tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

12/11/2018 : BEAUTY IN CHAOS - Finding Beauty In Chaos

BEAUTY IN CHAOS

Finding Beauty In Chaos

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockGothic RockShoegaze

[75/100]   

33.3 Music Collective
12/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

The most appropriately entitled album has come my way, “Finding Beauty In Chaos” by Beauty In Chaos, I do say appropriate for two reasons, Beauty In Chaos is a great band-name but there is a raw beauty in the music produced here, also I have just discovered them and found that beauty in the distorted chaos.

After all that, because I like it will others?

Very much so is the simple answer, it is an atomic bomb of an album, relentless power from start to finish, there is even a stunning reworking of the T.Rex classic; “20th Century Boy” which arrives midway through the album, it is both mischievous and powerfully delivered.

Beauty In Chaos is not so much a band but a concept, an orchestra of sonic, shoe-gazed grunge created by Human Drama guitarist Michael Ciravolo, Ciravolo assembled a cast of music royalty who contribute in both performance and songwriting to ‘Finding Beauty In Chaos’, they include; Ice-T, Simon Gallup of The Cure, Wayne Hussey of The Mission and Al Jourgensen of Ministry.

Make no mistake, all this talent does not sculpt an unbalanced recording, instead it gives it a depth and wider scope throughout which at times in the modern music era is lost.

The album opens strong with “Road To Rosario”, a very catchy guitar-hook, relaxed and atmospheric, it sets the scene for the album perfectly, there is something very Soundgarden sounding here, not a bad thing by any means. Our journey takes us into “Storm”, soft vocals against a colossal collage of sound, the albums strength is in the delivery of the lyrics, highlighted in the phased acoustic guitars of “Man Of Faith”, which sees a slight nod to Patti Smith; “Jesus died for your sins, well he didn’t die for mine”.

The contribution from Ice-T, “Un-Natural Disaster” also features Doug Pinnick of Kings X, it is the clear standout on the album, touches of Body Count from Ice-T as it is an almost summary of the nineties and the LA riots.

There is a change in pace on the album courtesy of Betsy Martin from Purr Machine on “Heliotrope”, a beautiful and stylish vocal delivery nicely placed on the album to shift its mood.

The seven-minute closer and title track features The Awakenings Ashton Nyte which starts with a Leonard Cohen styled vocal that builds slowly into a feedback-laced wall of sound. You may at times be forgiven for mishearing a synthesizer, apparently there is none, added textures can be heard but they are produced using guitar-pedals more so than industrial devices.

This album is strong, a very solid affair and Beauty In Chaos are definitely in the starting blocks and ready for great things, for fans of the old-school nineties grunge and shoe-gaze era this is a must.

Kevin BURKE
12/11/2018


 

Next reviews
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
HATCHLING • Alpha
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL • Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
WHISPERING SONS • Image
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic

 

Other reviews from BEAUTY IN CHAOS
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?