tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/01/2015 : BHAMBHAMHARA - Progressive Body Music

BHAMBHAMHARA

Progressive Body Music

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[55/100]   

Dark Dimensions
21/01/2015, Benny CALUWE

Progressive Body Music is the debutalbum of Bhambhamhara. This project was founded in 21012 by Jan Bickler (former member of Abcess) and Axel Erness. Erness used to be the bass guitarist of gothic orientated projects such as Cancer Barrack and Girls Under Glass. He also played live keyboards for Wolfsheim and was sound engineer for Project Pitcfork, Front Line Assembly, Combichrist and [SITD]. Musically they bring a mix of EBM, electro, synthpop and dance. The name Bhambhamhara comes from a mantra with the words: “Jaya Shiva Shankara Bham Bham Hara Hara”. Bham stands for the sound of Shiva’s drum and Hara is one of the 1000 names of Shiva.

The album starts with Krieslauf, which was the first preceding single. It is a club minded track with heavy beats and technoid arrangements. Wir feiern is another upbeat track that wants to get the party started with some EDM (electronic dance music) elements. Das Ziel with the catchy sample “links, rechts, links, rechts” aims straight for its goal, namely the dancefloor.

I was a bit disappointed to find out that the progressive body music in Bhambhamhara’s view especially means a mix with EDM and technoid elements. I am not fond of those club orientated sounds, to technoid for me. Positiv is another clubby track with technoid elements, just as Anchorman and Gottes Zorn. And than there is still a club mix for Wir feiern and for Das Ziel. Another minor point is the excessive use of robotic voices. The lyrics are clearly a matter of secondary importance.

Luckily there are a few tracks with more attention for atmosphere and less emphasis on the beats. C’est pas vrai is a trancy instrumental. Nur fur euch, the second single, another trance orientated track, is also quite enjoyable, although it is clubby and catchy. Gebet (by far the best track in my opinion) and In your eyes are more atmospheric and a bit darker with some IDM elements.

Although Bickler and Erness show their craftsmanship on this album, they couldn’t convince me, despite a few nice tracks. But people who are into clubby upbeat body-tech might enjoy this album more.

Benny CALUWE
21/01/2015


Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains