tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/05/2015 : BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB - Live in Paris (Theatre Trianon, February 24, 2014) 2CD/DVD

BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB

Live in Paris (Theatre Trianon, February 24, 2014) 2CD/DVD

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[90/100]   

Vagrant/Abstract Dragon Records
04/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A reviewer doesn’t know everything. Somehow I only knew this American band by name. I do remember that I read in the past some good critics in magazines, but oddly enough the music didn’ t reach me. Until I got this album to review. I was blown off my socks…

From the beginning till the end a masterful album: real live, warm, with depth… An unbelievable beautiful trip through the world of BRMC.

Starter ‘Fire Walker’ pull smoothly the gig underway. With ‘Let The Day Begin’ (also covered by Simple Minds on their latest album 'Big Music') the gig gains speed and temperature. Then follows a concert that scatters with highlights: ‘Spread Your Love’, that cuts deeper than the studio version, ‘Returning’, in which the singer croons like Bono does. Or ‘Funny Games’, that constantly changes between fragile and furious rocking, the incantatory ‘Sell It’ and so... I can continue for a while…

Also remarkable is the fact that the first half of the concert follows the exact order of their previous release ‘Specter at the Feast’.

This sublime live registration is obtainable in a box with a double CD/DVD with in total 24 songs. About the DVD I can’ t say anything because I got the music only. Also obtainable on LP.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/05/2015


NL

Ook een recensent kent niet alles. Zo kwam het dat ik om één of andere onbekende reden deze Amerikaanse band alleen van naam kende. Ik herinner mij wel lovende kritieken uit de Humo, etc… Maar vreemd genoeg bereikte de muziek mij tot op heden niet. Tot ik deze live-cd kreeg om te bespreken… werd ik even van mijn sokken geblazen… van begin tot einde een magistraal album: echt live, warm, diepgaand… Een ongelofelijke mooie trip doorheen het universum van BRMC.

Opener ‘Fire walker’ trekt zachtjes het concert dat vervolgens op tempo en temperatuur komt met ‘Let The Day Begin’ (dat ook als cover op het 'Big Music’-album van Simple Minds staat). Daarna volgt een concert dat strooit met hoogtepunten: ‘Spread Your Love’, dater live veel meer in hakt dan in de reguliere versie, ‘Returning’, waarin de zanger croont zoals Bono ook wel eens doet. Of ‘Funny Games’, dat voortdurend afwisselt tussen breekbaar en furieus rocken, het bezwerend ‘Sell It’ en zo.. ik kan nog even doorgaan.

Opvallend ook is dat de eerste helft de exacte volgorde van hun vorige release ‘Specter at the Feast’ volgt.

Deze sublieme liveregistratie is verkrijgbaar in een box en bevat een dubbel-cd (in totaal 24 songs) en dvd. Over de dvd kan ik niet veel zeggen want ik kreeg alleen de muziek ter beschikking. Ook op lp verkrijgbaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/05/2015


Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring