tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/12/2015 : BARONESS - Purple

BARONESS

Purple

MusicCD
Metalsludge

[85/100]   
17/12/2015, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

After blue, red, green and yellow, Baroness chooses purple this time. Yes, Baroness has a new album out: Purple. Once again John Baizley created the distinctive artwork of the album. But let's talk about the music! Purple is a remarkably upbeat, cheerful, melodic and almost poppy album. But do not panic, you’ll find plenty of tough riffs here. Purple is a nice blend of classic rock and metal influences, with an accessible and exciting sound.

After the heavy crash with their tour bus, with material damage only, you might expect them to come up with a rather dark album, but John Baizley (vocals and guitar) and Pete Adams (vocals and guitars) chose no to do so. Purple sounds up tempo, melodic and aggressive. And yes, it seems like Baroness has succeeded!

You won’t wake up in a peaceful way with opener Morningstar. It feels like little children who wake you up too early, while you’re still walking around in dreamland. Purple is Baroness’ fourth album and the opening song is an absolute stunner. The track is briefly introduced by distorted guitars, joined by some drums and at full speed ahead! A delicious explosion with some impressive vocals, and believe us: you’re awake!

Shock Me is a lesser shock than the title suggests. It is intense straightforward power rock in the typical Baroness-style, but with a poppy touch, and a fine guitar solo in the middle.

Try to Disappear also sounds pretty poppy, but in some way the song has more to offer than Shock Me. A danceable rhythm that is combined with strong vocals, great guitar work and the typical heavy drums. What a great song!

Kerosene is an instant favorite, an energetic song, with warm, harmonious vocals combined with some ragging guitars and clean solos.

The instrumental song Fugue was created by pure coincidence. It’s the oasis of this album. It does not move the earth, it’s just good.

Chlorine & Wine is the first song on Purple that can be labelled as a slow compositiuon. The song opens with atmospheric keyboards; later acoustic guitars take over, joined by electric guitars, and the song evolves to mid-tempo. Tight drums, great vocals and later the keyboards return (albeit discreetly). It is a song in which you discover a lot, it truly is the masterpiece of the album!

With On The Iron Bell Baroness goes full speed ahead, using the ingredients of Yellow & Green, but on Purple it sounds more refined and once again melodious.

Desperation Burns is the kind of power rock that Metallica unfortunately never will make again. The question remains whether Baroness should have. The answer is yes, simply because this is strong stuff!

If I Have To Wake Up (You Stop The Rain) is a song you would never expect on Blue Record or Red Album, but this lingering song perfectly fits on Purple. It is not the strongest Baroness song ever, just a very good one and a nice ending. Well, there still is Crossroads To Infinty, but with sixteen seconds, I guess that’s more a segue.

Purple is a powerful, melodic, almost poppy, compact rock album. As said before, the album includes many riffs and sheer power, making Purple really rock. It’s the best of both worlds. Producer Dave Fridman (The Flaming Lips, Sleater-Kinney) did a splendid job and as a result you hear Baroness in all its glory! Up to the next album as there are still plenty of colours to explore!

The best songs on Purple are: Kerosene, The Iron Bell, Try To Disappear, Morningstar and the sublime Chlorine & Wine.

Mark VAN MULLEM
17/12/2015


NL

Na blauw, rood, groen en geel, kiest Baroness deze keer purper uit het kleurenpalet. Jawel, Baroness heeft een nieuw album uit: Purple. John Baizley tekende opnieuw voor het karakteristieke artwork van het album. Maar laten we het maar meteen over de muziek hebben! Purple is een opvallend uptempo, opgewekt, melodieus en bijna poppy album geworden. Maar geen paniek, aan stoere, vette riffs is er geen gebrek. Purple is tevens een mooie mix met invloeden uit klassieke rock en metal, zowel toegankelijk als spannend.

Na de zware crash met hun toerbus (ze kwamen er met de schrik van af), zou je eerder een donker album verwachten. Maar dat wilden John Baizley (zang en gitaren) en Pete Adams (zang en gitaren) nou net niet. Purple zou uptempo, melodieus, maar toch agressief klinken. En jawel, het lijkt er sterk op dat Baroness in dat opzet is geslaagd.

Met Morningstar is het geen rustig ontwaken. Het lijkt wel alsof kleine kinderen je veel te vroeg wekken terwijl je nog voluit in dromenland vertoeft. Purple is alweer het vierde album en opent met een absolute knaller. Het nummer wordt kort ingeleid door vervormde gitaarklanken, gev olgd door wat drums en meteen gaat het volle kracht vooruit: gaan met die banaan! Een (h)eerlijke explosie met straffe vocals; wakker ben je alleszins!

Shock Me is veel minder een schok dan de titel laat vermoeden. Het is wel hevige rechttoe rechtaan powerrock à la Baroness, maar met een poppy inslag en een fijne gitaarsolo in het middenstuk.

Try to Disappear klinkt tevens behoorlijk toegankelijk, en ofschoon ik ook hier de term poppy zou durven gebruiken, heeft de song toch iets meer in huis dan zijn voorganger. Een enorm aanstekelijk dansbaar ritme dat wordt gecombineerd met krachtige vocals, overheerlijk gitaarwerk en de typerende zware drums. Lekker nummer!

Kerosene is een instant favoriet. Een enorm vinnige track, met een lekkere vaart. Opnieuw hoor je dat volle geluid: erg warme volle harmonieuze vocals met een zalige mix van raggende gitaren en cleane solo’s.

Het instrumentale nummer Fugue zou naar verluidt min of meer 'per ongeluk' ontstaan zijn en het vormt een rustpunt op dit album. Niets wereldschokkend, gewoon goed.

Chlorine & Wine is de eerste echt trage song op Purple. Het nummer opent met sfeervolle keyboards, waarna de akoestische gitaren het overnemen. De elektrische gitaren worden vetter aangezet en zo evolueert de song van een slepend nummer naar midtempo. Strakke drums, knappe vocals en er wordt fraai gesoleerd. De keyboards komen (weliswaar discreet) ook verderop in de song terug. Wat een kathedraal van song is dit, echt het vlaggenschip van Purple, waarin veel te ontdekken is.

Met The Iron Bell is het opnieuw volle gas vooruit. Je hoort de bekende Baroness-ingredienten van Yellow & Green, maar op Purple is het verfijnder en wederom enorm melodieus gebracht.

Desperation Burns is het soort powerrocksong dat Metallica helaas nooit meer zal maken. De vraag is of Baroness dat dan had moeten doen? Toch wel, dit is sterk materiaal!

If I Have To Wake Up (You Stop The Rain) is een song die je nooit op Blue Record of Red Album zou verwachten, maar deze slepende song past perfect in het Purple-scenario. Het is niet meteen de sterkste Baroness-song ooit, gewoon een heel goede en een mooie afsluiter. Goed, je hebt ook nog Crossroads To Infinty, maar dat is met zijn zestien seconden meer een segue dan een nummer. 

Met Purple heeft Baroness een stevig, melodieus, bijna poppy, compact rockalbum gemaakt. Aan riffs en pure power is er geen gebrek en de plaat rockt als de beesten. The best of both worlds. De puike productie van Dave Fridman (The Flaming Lips, Sleater-Kinney) laat de band in zijn volle glorie horen. Op naar het volgende Baroness-album! Aan kleuren is er vooralsnog geen gebrek.

De beste songs op Purple: KeroseneThe Iron BellTry To Disappear en Morningstar zijn gaaf, Chlorine & Wine is subliem.

Mark VAN MULLEM
17/12/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine