tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/05/2014 : BLACK ANVIL - Hail Death

BLACK ANVIL

Hail Death

MusicCD
Death Metal

[84/100]   

Relapse Records
20/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

We get 10 tracks, all pretty epic! But unlike other bands that I reviewed lately, there is not such a variation in style or rhythm as for ex Delain, Xandria, Ancient Bards... I know this one is more into Death Metal/Black Metal and that's their style and are holding on to it.

First track 'Still reborn' takes 9:09 to end, is pretty acoustic until the guitars explodes and the hammering drums and a hellish voice jumps in. The monster is awake and screams and grunts like hell! The only humans are doing the backings as clean voices. It doesn't sound as hard or extreme as Cradle of Filth, to name just one, but it sounds good. 'Redemption trough blood' has nice percussions before changing into a typical death metal track. 'Eventide' has a faster tempo & a more aggressive play. It feels like a wakeup call! The end is a bit softer than expected. 'Seven stars unseen' is almost a death metal ballad, a bit strange, but why not?! 'G.N.O.N.' gets a nice combo of a guitar solo, heavy fuelled drums and a screaming monster on vocals. I have no clue what the title means, but it sounds pretty into death metal! 'Until the end' is a great screamer with a melancholic sound. The backings play an important role in this one, just as the sliding guitar and the excellent solo! 'My hate is pure', well the title says it all, no? 'N' & 'Next level Black' are pretty epic, but time flies. These songs are over before you even notice, a strange thing, but it just happens to me!

A great extra and the real end song for me is the Kiss cover 'Under The Rose' and this version is a real surprise! The vocals sound softer, closer to the original. The sound is also a bit softer, more commercial. Still, it's pretty amazing as cover for a death metal band!

I had my part of the fun with this one, and you?

Filip VAN MUYLEM
20/05/2014


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell