tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)

BEST COAST

Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)

Concert
13/11/2015, Manu L DASH

EN

The indie rock and surf pop band Best Coast ended on 4th November 4 its European tour in the cosy venue Bitterzoet in Amsterdam. This Californian band, known for catchy pop-punk songs with a summer twist, consists of singer-songwriter Bethany Cosentino and her musical partner Bobb Bruno. For several years these founders are assisted by bassist Brett Mielke, drummer Brady Miller and lately by guitar and keyboard player Joe Bautista.

Bethany, an indie sweetheart, also has her own fashion line. And, if you really want to know: she was dressed in a great black dress with gold print, with golden shoes that matched nicely with her golden guitar.

Obviously we did not come to Amsterdam to admire her dress, but to hear the infectious poppy songs and Beth's beautiful voice that always takes you away to sunny California. But make no mistake, although the music sounds very upbeat and contains some fuzzy guitars, the lyrics are usually about insecurity, jealousy and unrequited love.

The set started with the punky Heaven Sent that is taken from their latest and very well-received album California Nights. Other top songs like Feeling OK, So Unaware and a beautiful version of When Will I Change were played as well. The newer songs were interspersed with tracks from their first album Crazy For You as Bratty B, Boyfriend and Our Deal. Also the title song of the previous album The Only Place was played, just as the country-like Do You Love Me Like You Used To and Fade Away taken from the eponymous EP that was released in 2013. The highlight was California Nights with the dreamy intro, as well as Boyfriend with a beautiful guitar solo by the ever likable Bobb Bruno.

In short, Best Coast gave us a great “best of set” with nice pop melodies and beautiful vocals that created a sense of satisfaction and put a nice smile on the face of those who were present. Up to the next gig!

This review also appeared on Luminous Dash. Click here for having a look.

Manu L DASH
13/11/2015


NL

De indierock- en surfpop band Best Coast sloot op 4 november z'n Europese tournee af in het erg leuke en intieme zaaltje Bitterzoet in Amsterdam. Deze Californische band, die vooral catchy pop-punksongs brengt met een zomers tintje, bestaat uit singer-songwriter Bethany Cosentino en haar muzikale partner Bobb Bruno. Deze oprichters laten zich voor hun optredens al enkele jaren bijstaan door bassist Brett Mielke, drummer Brady Miller en sinds enige tijd ook door gitaar- en keyboardspeler Joe Bautista.

Bethany, een indie sweetheart, heeft naast een muzikale carrière ook een eigen modelijn. En, indien je het wil weten: voor deze gelegenheid was ze in een geweldige zwarte jurk met een gouden print gekleed, met de daarbij passende gouden schoenen die mooi contrasteerden met haar goudkleurige gitaar. Uiteraard kwamen we niet naar Amsterdam om haar kleren te bewonderen, wel voor de aanstekelijke poppy songs en Beths mooie toonvaste stem die je steevast meeneemt naar het zonnige Californië. Maar vergis je niet, hoewel de muziek meestal erg vrolijk klinkt en doorspekt is met fuzzy gitaren, gaan de teksten over onzekerheid, jaloersheid of onbeantwoorde liefde.

De set startte met het punky Heaven Sent uit hun laatste en erg goed ontvangen album California Nights. Ook andere topnummers zoals Feeling OKSo Unaware en een prachtige versie van When Will I Change werden gespeeld. Met de regelmaat van de klok werden de nieuwere nummers op aangename wijze afgewisseld met tracks uit hun eerste cd Crazy For You, zoals Bratty BBoyfriendOur Deal. Ook uit het vorige album The Only Place werd de titelsong gespeeld, net als het countryachtige Do You Love Me Like You Used To en Fade Away uit de gelijknamige ep die in 2013 verscheen. Het hoogtepunt was zonder twijfel California Nights met zijn zweverig intro, alsook Boyfriend waarin de immer sympathieke Bobb Bruno ons nog een mooie gitaarsolo schonk.

Kortom, Best Coast gaf ons een mooie best of-set waarbij de leuke popmelodieën en de mooie zang voor een voldaan gevoel zorgden en een mooie glimlach op het gezicht van de aanwezigen toverden. Wat kan een mens nog meer verwachten? Op naar hun volgende optreden!

Deze review verscheen ook Luminous Dash. Klik hier voor een kijkje.

Manu L DASH
13/11/2015


13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015) 13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015) 13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015) 13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus