tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/10/2014 : BIG COUNTRY - CLASSICS : The Sheer

BIG COUNTRY

CLASSICS : The Sheer

MusicCD
PopRock

[80/100]   

Universal Music Belgium
10/10/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Brimming with confidence after the earthy debut-album The Crossing and its rather more industrialised follow-up Steeltown, Big Country delivered a more anthemic sound for their third set The Seer. Originally issued in 1986 and the provider of the band's biggest hit Look Away (#1 in Ireland, no less), it's curious to see this collection getting re-released ahead of Steeltown (due September 2014) but hey-ho, The Seer is in keeping with the band's creative peak and the success that Stuart Adamson's charges were achieving on both sides of the Atlantic.

This 2xCD version gathers up the original running order which includes a handful of other Top 50 hits including The Teacher, One Great Thing and the reflective single that broke their unbroken run of ten straight hits, Hold The Heart - frankly, the jaunty Eiledon would have caned the Top 20 no problem had it been clipped for release.

The extras on the two discs include the complete Restless Natives soundtrack plus full versions of soundtrack selections (including an unreleased take on the title-track), plus a live cut of Honky Tonk Woman and numerous 12" mixes of the singles including the alternative versions of One Great Thing - the rather dated Bowie-esque Big Baad Country Mix (it's a bit Let's Dance crossed with Fashion) - and the brassy Outlaw Mix of Look Away. Ah the days of tricksy extended mixes.

Informative sleeve-note, lyrics and an Adamson anecdote complete the picture of an album that sounds 'of its time' but is nonetheless a lively and enjoyable journey. For many, including me, The Seer was Big Country's last truly decent album. The 1989 follow-up Peace In Our Time smacked of an attempt to appeal to the US just a bit too much - that too has just been reissued ahead of Steeltown.

 

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/10/2014


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm