tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : BLACK EGG - Songs Of Death And Deception

BLACK EGG

Songs Of Death And Deception

MusicCD
Dark PopDark WaveNeofolk

[94/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
22/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best album of the year, but also the most terrifying one, comes from France. The creator of this gem is USHERsan, who used to be in Norma Loy (one of the best, but also underrated French post-punk bands). After the sublime Un/Real everything became quiet, but today USHERsan is stronger than ever as Black Egg.

After two albums on Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, the French pessimist is back for the third time with Songs Of Death and Deception (hence that title!) that is released on Unknown Pleasures Records label, an album with fifteen dark tracks. The music is minimal (sometimes a piano, a guitar drone or just some percussion). USHERsan himself refers to artists like Mark Lanegan or Wovenhand, and that's actually not such a weird comparison.

With each song you have the feeling that you have heard it somewhere else, but that is probably because of USHERsan's sarcasm. Young Men sounds indeed a bit like Joy Division's Atmosphere, but in the chorus the Frenchman simply shouts in an angry way: "Where are all the young men? They're all dead! ".

The opener Siglis sounds a little bit like the early days of Clair Obscur, but with the desperate voice of Michael Gira (albeit without the noise), while the neo-folksong We Shall Win (the digital single) has a touch of Death In June. In King, sung by Corina Nénuphar, you get the feeling as if Marianne Faithfull is telling you some comforting story while you are on your deathbed. Yes, it’s sublime, but creepy as well!

So no, USHERsan is definitely not the happiest man on this planet! And then there are those great covers! Nico's Le Petit Chevalier (sung by Lily Rose L.) is more like a diabolic nursery rhyme, while Fad Gadget’s Back To Nature is transformed into a mournful funeral march.

Didier BECU
22/09/2015


NL

De mooiste plaat van het jaar, maar ook de meest angstaanjagende, komt uit Frankrijk. Ooit zat USHERsan nog bij Norma Loy (één van de allerbeste, maar ook ondergewaardeerde Franse post-punkbands). Na de sublieme Un/Real werd het stil rond de groep, maar vandaag is USHERsan als Black Egg sterker dan ooit.

Na twee albums op Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, is de Franse zwartkijker er voor een derde keer met Songs Of Death & Deception (de titel alleen al!) op het al even Franse Unknown Pleasures Records-label: een plaat met vijftien gitzwarte nummers. De muzikale begeleiding is steeds minimaal (soms een piano, een dronegitaar of gewoon wat percussie). Zelf refereert USHERsan naar artiesten als Mark Lanegan of Wovenhand, en dat is eigenlijk niet eens zo’n gekke vergelijking. 

Bij iedere song heb je wel het gevoel dat je het al eens eerder hebt gehoord, maar dat is waarschijnlijk te verklaren door USHERsans sarcasme. Zo heeft Young Men inderdaad wel wat weg van Joy Divisions Atmosphere, maar in het refrein schreeuwt de Fransman gewoon: “Where are all the young men? They’re all dead!”.

De opener Siglis klinkt een heel klein beetje als de begindagen van Clair Obscur, maar dan wel met de wanhopige stem van Michael Gira (weliswaar zonder het lawaai), terwijl de neofolk van We Shall Win (tevens de digitale single) iets van Death In June heeft. Bij King, dat wordt gezongen door Corina Nénuphar, krijg je het gevoel alsof Marianne Faithfull je wat troostende woordjes influistert terwijl je op je sterfbed ligt.

Neen, USHERsan is beslist geen vrolijke Frans! En dan zijn er nog die covers die door merg en been gaan! Nico’s Le Petit Chevalier (gezongen door Lily Rose L.) lijkt eerder op een duivels kinderliedje, terwijl Back To Nature van Fad Gadget omgebouwd wordt tot een treurige dodenmars.

Songs Of Death & Deception is angstpop. Het mes om de polsen door te snijden ligt altijd wel ergens in de buurt, maar de schoonheid van de tristesse maant je aan om door te blijven gaan. Is dit nu de plaat van het jaar? Waarschijnlijk wel, ja.

Didier BECU
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from BLACK EGG
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + DARK WAVE + NEOFOLK
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's

 

Same genre: DARK POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir
09
06
DEZ MONA
Close To You