tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BIRTH OF JOY - Get Well

BIRTH OF JOY

Get Well

MusicCD


[80/100]   

SUBURBAN
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Today, the music scene in The Netherlands has a lot of beautiful things to offer. Recently we talked about My Baby, and even though Birth Of Joy is something completely different, there are some similarities, especially in terms of recognition. This trio from Utrecht is quite popular in the underground scene of The Netherlands (and many other European countries). With three studio albums and 450 gigs in three years (yes!), you definitely can say that these guys are busy bees!

On their third CD, which is promoted in Belgium by Starman Records, ten hard tracks are presented with roots in the 60s. The record starts with Blisters, which can be described as sublime messy psychedelic indie rock. The song has the passion of Hawkwind and is complemented with the unstoppable power of Jimi Hendrix. Meet Me At The Bottom obliges us to study the record sleeve, as perhaps this album might be recorded in 1968. But no, Birth Of Joy just makes honest psychedelic pop without frills!

As on every good rock album, you also find a ballad on Get Well (Numb), but the Dutch trio realises that real rock 'n' roll has to be dirty and sexy too. The hip swaying Midnight Cruise and Carabiner are very nice examples. On Those Who Are Awake, we hear the blues-rock of The Doors on LA Woman. So yes, it’s magnificent, and to make things even better, on You Got Me Howling you will hear why the band is constantly compared with MC5!

Should it be said once again? Get Well is a rock album that does justice to its name!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig heeft ook muzikaal Nederland heel wat moois te bieden. Zo hadden we het onlangs nog over My Baby, en ook al tapt Birth Of Joy uit een heel ander muzikaal vaatje, zijn er toch gelijkenissen als we het over erkenning hebben. In Vlaanderen is dit trio uit Utrecht amper bekend, maar in Nederland (en vele andere Europese landen) is Birth Of Joy een naam in de undergroundscène. Met drie studioplaten en 450 optredens in drie jaar (jawel) kan je dan ook stellen dat deze jongens bezige bijtjes zijn!

Op hun derde cd die door Starman Records in België wordt gepromoot, hoor je tien loeiharde tracks waarvan de roots in de jaren 60 liggen. Zo begint de plaat met Blisters dat je als lekker rommelige psychedelische indierock kan omschrijven. De song heeft de passie van Hawkwind en wordt aangevuld met de niet te stoppen energie van Jimi Hendrix. Meet Met At The Bottom verplicht ons om nog eventjes de hoes nader te bestuderen, want zou het niet kunnen dat deze plaat gewoon in 1968 is opgenomen? Neen, Birth Of Joy maakt gewoon eerlijke psychedelische pop zonder tierelantijntjes!

Zoals op iedere goede rockplaat, vind je er ook een ballade op (Numb), maar de Nederlanders beseffen ook dat echte rock ’n roll soms vies en sexy moet zijn. De heupwiegende Midnight Cruise en Carabiner zijn daar zeer mooie voorbeelden van. Op Those Who Are Awake horen we de bluesrock van The Doors tijdens LA Woman. Heerlijk dus, en om het allemaal nog beter te laten worden, ontdek je op You Got Me Howling waarom de band alsmaar met MC5 wordt vergeleken!

Moet het nog worden gezegd? Dit is een rockplaat die zijn naam alle eer aandoet!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen