tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/06/2014 : BATTLEAXE - Heavy Metal Sanctuary

BATTLEAXE

Heavy Metal Sanctuary

MusicCD
Hard RockHeavy Metal

[90/100]   

SPV
04/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since reforming in 2010, Battleaxe has been busy picking up from where they left off in the 1980's. The first sentence is very important to keep in mind whilst listening to the whole album: I felt a clear flashback with influences from great bands as for example Iron Maiden!

No better track than 'Heavy Metal Sanctuary' to illustrate that! It even sounds a bit like 'Be quick or be Dead'! It's without any doubt great stuff! Top vocals, hammering drums, slicing guitars, powerful backings... It has it all at a speeded up tempo! 'Shock and Awe' sounds like real heavy metal should sound like and at some point it reminds me of the metal tracks that Iggy Pop produced on his album mixed with some ACDC!

'Hail to the King' starts almost the same way as 'Welcome to the jungle' from Guns'n Roses and changes into the old school version of The Scorpions. I'm not a fans of guitars showing off, so fans of this get some halfway the track! 'Rebel with a Cause' is a great title for an enraged song as this one! It's a great idea to add the backings the way they did it, just as the few moments with an effect on the main vocals! This one awakens a lot of fantasy! The tempo is just perfect, it's a bomb track!

'Give it More' rocks on whilst 'Too Hot For Hell' gets a very catchy chorus! This one sounds really perfect for the upcoming gigs! I just miss the sound of a whip (as you hear sometimes on a Manowar track). 'Revolution' sounds a bit like the classic track 'Breaking the law' (Judas Priest with Iron Maiden minded vocals). It's a nasty rocker with good lyrics (it shows they came out of their cave and caught up with what's happing in the world of 2014). I appreciate the sliding guitars and hammering drums very much! 'A Prelude To Battle / The Legions Unite' has a warm sound and it's great to hear the guitar and the bass bump through my headphones! Lyrically it reminds me a bit of Manowar, but the fans know better! The story continues with 'Spirits of the Fallen'. I associate this one more with the musketeers, but that is my private fantasy! This track is perfectly mixed, making it hard to stand still! Rock on, my friends! Arms in the air!

'Devil Calls' sounds like a great start of the live show. Bass and guitar please my ears! It has a catchy chorus! 'Kingdom Come' starts like a typical ballad and appears to be indeed a metal minded ballad. It's very smart not to overproduce this one, so well done! Put your lighters in the air if it happens they play this one on stage! 'Romeo' gets superb backings, it's the kind of track where you can almost smell the fire or the gasoline! Do you see the fireworks? This one must be an excellent track to end a gig with (just listen to the lyrics too). A perfect end for a jewel as this one! I've rocked my roll! Hell yeah!

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/06/2014

youtu.be/BNLEFyRXSsU

 

Next reviews
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
4TH DIMENSION • Dispelling The Veil Of Illusions
PABLO TRAPERO • Carancho
STEPHEN SOMMERS • Odd Thomas
DOLLS OF PAIN • Dolls of Pain + A7IE @ Le Viziteur (Lille, France)
MIXE1 • Starlit Skin
HERZPARASIT • Gifttherapie
REPTYLE • Night And The River
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
REASON • Halcyon Days

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
HARMORAGE • Psychico Corrosif
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
STATES AND EMPIRES • Freedom
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic
SYSTEM OVERTHROW • System Overthrow

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)