tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/06/2014 : BATTLEAXE - Heavy Metal Sanctuary

BATTLEAXE

Heavy Metal Sanctuary

MusicCD
Hard RockHeavy Metal

[90/100]   

SPV
04/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since reforming in 2010, Battleaxe has been busy picking up from where they left off in the 1980's. The first sentence is very important to keep in mind whilst listening to the whole album: I felt a clear flashback with influences from great bands as for example Iron Maiden!

No better track than 'Heavy Metal Sanctuary' to illustrate that! It even sounds a bit like 'Be quick or be Dead'! It's without any doubt great stuff! Top vocals, hammering drums, slicing guitars, powerful backings... It has it all at a speeded up tempo! 'Shock and Awe' sounds like real heavy metal should sound like and at some point it reminds me of the metal tracks that Iggy Pop produced on his album mixed with some ACDC!

'Hail to the King' starts almost the same way as 'Welcome to the jungle' from Guns'n Roses and changes into the old school version of The Scorpions. I'm not a fans of guitars showing off, so fans of this get some halfway the track! 'Rebel with a Cause' is a great title for an enraged song as this one! It's a great idea to add the backings the way they did it, just as the few moments with an effect on the main vocals! This one awakens a lot of fantasy! The tempo is just perfect, it's a bomb track!

'Give it More' rocks on whilst 'Too Hot For Hell' gets a very catchy chorus! This one sounds really perfect for the upcoming gigs! I just miss the sound of a whip (as you hear sometimes on a Manowar track). 'Revolution' sounds a bit like the classic track 'Breaking the law' (Judas Priest with Iron Maiden minded vocals). It's a nasty rocker with good lyrics (it shows they came out of their cave and caught up with what's happing in the world of 2014). I appreciate the sliding guitars and hammering drums very much! 'A Prelude To Battle / The Legions Unite' has a warm sound and it's great to hear the guitar and the bass bump through my headphones! Lyrically it reminds me a bit of Manowar, but the fans know better! The story continues with 'Spirits of the Fallen'. I associate this one more with the musketeers, but that is my private fantasy! This track is perfectly mixed, making it hard to stand still! Rock on, my friends! Arms in the air!

'Devil Calls' sounds like a great start of the live show. Bass and guitar please my ears! It has a catchy chorus! 'Kingdom Come' starts like a typical ballad and appears to be indeed a metal minded ballad. It's very smart not to overproduce this one, so well done! Put your lighters in the air if it happens they play this one on stage! 'Romeo' gets superb backings, it's the kind of track where you can almost smell the fire or the gasoline! Do you see the fireworks? This one must be an excellent track to end a gig with (just listen to the lyrics too). A perfect end for a jewel as this one! I've rocked my roll! Hell yeah!

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/06/2014

youtu.be/BNLEFyRXSsU

 

Next reviews
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
4TH DIMENSION • Dispelling The Veil Of Illusions
PABLO TRAPERO • Carancho
STEPHEN SOMMERS • Odd Thomas
DOLLS OF PAIN • Dolls of Pain + A7IE @ Le Viziteur (Lille, France)
MIXE1 • Starlit Skin
HERZPARASIT • Gifttherapie
REPTYLE • Night And The River
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
REASON • Halcyon Days

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
HARMORAGE • Psychico Corrosif
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
STATES AND EMPIRES • Freedom
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic
SYSTEM OVERTHROW • System Overthrow

Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses