tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BIRTH OF JOY - Get Well

BIRTH OF JOY

Get Well

MusicCD


[80/100]   

SUBURBAN
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Today, the music scene in The Netherlands has a lot of beautiful things to offer. Recently we talked about My Baby, and even though Birth Of Joy is something completely different, there are some similarities, especially in terms of recognition. This trio from Utrecht is quite popular in the underground scene of The Netherlands (and many other European countries). With three studio albums and 450 gigs in three years (yes!), you definitely can say that these guys are busy bees!

On their third CD, which is promoted in Belgium by Starman Records, ten hard tracks are presented with roots in the 60s. The record starts with Blisters, which can be described as sublime messy psychedelic indie rock. The song has the passion of Hawkwind and is complemented with the unstoppable power of Jimi Hendrix. Meet Me At The Bottom obliges us to study the record sleeve, as perhaps this album might be recorded in 1968. But no, Birth Of Joy just makes honest psychedelic pop without frills!

As on every good rock album, you also find a ballad on Get Well (Numb), but the Dutch trio realises that real rock 'n' roll has to be dirty and sexy too. The hip swaying Midnight Cruise and Carabiner are very nice examples. On Those Who Are Awake, we hear the blues-rock of The Doors on LA Woman. So yes, it’s magnificent, and to make things even better, on You Got Me Howling you will hear why the band is constantly compared with MC5!

Should it be said once again? Get Well is a rock album that does justice to its name!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Tegenwoordig heeft ook muzikaal Nederland heel wat moois te bieden. Zo hadden we het onlangs nog over My Baby, en ook al tapt Birth Of Joy uit een heel ander muzikaal vaatje, zijn er toch gelijkenissen als we het over erkenning hebben. In Vlaanderen is dit trio uit Utrecht amper bekend, maar in Nederland (en vele andere Europese landen) is Birth Of Joy een naam in de undergroundscène. Met drie studioplaten en 450 optredens in drie jaar (jawel) kan je dan ook stellen dat deze jongens bezige bijtjes zijn!

Op hun derde cd die door Starman Records in België wordt gepromoot, hoor je tien loeiharde tracks waarvan de roots in de jaren 60 liggen. Zo begint de plaat met Blisters dat je als lekker rommelige psychedelische indierock kan omschrijven. De song heeft de passie van Hawkwind en wordt aangevuld met de niet te stoppen energie van Jimi Hendrix. Meet Met At The Bottom verplicht ons om nog eventjes de hoes nader te bestuderen, want zou het niet kunnen dat deze plaat gewoon in 1968 is opgenomen? Neen, Birth Of Joy maakt gewoon eerlijke psychedelische pop zonder tierelantijntjes!

Zoals op iedere goede rockplaat, vind je er ook een ballade op (Numb), maar de Nederlanders beseffen ook dat echte rock ’n roll soms vies en sexy moet zijn. De heupwiegende Midnight Cruise en Carabiner zijn daar zeer mooie voorbeelden van. Op Those Who Are Awake horen we de bluesrock van The Doors tijdens LA Woman. Heerlijk dus, en om het allemaal nog beter te laten worden, ontdek je op You Got Me Howling waarom de band alsmaar met MC5 wordt vergeleken!

Moet het nog worden gezegd? Dit is een rockplaat die zijn naam alle eer aandoet!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning