tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

12/11/2018 : BEAUTY IN CHAOS - Finding Beauty In Chaos

BEAUTY IN CHAOS

Finding Beauty In Chaos

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockGothic RockShoegaze

[75/100]   

33.3 Music Collective
12/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

The most appropriately entitled album has come my way, “Finding Beauty In Chaos” by Beauty In Chaos, I do say appropriate for two reasons, Beauty In Chaos is a great band-name but there is a raw beauty in the music produced here, also I have just discovered them and found that beauty in the distorted chaos.

After all that, because I like it will others?

Very much so is the simple answer, it is an atomic bomb of an album, relentless power from start to finish, there is even a stunning reworking of the T.Rex classic; “20th Century Boy” which arrives midway through the album, it is both mischievous and powerfully delivered.

Beauty In Chaos is not so much a band but a concept, an orchestra of sonic, shoe-gazed grunge created by Human Drama guitarist Michael Ciravolo, Ciravolo assembled a cast of music royalty who contribute in both performance and songwriting to ‘Finding Beauty In Chaos’, they include; Ice-T, Simon Gallup of The Cure, Wayne Hussey of The Mission and Al Jourgensen of Ministry.

Make no mistake, all this talent does not sculpt an unbalanced recording, instead it gives it a depth and wider scope throughout which at times in the modern music era is lost.

The album opens strong with “Road To Rosario”, a very catchy guitar-hook, relaxed and atmospheric, it sets the scene for the album perfectly, there is something very Soundgarden sounding here, not a bad thing by any means. Our journey takes us into “Storm”, soft vocals against a colossal collage of sound, the albums strength is in the delivery of the lyrics, highlighted in the phased acoustic guitars of “Man Of Faith”, which sees a slight nod to Patti Smith; “Jesus died for your sins, well he didn’t die for mine”.

The contribution from Ice-T, “Un-Natural Disaster” also features Doug Pinnick of Kings X, it is the clear standout on the album, touches of Body Count from Ice-T as it is an almost summary of the nineties and the LA riots.

There is a change in pace on the album courtesy of Betsy Martin from Purr Machine on “Heliotrope”, a beautiful and stylish vocal delivery nicely placed on the album to shift its mood.

The seven-minute closer and title track features The Awakenings Ashton Nyte which starts with a Leonard Cohen styled vocal that builds slowly into a feedback-laced wall of sound. You may at times be forgiven for mishearing a synthesizer, apparently there is none, added textures can be heard but they are produced using guitar-pedals more so than industrial devices.

This album is strong, a very solid affair and Beauty In Chaos are definitely in the starting blocks and ready for great things, for fans of the old-school nineties grunge and shoe-gaze era this is a must.

Kevin BURKE
12/11/2018


 

Next reviews
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
HATCHLING • Alpha
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL • Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
WHISPERING SONS • Image
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic

 

Other reviews from BEAUTY IN CHAOS
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap