tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/03/2012 : BENE GESSERIT - A High, Happy, Perverse And Cynical Cry Of Joy

BENE GESSERIT

A High, Happy, Perverse And Cynical Cry Of Joy

MusicCD
ExperimentalMinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[89/100]   

EE Tapes
15/03/2012, Didier PIETERS

EN

EE24 / 500 copies

 

Minimally organized chaos. Not for everyone, but for those who love an experimental “poppy” walk on the wild side, utterly and absolutely recommendable! 18, often short tracks, beautiful in a naïve and childlike way. BeNe Hiroshima, GeSeRRiT Mon Amour … Insane lyrics, repetitive nihilism, efficiently programmed (drum)machinery, dada capitalism, 2 Belgen with a Russian touch, sonorous paintings, nocturnal songs on very dark topics and bewitching vocals, total obscurity, instrumental twilight, hysterically electronic … A gift gladly received, again, in 2012. A new dawn for “Les Enfants De La Rue” and the strangest amongst strangers. In the night, of course. Tarang, general weirdness, and intuitive rhythms, Cold Wave drums and synths, barren sounds, icy, skillfully positioned, placed with surgical precision, a stream of creativeness, enchanting decadence … A short waltz? Why not! The BeNe GeSSeRiT fanfare marches through desolate Belgian villages … Kitchen Music for delicate people, existentialism … A clear blue smile is painted on my face, a desired delirium, 1 minute and 21 seconds, surprisingly sensible, overwhelms me … La Brabançonne? Is this the end? Not at all! As an encore you get the BeNe singles, 3 songs … Weirdly enough those are not the best songs on the CD. My personal favorites are “Nuit Et Chuchotements”, “Tonight”, “Kitchen Music (For Kitchen People)” and “Existentialisme”.

 

This major piece of work is a (CD) reissue of the vinyl album “A High, Happy, Perverse And Cynical Cry Of Joy”, by BeNe GeSSeRiT (Insane Music, 1985). BeNe GeSSeRiT is a Belgain duo starring BeNeDiCT G. en B. GHoLa, AKA Nadine Bal en Alain Neffe.

 

Another EE Tapes “Grand Cru” and as usual, limited (to 500 copies).

 

For further relevant info: http://www.eetapes.be/

Didier PIETERS
15/03/2012


NL

EE24 / 500 copies

 

Minimaal georganiseerde chaos. Geen spek voor ieders bek, maar voor wie van een experimentele walk on the wild side kan genieten, een absolute aanrader! 18, vaak korte nummers, mooie songs in al hun kinderlijke eenvoud, BeNe Hiroshima, GeSeRRiT Mon Amour … Geschift gekke teksten, repetitief nihilisme, vakkundig geprogrammeerde drummachientjes, 2 Belgen op Russische wijze, klankrijke schilderwerkjes, nachtelijke songs met heerlijk donkere thema’s en sublieme zang, totale obscuriteit, instrumentale schemering, hysterisch elektronisch … Voor elk wat wils en meer. De blijde intrede van bijwijlen irritante genialiteit, opnieuw, in 2012. Een nieuwe kans? Een nieuwe dageraad voor de kinderen van de straat en de vreemde vreemden in de nacht … Tarang, algemene weirdness en intuïtieve ritmes, Cold Wave drums en synthesizers, kale klanken, plichtsmatig geplaatst, secuur precies, decadent betoverend! Een walsje? Waarom niet? De BeNe GeSSeRiT fanfare marcheert gezwind door verlaten dorpen, diep in de nacht … Keukenmuziek voor keukenmensen, Existentialisme … Een heldere blauwe glimlach verblijd mijn zinnen, een delirium van 1 minuut en 21 seconden, verassend zinnig … De Brabançonne? En toen was er niets meer … denkt u? Als toemaatje krijgt u zelfs nog de singles van BeNe GeSSeRiT, 3 songs … De toppers van dienst? Vreemd genoeg niet de singles, wel: “Nuit Et Chuchotements”, “Tonight”, “Kitchen Music (For Kitchen People)” en “Existentialisme”.

 

“A High, Happy, Perverse And Cynical Cry Of Joy” is een CD reissue (remastered door Alain Neffe), van de enige en veel gezochte LP (1985, Insane Music) van BeNe GeSSeRiT, een duo bestaande uit BeNeDiCT G. en B. GHoLa AKA Nadine Bal en Alain Neffe. Een EE Tapes Grand Cru en zoals gebruikelijk een gelimiteerde uitgave (500 exemplaren).

 

Voor alle andere relevante info: http://www.eetapes.be/

Didier PIETERS
15/03/2012


 

Next reviews
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
VARIOUS ARTISTS • From Earth To Sirius
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
ALBERTO MORAVIA • Contempt | De minachting
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger

 

Other reviews from BENE GESSERIT
BENE GESSERIT • The Record Store Day
BENE GESSERIT • Half-Unreleased Madness

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Evidence
BENE GESSERIT • Half-Unreleased Madness

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel