tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)

BEST COAST

Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)

Concert
13/11/2015, Manu L DASH

EN

The indie rock and surf pop band Best Coast ended on 4th November 4 its European tour in the cosy venue Bitterzoet in Amsterdam. This Californian band, known for catchy pop-punk songs with a summer twist, consists of singer-songwriter Bethany Cosentino and her musical partner Bobb Bruno. For several years these founders are assisted by bassist Brett Mielke, drummer Brady Miller and lately by guitar and keyboard player Joe Bautista.

Bethany, an indie sweetheart, also has her own fashion line. And, if you really want to know: she was dressed in a great black dress with gold print, with golden shoes that matched nicely with her golden guitar.

Obviously we did not come to Amsterdam to admire her dress, but to hear the infectious poppy songs and Beth's beautiful voice that always takes you away to sunny California. But make no mistake, although the music sounds very upbeat and contains some fuzzy guitars, the lyrics are usually about insecurity, jealousy and unrequited love.

The set started with the punky Heaven Sent that is taken from their latest and very well-received album California Nights. Other top songs like Feeling OK, So Unaware and a beautiful version of When Will I Change were played as well. The newer songs were interspersed with tracks from their first album Crazy For You as Bratty B, Boyfriend and Our Deal. Also the title song of the previous album The Only Place was played, just as the country-like Do You Love Me Like You Used To and Fade Away taken from the eponymous EP that was released in 2013. The highlight was California Nights with the dreamy intro, as well as Boyfriend with a beautiful guitar solo by the ever likable Bobb Bruno.

In short, Best Coast gave us a great “best of set” with nice pop melodies and beautiful vocals that created a sense of satisfaction and put a nice smile on the face of those who were present. Up to the next gig!

This review also appeared on Luminous Dash. Click here for having a look.

Manu L DASH
13/11/2015


NL

De indierock- en surfpop band Best Coast sloot op 4 november z'n Europese tournee af in het erg leuke en intieme zaaltje Bitterzoet in Amsterdam. Deze Californische band, die vooral catchy pop-punksongs brengt met een zomers tintje, bestaat uit singer-songwriter Bethany Cosentino en haar muzikale partner Bobb Bruno. Deze oprichters laten zich voor hun optredens al enkele jaren bijstaan door bassist Brett Mielke, drummer Brady Miller en sinds enige tijd ook door gitaar- en keyboardspeler Joe Bautista.

Bethany, een indie sweetheart, heeft naast een muzikale carrière ook een eigen modelijn. En, indien je het wil weten: voor deze gelegenheid was ze in een geweldige zwarte jurk met een gouden print gekleed, met de daarbij passende gouden schoenen die mooi contrasteerden met haar goudkleurige gitaar. Uiteraard kwamen we niet naar Amsterdam om haar kleren te bewonderen, wel voor de aanstekelijke poppy songs en Beths mooie toonvaste stem die je steevast meeneemt naar het zonnige Californië. Maar vergis je niet, hoewel de muziek meestal erg vrolijk klinkt en doorspekt is met fuzzy gitaren, gaan de teksten over onzekerheid, jaloersheid of onbeantwoorde liefde.

De set startte met het punky Heaven Sent uit hun laatste en erg goed ontvangen album California Nights. Ook andere topnummers zoals Feeling OKSo Unaware en een prachtige versie van When Will I Change werden gespeeld. Met de regelmaat van de klok werden de nieuwere nummers op aangename wijze afgewisseld met tracks uit hun eerste cd Crazy For You, zoals Bratty BBoyfriendOur Deal. Ook uit het vorige album The Only Place werd de titelsong gespeeld, net als het countryachtige Do You Love Me Like You Used To en Fade Away uit de gelijknamige ep die in 2013 verscheen. Het hoogtepunt was zonder twijfel California Nights met zijn zweverig intro, alsook Boyfriend waarin de immer sympathieke Bobb Bruno ons nog een mooie gitaarsolo schonk.

Kortom, Best Coast gaf ons een mooie best of-set waarbij de leuke popmelodieën en de mooie zang voor een voldaan gevoel zorgden en een mooie glimlach op het gezicht van de aanwezigen toverden. Wat kan een mens nog meer verwachten? Op naar hun volgende optreden!

Deze review verscheen ook Luminous Dash. Klik hier voor een kijkje.

Manu L DASH
13/11/2015


13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015) 13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015) 13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015) 13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back