tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/06/2014 : BATTLEAXE - Heavy Metal Sanctuary

BATTLEAXE

Heavy Metal Sanctuary

MusicCD
Hard RockHeavy Metal

[90/100]   

SPV
04/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since reforming in 2010, Battleaxe has been busy picking up from where they left off in the 1980's. The first sentence is very important to keep in mind whilst listening to the whole album: I felt a clear flashback with influences from great bands as for example Iron Maiden!

No better track than 'Heavy Metal Sanctuary' to illustrate that! It even sounds a bit like 'Be quick or be Dead'! It's without any doubt great stuff! Top vocals, hammering drums, slicing guitars, powerful backings... It has it all at a speeded up tempo! 'Shock and Awe' sounds like real heavy metal should sound like and at some point it reminds me of the metal tracks that Iggy Pop produced on his album mixed with some ACDC!

'Hail to the King' starts almost the same way as 'Welcome to the jungle' from Guns'n Roses and changes into the old school version of The Scorpions. I'm not a fans of guitars showing off, so fans of this get some halfway the track! 'Rebel with a Cause' is a great title for an enraged song as this one! It's a great idea to add the backings the way they did it, just as the few moments with an effect on the main vocals! This one awakens a lot of fantasy! The tempo is just perfect, it's a bomb track!

'Give it More' rocks on whilst 'Too Hot For Hell' gets a very catchy chorus! This one sounds really perfect for the upcoming gigs! I just miss the sound of a whip (as you hear sometimes on a Manowar track). 'Revolution' sounds a bit like the classic track 'Breaking the law' (Judas Priest with Iron Maiden minded vocals). It's a nasty rocker with good lyrics (it shows they came out of their cave and caught up with what's happing in the world of 2014). I appreciate the sliding guitars and hammering drums very much! 'A Prelude To Battle / The Legions Unite' has a warm sound and it's great to hear the guitar and the bass bump through my headphones! Lyrically it reminds me a bit of Manowar, but the fans know better! The story continues with 'Spirits of the Fallen'. I associate this one more with the musketeers, but that is my private fantasy! This track is perfectly mixed, making it hard to stand still! Rock on, my friends! Arms in the air!

'Devil Calls' sounds like a great start of the live show. Bass and guitar please my ears! It has a catchy chorus! 'Kingdom Come' starts like a typical ballad and appears to be indeed a metal minded ballad. It's very smart not to overproduce this one, so well done! Put your lighters in the air if it happens they play this one on stage! 'Romeo' gets superb backings, it's the kind of track where you can almost smell the fire or the gasoline! Do you see the fireworks? This one must be an excellent track to end a gig with (just listen to the lyrics too). A perfect end for a jewel as this one! I've rocked my roll! Hell yeah!

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/06/2014

youtu.be/BNLEFyRXSsU

 

Next reviews
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
4TH DIMENSION • Dispelling The Veil Of Illusions
PABLO TRAPERO • Carancho
STEPHEN SOMMERS • Odd Thomas
DOLLS OF PAIN • Dolls of Pain + A7IE @ Le Viziteur (Lille, France)
MIXE1 • Starlit Skin
HERZPARASIT • Gifttherapie
REPTYLE • Night And The River
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
REASON • Halcyon Days

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
HARMORAGE • Psychico Corrosif
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
STATES AND EMPIRES • Freedom
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic
SYSTEM OVERTHROW • System Overthrow

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body