tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

12/11/2018 : BEAUTY IN CHAOS - Finding Beauty In Chaos

BEAUTY IN CHAOS

Finding Beauty In Chaos

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockGothic RockShoegaze

[75/100]   

33.3 Music Collective
12/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

The most appropriately entitled album has come my way, “Finding Beauty In Chaos” by Beauty In Chaos, I do say appropriate for two reasons, Beauty In Chaos is a great band-name but there is a raw beauty in the music produced here, also I have just discovered them and found that beauty in the distorted chaos.

After all that, because I like it will others?

Very much so is the simple answer, it is an atomic bomb of an album, relentless power from start to finish, there is even a stunning reworking of the T.Rex classic; “20th Century Boy” which arrives midway through the album, it is both mischievous and powerfully delivered.

Beauty In Chaos is not so much a band but a concept, an orchestra of sonic, shoe-gazed grunge created by Human Drama guitarist Michael Ciravolo, Ciravolo assembled a cast of music royalty who contribute in both performance and songwriting to ‘Finding Beauty In Chaos’, they include; Ice-T, Simon Gallup of The Cure, Wayne Hussey of The Mission and Al Jourgensen of Ministry.

Make no mistake, all this talent does not sculpt an unbalanced recording, instead it gives it a depth and wider scope throughout which at times in the modern music era is lost.

The album opens strong with “Road To Rosario”, a very catchy guitar-hook, relaxed and atmospheric, it sets the scene for the album perfectly, there is something very Soundgarden sounding here, not a bad thing by any means. Our journey takes us into “Storm”, soft vocals against a colossal collage of sound, the albums strength is in the delivery of the lyrics, highlighted in the phased acoustic guitars of “Man Of Faith”, which sees a slight nod to Patti Smith; “Jesus died for your sins, well he didn’t die for mine”.

The contribution from Ice-T, “Un-Natural Disaster” also features Doug Pinnick of Kings X, it is the clear standout on the album, touches of Body Count from Ice-T as it is an almost summary of the nineties and the LA riots.

There is a change in pace on the album courtesy of Betsy Martin from Purr Machine on “Heliotrope”, a beautiful and stylish vocal delivery nicely placed on the album to shift its mood.

The seven-minute closer and title track features The Awakenings Ashton Nyte which starts with a Leonard Cohen styled vocal that builds slowly into a feedback-laced wall of sound. You may at times be forgiven for mishearing a synthesizer, apparently there is none, added textures can be heard but they are produced using guitar-pedals more so than industrial devices.

This album is strong, a very solid affair and Beauty In Chaos are definitely in the starting blocks and ready for great things, for fans of the old-school nineties grunge and shoe-gaze era this is a must.

Kevin BURKE
12/11/2018


 

Next reviews
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
HATCHLING • Alpha
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL • Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
WHISPERING SONS • Image
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic

 

Other reviews from BEAUTY IN CHAOS
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse