tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)

BEST COAST

Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)

Concert
13/11/2015, Manu L DASH

EN

The indie rock and surf pop band Best Coast ended on 4th November 4 its European tour in the cosy venue Bitterzoet in Amsterdam. This Californian band, known for catchy pop-punk songs with a summer twist, consists of singer-songwriter Bethany Cosentino and her musical partner Bobb Bruno. For several years these founders are assisted by bassist Brett Mielke, drummer Brady Miller and lately by guitar and keyboard player Joe Bautista.

Bethany, an indie sweetheart, also has her own fashion line. And, if you really want to know: she was dressed in a great black dress with gold print, with golden shoes that matched nicely with her golden guitar.

Obviously we did not come to Amsterdam to admire her dress, but to hear the infectious poppy songs and Beth's beautiful voice that always takes you away to sunny California. But make no mistake, although the music sounds very upbeat and contains some fuzzy guitars, the lyrics are usually about insecurity, jealousy and unrequited love.

The set started with the punky Heaven Sent that is taken from their latest and very well-received album California Nights. Other top songs like Feeling OK, So Unaware and a beautiful version of When Will I Change were played as well. The newer songs were interspersed with tracks from their first album Crazy For You as Bratty B, Boyfriend and Our Deal. Also the title song of the previous album The Only Place was played, just as the country-like Do You Love Me Like You Used To and Fade Away taken from the eponymous EP that was released in 2013. The highlight was California Nights with the dreamy intro, as well as Boyfriend with a beautiful guitar solo by the ever likable Bobb Bruno.

In short, Best Coast gave us a great “best of set” with nice pop melodies and beautiful vocals that created a sense of satisfaction and put a nice smile on the face of those who were present. Up to the next gig!

This review also appeared on Luminous Dash. Click here for having a look.

Manu L DASH
13/11/2015


NL

De indierock- en surfpop band Best Coast sloot op 4 november z'n Europese tournee af in het erg leuke en intieme zaaltje Bitterzoet in Amsterdam. Deze Californische band, die vooral catchy pop-punksongs brengt met een zomers tintje, bestaat uit singer-songwriter Bethany Cosentino en haar muzikale partner Bobb Bruno. Deze oprichters laten zich voor hun optredens al enkele jaren bijstaan door bassist Brett Mielke, drummer Brady Miller en sinds enige tijd ook door gitaar- en keyboardspeler Joe Bautista.

Bethany, een indie sweetheart, heeft naast een muzikale carrière ook een eigen modelijn. En, indien je het wil weten: voor deze gelegenheid was ze in een geweldige zwarte jurk met een gouden print gekleed, met de daarbij passende gouden schoenen die mooi contrasteerden met haar goudkleurige gitaar. Uiteraard kwamen we niet naar Amsterdam om haar kleren te bewonderen, wel voor de aanstekelijke poppy songs en Beths mooie toonvaste stem die je steevast meeneemt naar het zonnige Californië. Maar vergis je niet, hoewel de muziek meestal erg vrolijk klinkt en doorspekt is met fuzzy gitaren, gaan de teksten over onzekerheid, jaloersheid of onbeantwoorde liefde.

De set startte met het punky Heaven Sent uit hun laatste en erg goed ontvangen album California Nights. Ook andere topnummers zoals Feeling OKSo Unaware en een prachtige versie van When Will I Change werden gespeeld. Met de regelmaat van de klok werden de nieuwere nummers op aangename wijze afgewisseld met tracks uit hun eerste cd Crazy For You, zoals Bratty BBoyfriendOur Deal. Ook uit het vorige album The Only Place werd de titelsong gespeeld, net als het countryachtige Do You Love Me Like You Used To en Fade Away uit de gelijknamige ep die in 2013 verscheen. Het hoogtepunt was zonder twijfel California Nights met zijn zweverig intro, alsook Boyfriend waarin de immer sympathieke Bobb Bruno ons nog een mooie gitaarsolo schonk.

Kortom, Best Coast gaf ons een mooie best of-set waarbij de leuke popmelodieën en de mooie zang voor een voldaan gevoel zorgden en een mooie glimlach op het gezicht van de aanwezigen toverden. Wat kan een mens nog meer verwachten? Op naar hun volgende optreden!

Deze review verscheen ook Luminous Dash. Klik hier voor een kijkje.

Manu L DASH
13/11/2015


13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015) 13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015) 13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015) 13/11/2015 : BEST COAST - Amsterdam, Bitterzoet (04/11/2015)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire