tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/04/2017 : BING AND RUTH - No Home of the Mind

BING AND RUTH

No Home of the Mind

MusicCD


[90/100]   

4-AD
23/04/2017, Paul PLEDGER

Not actually a duo but a minimalist atmospheric outfit spearheaded by NYC jazz student David Moore. Bing and Ruth is a nom-de-plume that gives little away about the content of the music and that makes this debut on 4AD all the more satisfying.

On this, his third full-length set, Moore combines multiple piano pieces with soft synths and ambient textures that compare with another 4AD signing Johann Johannsson, plus Nils Frahm, Harold Budd, The Blue Nile (minus the vocals) and Wim Mertens. Lustral and celestial, No Home Of The Mind is an absorbing record that seems designed to soundtrack remote landscapes or act as an antidote to frenetic urban living. One listen to As Much As Possible is as rewarding (but far cheaper) than a spa weekend or a shiatsu. Head to Scrapes and a pretty cascading motif rewards with repeated listens.

The titles might border on the unexplainable - The How Of It Sped and What Ash It Flow Up are meaningless unless you're Moore himself - but the music is just simply blissful and moving and enough to put you to bed with a deep sigh or inspire you to grab life by the balls without all that self-affirming nonsense fed to some of us by life-coaches and PR agencies.

All of which makes this somewhat subdued but achingly gorgeous album one of the label's most impressive releases for some considerable time.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
23/04/2017


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?