tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/01/2015 : BHAMBHAMHARA - Progressive Body Music

BHAMBHAMHARA

Progressive Body Music

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[55/100]   

Dark Dimensions
21/01/2015, Benny CALUWE

Progressive Body Music is the debutalbum of Bhambhamhara. This project was founded in 21012 by Jan Bickler (former member of Abcess) and Axel Erness. Erness used to be the bass guitarist of gothic orientated projects such as Cancer Barrack and Girls Under Glass. He also played live keyboards for Wolfsheim and was sound engineer for Project Pitcfork, Front Line Assembly, Combichrist and [SITD]. Musically they bring a mix of EBM, electro, synthpop and dance. The name Bhambhamhara comes from a mantra with the words: “Jaya Shiva Shankara Bham Bham Hara Hara”. Bham stands for the sound of Shiva’s drum and Hara is one of the 1000 names of Shiva.

The album starts with Krieslauf, which was the first preceding single. It is a club minded track with heavy beats and technoid arrangements. Wir feiern is another upbeat track that wants to get the party started with some EDM (electronic dance music) elements. Das Ziel with the catchy sample “links, rechts, links, rechts” aims straight for its goal, namely the dancefloor.

I was a bit disappointed to find out that the progressive body music in Bhambhamhara’s view especially means a mix with EDM and technoid elements. I am not fond of those club orientated sounds, to technoid for me. Positiv is another clubby track with technoid elements, just as Anchorman and Gottes Zorn. And than there is still a club mix for Wir feiern and for Das Ziel. Another minor point is the excessive use of robotic voices. The lyrics are clearly a matter of secondary importance.

Luckily there are a few tracks with more attention for atmosphere and less emphasis on the beats. C’est pas vrai is a trancy instrumental. Nur fur euch, the second single, another trance orientated track, is also quite enjoyable, although it is clubby and catchy. Gebet (by far the best track in my opinion) and In your eyes are more atmospheric and a bit darker with some IDM elements.

Although Bickler and Erness show their craftsmanship on this album, they couldn’t convince me, despite a few nice tracks. But people who are into clubby upbeat body-tech might enjoy this album more.

Benny CALUWE
21/01/2015


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start