tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BIRTH OF JOY - Get Well

BIRTH OF JOY

Get Well

MusicCD


[80/100]   

SUBURBAN
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Today, the music scene in The Netherlands has a lot of beautiful things to offer. Recently we talked about My Baby, and even though Birth Of Joy is something completely different, there are some similarities, especially in terms of recognition. This trio from Utrecht is quite popular in the underground scene of The Netherlands (and many other European countries). With three studio albums and 450 gigs in three years (yes!), you definitely can say that these guys are busy bees!

On their third CD, which is promoted in Belgium by Starman Records, ten hard tracks are presented with roots in the 60s. The record starts with Blisters, which can be described as sublime messy psychedelic indie rock. The song has the passion of Hawkwind and is complemented with the unstoppable power of Jimi Hendrix. Meet Me At The Bottom obliges us to study the record sleeve, as perhaps this album might be recorded in 1968. But no, Birth Of Joy just makes honest psychedelic pop without frills!

As on every good rock album, you also find a ballad on Get Well (Numb), but the Dutch trio realises that real rock 'n' roll has to be dirty and sexy too. The hip swaying Midnight Cruise and Carabiner are very nice examples. On Those Who Are Awake, we hear the blues-rock of The Doors on LA Woman. So yes, it’s magnificent, and to make things even better, on You Got Me Howling you will hear why the band is constantly compared with MC5!

Should it be said once again? Get Well is a rock album that does justice to its name!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig heeft ook muzikaal Nederland heel wat moois te bieden. Zo hadden we het onlangs nog over My Baby, en ook al tapt Birth Of Joy uit een heel ander muzikaal vaatje, zijn er toch gelijkenissen als we het over erkenning hebben. In Vlaanderen is dit trio uit Utrecht amper bekend, maar in Nederland (en vele andere Europese landen) is Birth Of Joy een naam in de undergroundscène. Met drie studioplaten en 450 optredens in drie jaar (jawel) kan je dan ook stellen dat deze jongens bezige bijtjes zijn!

Op hun derde cd die door Starman Records in België wordt gepromoot, hoor je tien loeiharde tracks waarvan de roots in de jaren 60 liggen. Zo begint de plaat met Blisters dat je als lekker rommelige psychedelische indierock kan omschrijven. De song heeft de passie van Hawkwind en wordt aangevuld met de niet te stoppen energie van Jimi Hendrix. Meet Met At The Bottom verplicht ons om nog eventjes de hoes nader te bestuderen, want zou het niet kunnen dat deze plaat gewoon in 1968 is opgenomen? Neen, Birth Of Joy maakt gewoon eerlijke psychedelische pop zonder tierelantijntjes!

Zoals op iedere goede rockplaat, vind je er ook een ballade op (Numb), maar de Nederlanders beseffen ook dat echte rock ’n roll soms vies en sexy moet zijn. De heupwiegende Midnight Cruise en Carabiner zijn daar zeer mooie voorbeelden van. Op Those Who Are Awake horen we de bluesrock van The Doors tijdens LA Woman. Heerlijk dus, en om het allemaal nog beter te laten worden, ontdek je op You Got Me Howling waarom de band alsmaar met MC5 wordt vergeleken!

Moet het nog worden gezegd? Dit is een rockplaat die zijn naam alle eer aandoet!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn