum)
 

Peter DOLPHEN
04/05/2014


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders