tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BIRTH OF JOY - Get Well

BIRTH OF JOY

Get Well

MusicCD


[80/100]   

SUBURBAN
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Today, the music scene in The Netherlands has a lot of beautiful things to offer. Recently we talked about My Baby, and even though Birth Of Joy is something completely different, there are some similarities, especially in terms of recognition. This trio from Utrecht is quite popular in the underground scene of The Netherlands (and many other European countries). With three studio albums and 450 gigs in three years (yes!), you definitely can say that these guys are busy bees!

On their third CD, which is promoted in Belgium by Starman Records, ten hard tracks are presented with roots in the 60s. The record starts with Blisters, which can be described as sublime messy psychedelic indie rock. The song has the passion of Hawkwind and is complemented with the unstoppable power of Jimi Hendrix. Meet Me At The Bottom obliges us to study the record sleeve, as perhaps this album might be recorded in 1968. But no, Birth Of Joy just makes honest psychedelic pop without frills!

As on every good rock album, you also find a ballad on Get Well (Numb), but the Dutch trio realises that real rock 'n' roll has to be dirty and sexy too. The hip swaying Midnight Cruise and Carabiner are very nice examples. On Those Who Are Awake, we hear the blues-rock of The Doors on LA Woman. So yes, it’s magnificent, and to make things even better, on You Got Me Howling you will hear why the band is constantly compared with MC5!

Should it be said once again? Get Well is a rock album that does justice to its name!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig heeft ook muzikaal Nederland heel wat moois te bieden. Zo hadden we het onlangs nog over My Baby, en ook al tapt Birth Of Joy uit een heel ander muzikaal vaatje, zijn er toch gelijkenissen als we het over erkenning hebben. In Vlaanderen is dit trio uit Utrecht amper bekend, maar in Nederland (en vele andere Europese landen) is Birth Of Joy een naam in de undergroundscène. Met drie studioplaten en 450 optredens in drie jaar (jawel) kan je dan ook stellen dat deze jongens bezige bijtjes zijn!

Op hun derde cd die door Starman Records in België wordt gepromoot, hoor je tien loeiharde tracks waarvan de roots in de jaren 60 liggen. Zo begint de plaat met Blisters dat je als lekker rommelige psychedelische indierock kan omschrijven. De song heeft de passie van Hawkwind en wordt aangevuld met de niet te stoppen energie van Jimi Hendrix. Meet Met At The Bottom verplicht ons om nog eventjes de hoes nader te bestuderen, want zou het niet kunnen dat deze plaat gewoon in 1968 is opgenomen? Neen, Birth Of Joy maakt gewoon eerlijke psychedelische pop zonder tierelantijntjes!

Zoals op iedere goede rockplaat, vind je er ook een ballade op (Numb), maar de Nederlanders beseffen ook dat echte rock ’n roll soms vies en sexy moet zijn. De heupwiegende Midnight Cruise en Carabiner zijn daar zeer mooie voorbeelden van. Op Those Who Are Awake horen we de bluesrock van The Doors tijdens LA Woman. Heerlijk dus, en om het allemaal nog beter te laten worden, ontdek je op You Got Me Howling waarom de band alsmaar met MC5 wordt vergeleken!

Moet het nog worden gezegd? Dit is een rockplaat die zijn naam alle eer aandoet!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!
07
11
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Burning Inside!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now
05
11
DIVE
Far Away (Live)