tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/12/2015 : BARONESS - Purple

BARONESS

Purple

MusicCD
Metalsludge

[85/100]   
17/12/2015, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

After blue, red, green and yellow, Baroness chooses purple this time. Yes, Baroness has a new album out: Purple. Once again John Baizley created the distinctive artwork of the album. But let's talk about the music! Purple is a remarkably upbeat, cheerful, melodic and almost poppy album. But do not panic, you’ll find plenty of tough riffs here. Purple is a nice blend of classic rock and metal influences, with an accessible and exciting sound.

After the heavy crash with their tour bus, with material damage only, you might expect them to come up with a rather dark album, but John Baizley (vocals and guitar) and Pete Adams (vocals and guitars) chose no to do so. Purple sounds up tempo, melodic and aggressive. And yes, it seems like Baroness has succeeded!

You won’t wake up in a peaceful way with opener Morningstar. It feels like little children who wake you up too early, while you’re still walking around in dreamland. Purple is Baroness’ fourth album and the opening song is an absolute stunner. The track is briefly introduced by distorted guitars, joined by some drums and at full speed ahead! A delicious explosion with some impressive vocals, and believe us: you’re awake!

Shock Me is a lesser shock than the title suggests. It is intense straightforward power rock in the typical Baroness-style, but with a poppy touch, and a fine guitar solo in the middle.

Try to Disappear also sounds pretty poppy, but in some way the song has more to offer than Shock Me. A danceable rhythm that is combined with strong vocals, great guitar work and the typical heavy drums. What a great song!

Kerosene is an instant favorite, an energetic song, with warm, harmonious vocals combined with some ragging guitars and clean solos.

The instrumental song Fugue was created by pure coincidence. It’s the oasis of this album. It does not move the earth, it’s just good.

Chlorine & Wine is the first song on Purple that can be labelled as a slow compositiuon. The song opens with atmospheric keyboards; later acoustic guitars take over, joined by electric guitars, and the song evolves to mid-tempo. Tight drums, great vocals and later the keyboards return (albeit discreetly). It is a song in which you discover a lot, it truly is the masterpiece of the album!

With On The Iron Bell Baroness goes full speed ahead, using the ingredients of Yellow & Green, but on Purple it sounds more refined and once again melodious.

Desperation Burns is the kind of power rock that Metallica unfortunately never will make again. The question remains whether Baroness should have. The answer is yes, simply because this is strong stuff!

If I Have To Wake Up (You Stop The Rain) is a song you would never expect on Blue Record or Red Album, but this lingering song perfectly fits on Purple. It is not the strongest Baroness song ever, just a very good one and a nice ending. Well, there still is Crossroads To Infinty, but with sixteen seconds, I guess that’s more a segue.

Purple is a powerful, melodic, almost poppy, compact rock album. As said before, the album includes many riffs and sheer power, making Purple really rock. It’s the best of both worlds. Producer Dave Fridman (The Flaming Lips, Sleater-Kinney) did a splendid job and as a result you hear Baroness in all its glory! Up to the next album as there are still plenty of colours to explore!

The best songs on Purple are: Kerosene, The Iron Bell, Try To Disappear, Morningstar and the sublime Chlorine & Wine.

Mark VAN MULLEM
17/12/2015


NL

Na blauw, rood, groen en geel, kiest Baroness deze keer purper uit het kleurenpalet. Jawel, Baroness heeft een nieuw album uit: Purple. John Baizley tekende opnieuw voor het karakteristieke artwork van het album. Maar laten we het maar meteen over de muziek hebben! Purple is een opvallend uptempo, opgewekt, melodieus en bijna poppy album geworden. Maar geen paniek, aan stoere, vette riffs is er geen gebrek. Purple is tevens een mooie mix met invloeden uit klassieke rock en metal, zowel toegankelijk als spannend.

Na de zware crash met hun toerbus (ze kwamen er met de schrik van af), zou je eerder een donker album verwachten. Maar dat wilden John Baizley (zang en gitaren) en Pete Adams (zang en gitaren) nou net niet. Purple zou uptempo, melodieus, maar toch agressief klinken. En jawel, het lijkt er sterk op dat Baroness in dat opzet is geslaagd.

Met Morningstar is het geen rustig ontwaken. Het lijkt wel alsof kleine kinderen je veel te vroeg wekken terwijl je nog voluit in dromenland vertoeft. Purple is alweer het vierde album en opent met een absolute knaller. Het nummer wordt kort ingeleid door vervormde gitaarklanken, gev olgd door wat drums en meteen gaat het volle kracht vooruit: gaan met die banaan! Een (h)eerlijke explosie met straffe vocals; wakker ben je alleszins!

Shock Me is veel minder een schok dan de titel laat vermoeden. Het is wel hevige rechttoe rechtaan powerrock à la Baroness, maar met een poppy inslag en een fijne gitaarsolo in het middenstuk.

Try to Disappear klinkt tevens behoorlijk toegankelijk, en ofschoon ik ook hier de term poppy zou durven gebruiken, heeft de song toch iets meer in huis dan zijn voorganger. Een enorm aanstekelijk dansbaar ritme dat wordt gecombineerd met krachtige vocals, overheerlijk gitaarwerk en de typerende zware drums. Lekker nummer!

Kerosene is een instant favoriet. Een enorm vinnige track, met een lekkere vaart. Opnieuw hoor je dat volle geluid: erg warme volle harmonieuze vocals met een zalige mix van raggende gitaren en cleane solo’s.

Het instrumentale nummer Fugue zou naar verluidt min of meer 'per ongeluk' ontstaan zijn en het vormt een rustpunt op dit album. Niets wereldschokkend, gewoon goed.

Chlorine & Wine is de eerste echt trage song op Purple. Het nummer opent met sfeervolle keyboards, waarna de akoestische gitaren het overnemen. De elektrische gitaren worden vetter aangezet en zo evolueert de song van een slepend nummer naar midtempo. Strakke drums, knappe vocals en er wordt fraai gesoleerd. De keyboards komen (weliswaar discreet) ook verderop in de song terug. Wat een kathedraal van song is dit, echt het vlaggenschip van Purple, waarin veel te ontdekken is.

Met The Iron Bell is het opnieuw volle gas vooruit. Je hoort de bekende Baroness-ingredienten van Yellow & Green, maar op Purple is het verfijnder en wederom enorm melodieus gebracht.

Desperation Burns is het soort powerrocksong dat Metallica helaas nooit meer zal maken. De vraag is of Baroness dat dan had moeten doen? Toch wel, dit is sterk materiaal!

If I Have To Wake Up (You Stop The Rain) is een song die je nooit op Blue Record of Red Album zou verwachten, maar deze slepende song past perfect in het Purple-scenario. Het is niet meteen de sterkste Baroness-song ooit, gewoon een heel goede en een mooie afsluiter. Goed, je hebt ook nog Crossroads To Infinty, maar dat is met zijn zestien seconden meer een segue dan een nummer. 

Met Purple heeft Baroness een stevig, melodieus, bijna poppy, compact rockalbum gemaakt. Aan riffs en pure power is er geen gebrek en de plaat rockt als de beesten. The best of both worlds. De puike productie van Dave Fridman (The Flaming Lips, Sleater-Kinney) laat de band in zijn volle glorie horen. Op naar het volgende Baroness-album! Aan kleuren is er vooralsnog geen gebrek.

De beste songs op Purple: KeroseneThe Iron BellTry To Disappear en Morningstar zijn gaaf, Chlorine & Wine is subliem.

Mark VAN MULLEM
17/12/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl