tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : BLACK EGG - Songs Of Death And Deception

BLACK EGG

Songs Of Death And Deception

MusicCD
Dark PopDark WaveNeofolk

[94/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
22/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best album of the year, but also the most terrifying one, comes from France. The creator of this gem is USHERsan, who used to be in Norma Loy (one of the best, but also underrated French post-punk bands). After the sublime Un/Real everything became quiet, but today USHERsan is stronger than ever as Black Egg.

After two albums on Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, the French pessimist is back for the third time with Songs Of Death and Deception (hence that title!) that is released on Unknown Pleasures Records label, an album with fifteen dark tracks. The music is minimal (sometimes a piano, a guitar drone or just some percussion). USHERsan himself refers to artists like Mark Lanegan or Wovenhand, and that's actually not such a weird comparison.

With each song you have the feeling that you have heard it somewhere else, but that is probably because of USHERsan's sarcasm. Young Men sounds indeed a bit like Joy Division's Atmosphere, but in the chorus the Frenchman simply shouts in an angry way: "Where are all the young men? They're all dead! ".

The opener Siglis sounds a little bit like the early days of Clair Obscur, but with the desperate voice of Michael Gira (albeit without the noise), while the neo-folksong We Shall Win (the digital single) has a touch of Death In June. In King, sung by Corina Nénuphar, you get the feeling as if Marianne Faithfull is telling you some comforting story while you are on your deathbed. Yes, it’s sublime, but creepy as well!

So no, USHERsan is definitely not the happiest man on this planet! And then there are those great covers! Nico's Le Petit Chevalier (sung by Lily Rose L.) is more like a diabolic nursery rhyme, while Fad Gadget’s Back To Nature is transformed into a mournful funeral march.

Didier BECU
22/09/2015


NL

De mooiste plaat van het jaar, maar ook de meest angstaanjagende, komt uit Frankrijk. Ooit zat USHERsan nog bij Norma Loy (één van de allerbeste, maar ook ondergewaardeerde Franse post-punkbands). Na de sublieme Un/Real werd het stil rond de groep, maar vandaag is USHERsan als Black Egg sterker dan ooit.

Na twee albums op Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, is de Franse zwartkijker er voor een derde keer met Songs Of Death & Deception (de titel alleen al!) op het al even Franse Unknown Pleasures Records-label: een plaat met vijftien gitzwarte nummers. De muzikale begeleiding is steeds minimaal (soms een piano, een dronegitaar of gewoon wat percussie). Zelf refereert USHERsan naar artiesten als Mark Lanegan of Wovenhand, en dat is eigenlijk niet eens zo’n gekke vergelijking. 

Bij iedere song heb je wel het gevoel dat je het al eens eerder hebt gehoord, maar dat is waarschijnlijk te verklaren door USHERsans sarcasme. Zo heeft Young Men inderdaad wel wat weg van Joy Divisions Atmosphere, maar in het refrein schreeuwt de Fransman gewoon: “Where are all the young men? They’re all dead!”.

De opener Siglis klinkt een heel klein beetje als de begindagen van Clair Obscur, maar dan wel met de wanhopige stem van Michael Gira (weliswaar zonder het lawaai), terwijl de neofolk van We Shall Win (tevens de digitale single) iets van Death In June heeft. Bij King, dat wordt gezongen door Corina Nénuphar, krijg je het gevoel alsof Marianne Faithfull je wat troostende woordjes influistert terwijl je op je sterfbed ligt.

Neen, USHERsan is beslist geen vrolijke Frans! En dan zijn er nog die covers die door merg en been gaan! Nico’s Le Petit Chevalier (gezongen door Lily Rose L.) lijkt eerder op een duivels kinderliedje, terwijl Back To Nature van Fad Gadget omgebouwd wordt tot een treurige dodenmars.

Songs Of Death & Deception is angstpop. Het mes om de polsen door te snijden ligt altijd wel ergens in de buurt, maar de schoonheid van de tristesse maant je aan om door te blijven gaan. Is dit nu de plaat van het jaar? Waarschijnlijk wel, ja.

Didier BECU
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from BLACK EGG
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + DARK WAVE + NEOFOLK
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16