tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity

BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL

Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity

Concert
10/04/2015

EN

Black Easter has presented us a marvelous line-up. A bold line-up too, with emphasis on the more romantic and profound side of goth culture. A line-up in which consistency lies in the uniqueness of each programmed artist. Variety but also quality.

Hatchling had the 'dubious' honor to open the festival. Not the most comfortable place on a festival. It must be said that Simon Mahieu could easily warm the sparse audience with an energetic set - perhaps in the middle it lost some tension, but the set finished strong again - he proved to be a more than decent opener.

Now we have to pick our words carefully, for none other than Dark Entries' colleague Peter plays in Dark Poem. We can not really afford to give negative criticism. Though fortunately it is totally unnecessary, because since the first time we heard of Dark Poem - and then our colleague had nothing to do with it - we were completely sold on this project. Dark Poem gave - and we are talking about 2011 - a performance at our Dark Entries Night, which gave them prompt the ability to bring out a CD. And Peter couldn't even count on much attention, because it was completely claimed by the lovely sisters Raya Schaduwjaagster ("Shadow Huntress") and Sofie Drakenvleugels ("Dragon Wings"), singing in an angelic way, with expressive dance and percussion and their hypnotic music. Another magnificent performance of this exceptional group.

The German musician Lisa Morgenstern performed for the first time abroad. This lady owes her first publicity to a number of shows, opening for Henke (see Goethes Erben on day 2). We were wondering how she would approach her show at the festival. She had two musicians: cellist Binni Cellini (from Letzte Instanz and countless other German projects) and Katharina as a singer-violinist. During the first songs the sound needed some adjustments and her binding texts gave some festival-goers mixed feelings: some found this rather arrogant (the fact that she silenced some people in the back of the hall) and sometimes laughable, while others found it again an additional value to the performance. The fact is that these binding texts are typical for this tormented mind - behind the angelic apparition in white dress, a dark soul is hiding that prefers to sing about things like suicide and insomnia. A first highlight came with "Bury Me". And from then on, the performance was really fine with interpretations of "Moon", "Lieber Tod", "Sweet Dreams (Eurythmics cover)", "Hairy Moon", "Nocturne"... The show ended with the applicable song "Farewell".

The Mighty Sieben is a project of Matt Howden. A tape with only Howden and his violin on the stage. Bold. With "Each Divine Spark" Sieben brought a strong and nuanced album. Live he brings his songs, as he announced himself, with more puch and direct. That brings more physical energy and drive in action. Personally, I miss some sensitive drawn-out pieces in this approach. Nevertheless, it was a good performance with full devotion that convinced a large part of the audience.

Ataraxia has been around since 1986, though they needed nearly eight years to record their debut. But since then, they have built an impressive discography. A particularly diverse discography, ranging from the Baroque music to progressive rock, neo-folk, cabaret, darkwave and neoclassical. So we were wondering which material these fine Italians would bring us on Saturday. The focus was clearly on the new material, work that has been created since 2004, in the current composition of the group. Francesca Nicoli has an extremely good voice, Vittorio Vandelli creates tingling electric guitar and Giovanni Pagliari brings the wide flared synths. An honorable mention goes to Riccardo Spaggiari, who delivers outstanding acoustic and electric percussion, and at times also puts melodic elements through his pads. The set of Ataraxia has made us wander that far into dreamland, that even after the performance, it took some time before we fully awakened.

Rosa Crux has been around since 1984, and took even longer to release a debut (11 years, yes!). But that doesn't matter, since the performances of the group are sensational. The set begins with a drum duel between singer-guitarist Olivier Tarabo and BAM (Batterie Acoustique Midi), a beautiful construction of drums that are driven mechanically. After the intro Tarabo takes the guitar in hand and we are treated to the typical Rosa Crux sound, with bombastic keyboards, complemented by sharp guitars and screeching Latin hymns. The framing takes an important place. In addition to the BAM, the piano and the gigantic carillon. The stage is bathed in candlelight and a rather dark light show, while background projections accentuate the macabre character of the whole performance. And then there are also the flag waving and the inescapable "danse de la terre" in which two pure mud-clad creatures ritually sprinkle themselves with earth, making the same set of repetitive movements. An impressive and intense performance.

The first day of the Black Easter Festival may already be regarded as extremely successful, though we all longed already for the top acts on Sunday....

 

Text: Wim Guillemyn & Xavier Kruth

Photos: Marquis (pi) X


10/04/2015


NL

Nederlandse versie op www.darkentries.be


10/04/2015


10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)