tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BIRTH OF JOY - Get Well

BIRTH OF JOY

Get Well

MusicCD


[80/100]   

SUBURBAN
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Today, the music scene in The Netherlands has a lot of beautiful things to offer. Recently we talked about My Baby, and even though Birth Of Joy is something completely different, there are some similarities, especially in terms of recognition. This trio from Utrecht is quite popular in the underground scene of The Netherlands (and many other European countries). With three studio albums and 450 gigs in three years (yes!), you definitely can say that these guys are busy bees!

On their third CD, which is promoted in Belgium by Starman Records, ten hard tracks are presented with roots in the 60s. The record starts with Blisters, which can be described as sublime messy psychedelic indie rock. The song has the passion of Hawkwind and is complemented with the unstoppable power of Jimi Hendrix. Meet Me At The Bottom obliges us to study the record sleeve, as perhaps this album might be recorded in 1968. But no, Birth Of Joy just makes honest psychedelic pop without frills!

As on every good rock album, you also find a ballad on Get Well (Numb), but the Dutch trio realises that real rock 'n' roll has to be dirty and sexy too. The hip swaying Midnight Cruise and Carabiner are very nice examples. On Those Who Are Awake, we hear the blues-rock of The Doors on LA Woman. So yes, it’s magnificent, and to make things even better, on You Got Me Howling you will hear why the band is constantly compared with MC5!

Should it be said once again? Get Well is a rock album that does justice to its name!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig heeft ook muzikaal Nederland heel wat moois te bieden. Zo hadden we het onlangs nog over My Baby, en ook al tapt Birth Of Joy uit een heel ander muzikaal vaatje, zijn er toch gelijkenissen als we het over erkenning hebben. In Vlaanderen is dit trio uit Utrecht amper bekend, maar in Nederland (en vele andere Europese landen) is Birth Of Joy een naam in de undergroundscène. Met drie studioplaten en 450 optredens in drie jaar (jawel) kan je dan ook stellen dat deze jongens bezige bijtjes zijn!

Op hun derde cd die door Starman Records in België wordt gepromoot, hoor je tien loeiharde tracks waarvan de roots in de jaren 60 liggen. Zo begint de plaat met Blisters dat je als lekker rommelige psychedelische indierock kan omschrijven. De song heeft de passie van Hawkwind en wordt aangevuld met de niet te stoppen energie van Jimi Hendrix. Meet Met At The Bottom verplicht ons om nog eventjes de hoes nader te bestuderen, want zou het niet kunnen dat deze plaat gewoon in 1968 is opgenomen? Neen, Birth Of Joy maakt gewoon eerlijke psychedelische pop zonder tierelantijntjes!

Zoals op iedere goede rockplaat, vind je er ook een ballade op (Numb), maar de Nederlanders beseffen ook dat echte rock ’n roll soms vies en sexy moet zijn. De heupwiegende Midnight Cruise en Carabiner zijn daar zeer mooie voorbeelden van. Op Those Who Are Awake horen we de bluesrock van The Doors tijdens LA Woman. Heerlijk dus, en om het allemaal nog beter te laten worden, ontdek je op You Got Me Howling waarom de band alsmaar met MC5 wordt vergeleken!

Moet het nog worden gezegd? Dit is een rockplaat die zijn naam alle eer aandoet!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
02
Peek-a-Boo founder Ward De Prins has passed away...
18
02
Darkness On Demand (Ex-Dance Or Die) release new video, EP and album!
18
02
Today, exactly 15 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

19
02
THE SOFT MOON
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
02
SARIN
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
PUNISH YOURSELF
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
SPANKRAGHT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado