tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : BLACK EGG - Songs Of Death And Deception

BLACK EGG

Songs Of Death And Deception

MusicCD
Dark PopDark WaveNeofolk

[94/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
22/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best album of the year, but also the most terrifying one, comes from France. The creator of this gem is USHERsan, who used to be in Norma Loy (one of the best, but also underrated French post-punk bands). After the sublime Un/Real everything became quiet, but today USHERsan is stronger than ever as Black Egg.

After two albums on Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, the French pessimist is back for the third time with Songs Of Death and Deception (hence that title!) that is released on Unknown Pleasures Records label, an album with fifteen dark tracks. The music is minimal (sometimes a piano, a guitar drone or just some percussion). USHERsan himself refers to artists like Mark Lanegan or Wovenhand, and that's actually not such a weird comparison.

With each song you have the feeling that you have heard it somewhere else, but that is probably because of USHERsan's sarcasm. Young Men sounds indeed a bit like Joy Division's Atmosphere, but in the chorus the Frenchman simply shouts in an angry way: "Where are all the young men? They're all dead! ".

The opener Siglis sounds a little bit like the early days of Clair Obscur, but with the desperate voice of Michael Gira (albeit without the noise), while the neo-folksong We Shall Win (the digital single) has a touch of Death In June. In King, sung by Corina Nénuphar, you get the feeling as if Marianne Faithfull is telling you some comforting story while you are on your deathbed. Yes, it’s sublime, but creepy as well!

So no, USHERsan is definitely not the happiest man on this planet! And then there are those great covers! Nico's Le Petit Chevalier (sung by Lily Rose L.) is more like a diabolic nursery rhyme, while Fad Gadget’s Back To Nature is transformed into a mournful funeral march.

Didier BECU
22/09/2015


NL

De mooiste plaat van het jaar, maar ook de meest angstaanjagende, komt uit Frankrijk. Ooit zat USHERsan nog bij Norma Loy (één van de allerbeste, maar ook ondergewaardeerde Franse post-punkbands). Na de sublieme Un/Real werd het stil rond de groep, maar vandaag is USHERsan als Black Egg sterker dan ooit.

Na twee albums op Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, is de Franse zwartkijker er voor een derde keer met Songs Of Death & Deception (de titel alleen al!) op het al even Franse Unknown Pleasures Records-label: een plaat met vijftien gitzwarte nummers. De muzikale begeleiding is steeds minimaal (soms een piano, een dronegitaar of gewoon wat percussie). Zelf refereert USHERsan naar artiesten als Mark Lanegan of Wovenhand, en dat is eigenlijk niet eens zo’n gekke vergelijking. 

Bij iedere song heb je wel het gevoel dat je het al eens eerder hebt gehoord, maar dat is waarschijnlijk te verklaren door USHERsans sarcasme. Zo heeft Young Men inderdaad wel wat weg van Joy Divisions Atmosphere, maar in het refrein schreeuwt de Fransman gewoon: “Where are all the young men? They’re all dead!”.

De opener Siglis klinkt een heel klein beetje als de begindagen van Clair Obscur, maar dan wel met de wanhopige stem van Michael Gira (weliswaar zonder het lawaai), terwijl de neofolk van We Shall Win (tevens de digitale single) iets van Death In June heeft. Bij King, dat wordt gezongen door Corina Nénuphar, krijg je het gevoel alsof Marianne Faithfull je wat troostende woordjes influistert terwijl je op je sterfbed ligt.

Neen, USHERsan is beslist geen vrolijke Frans! En dan zijn er nog die covers die door merg en been gaan! Nico’s Le Petit Chevalier (gezongen door Lily Rose L.) lijkt eerder op een duivels kinderliedje, terwijl Back To Nature van Fad Gadget omgebouwd wordt tot een treurige dodenmars.

Songs Of Death & Deception is angstpop. Het mes om de polsen door te snijden ligt altijd wel ergens in de buurt, maar de schoonheid van de tristesse maant je aan om door te blijven gaan. Is dit nu de plaat van het jaar? Waarschijnlijk wel, ja.

Didier BECU
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ALEKS GREY • Unstoppable
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In
HUNTRESS • Static
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from BLACK EGG
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + DARK WAVE + NEOFOLK
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void