tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity

BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL

Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity

Concert
10/04/2015

EN

Black Easter has presented us a marvelous line-up. A bold line-up too, with emphasis on the more romantic and profound side of goth culture. A line-up in which consistency lies in the uniqueness of each programmed artist. Variety but also quality.

Hatchling had the 'dubious' honor to open the festival. Not the most comfortable place on a festival. It must be said that Simon Mahieu could easily warm the sparse audience with an energetic set - perhaps in the middle it lost some tension, but the set finished strong again - he proved to be a more than decent opener.

Now we have to pick our words carefully, for none other than Dark Entries' colleague Peter plays in Dark Poem. We can not really afford to give negative criticism. Though fortunately it is totally unnecessary, because since the first time we heard of Dark Poem - and then our colleague had nothing to do with it - we were completely sold on this project. Dark Poem gave - and we are talking about 2011 - a performance at our Dark Entries Night, which gave them prompt the ability to bring out a CD. And Peter couldn't even count on much attention, because it was completely claimed by the lovely sisters Raya Schaduwjaagster ("Shadow Huntress") and Sofie Drakenvleugels ("Dragon Wings"), singing in an angelic way, with expressive dance and percussion and their hypnotic music. Another magnificent performance of this exceptional group.

The German musician Lisa Morgenstern performed for the first time abroad. This lady owes her first publicity to a number of shows, opening for Henke (see Goethes Erben on day 2). We were wondering how she would approach her show at the festival. She had two musicians: cellist Binni Cellini (from Letzte Instanz and countless other German projects) and Katharina as a singer-violinist. During the first songs the sound needed some adjustments and her binding texts gave some festival-goers mixed feelings: some found this rather arrogant (the fact that she silenced some people in the back of the hall) and sometimes laughable, while others found it again an additional value to the performance. The fact is that these binding texts are typical for this tormented mind - behind the angelic apparition in white dress, a dark soul is hiding that prefers to sing about things like suicide and insomnia. A first highlight came with "Bury Me". And from then on, the performance was really fine with interpretations of "Moon", "Lieber Tod", "Sweet Dreams (Eurythmics cover)", "Hairy Moon", "Nocturne"... The show ended with the applicable song "Farewell".

The Mighty Sieben is a project of Matt Howden. A tape with only Howden and his violin on the stage. Bold. With "Each Divine Spark" Sieben brought a strong and nuanced album. Live he brings his songs, as he announced himself, with more puch and direct. That brings more physical energy and drive in action. Personally, I miss some sensitive drawn-out pieces in this approach. Nevertheless, it was a good performance with full devotion that convinced a large part of the audience.

Ataraxia has been around since 1986, though they needed nearly eight years to record their debut. But since then, they have built an impressive discography. A particularly diverse discography, ranging from the Baroque music to progressive rock, neo-folk, cabaret, darkwave and neoclassical. So we were wondering which material these fine Italians would bring us on Saturday. The focus was clearly on the new material, work that has been created since 2004, in the current composition of the group. Francesca Nicoli has an extremely good voice, Vittorio Vandelli creates tingling electric guitar and Giovanni Pagliari brings the wide flared synths. An honorable mention goes to Riccardo Spaggiari, who delivers outstanding acoustic and electric percussion, and at times also puts melodic elements through his pads. The set of Ataraxia has made us wander that far into dreamland, that even after the performance, it took some time before we fully awakened.

Rosa Crux has been around since 1984, and took even longer to release a debut (11 years, yes!). But that doesn't matter, since the performances of the group are sensational. The set begins with a drum duel between singer-guitarist Olivier Tarabo and BAM (Batterie Acoustique Midi), a beautiful construction of drums that are driven mechanically. After the intro Tarabo takes the guitar in hand and we are treated to the typical Rosa Crux sound, with bombastic keyboards, complemented by sharp guitars and screeching Latin hymns. The framing takes an important place. In addition to the BAM, the piano and the gigantic carillon. The stage is bathed in candlelight and a rather dark light show, while background projections accentuate the macabre character of the whole performance. And then there are also the flag waving and the inescapable "danse de la terre" in which two pure mud-clad creatures ritually sprinkle themselves with earth, making the same set of repetitive movements. An impressive and intense performance.

The first day of the Black Easter Festival may already be regarded as extremely successful, though we all longed already for the top acts on Sunday....

 

Text: Wim Guillemyn & Xavier Kruth

Photos: Marquis (pi) X


10/04/2015


NL

Nederlandse versie op www.darkentries.be


10/04/2015


10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes