tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/11/2014 : BILLY IDOL - Kings And Queens Of The Underground

BILLY IDOL

Kings And Queens Of The Underground

MusicCD
PopRock

[50/100]   
02/11/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Every year, a seemingly-forgotten '80s icon has something of a rebirth, a comeback but not the album to back it up with. Tours are all very well but fans demand something new occasionally - Billy Idol therefore delivers. I use the term 'new' loosely - we really are back in the eighties with this first new album since 2006's truly bewildering Christmas set Happy Holidays. With Kings and Queens, you get several originals written by Idol and the band, most of them produced and arranged by Trevor Horn and surely a return to winning ways, right?

Sadly, no. While William Broad has an ear for a tune - Bitter Pill is really quite good, One Breath Away a passable revisit of Eyes Without a Face - some of this seventh studio-album is as hackneyed and dated as you could imagine - and somehow that makes it all the more charming. Cliched lyrics, tub-thumping drums, cheesy rock riffs and Idol singing as though he's gargled his own septum, it isn't Rebel Yell time for sure. On the autobiographical lighter-waving title-track he recalls his days in Generation X, his admittedly likeable solo hits topped off with the immortal line "..well I touched you with my Eyes Without a Face, I was Hot In The City, I thought I was ace...". He pays homage to the Beatles on the reflective Ghosts In My Guitar and explosive hair-metal on Whiskey and Pills, without any sense of irony. The latter is laughable hokum that might just make you wish that previously-released Festive album was still available, while the former barely sounds like the same songwriter, a vast improvement.

There's enough decent material on here to make a very good EP with - spreading it over an entire album is beyond the pale and Idol is, frankly, capable of something greater. He's certainly a trier, a fighter and he's at least managed to sound like he's had some fun making this.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
02/11/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel