tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/05/2015 : BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB - Live in Paris (Theatre Trianon, February 24, 2014) 2CD/DVD

BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB

Live in Paris (Theatre Trianon, February 24, 2014) 2CD/DVD

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[90/100]   

Vagrant/Abstract Dragon Records
04/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A reviewer doesn’t know everything. Somehow I only knew this American band by name. I do remember that I read in the past some good critics in magazines, but oddly enough the music didn’ t reach me. Until I got this album to review. I was blown off my socks…

From the beginning till the end a masterful album: real live, warm, with depth… An unbelievable beautiful trip through the world of BRMC.

Starter ‘Fire Walker’ pull smoothly the gig underway. With ‘Let The Day Begin’ (also covered by Simple Minds on their latest album 'Big Music') the gig gains speed and temperature. Then follows a concert that scatters with highlights: ‘Spread Your Love’, that cuts deeper than the studio version, ‘Returning’, in which the singer croons like Bono does. Or ‘Funny Games’, that constantly changes between fragile and furious rocking, the incantatory ‘Sell It’ and so... I can continue for a while…

Also remarkable is the fact that the first half of the concert follows the exact order of their previous release ‘Specter at the Feast’.

This sublime live registration is obtainable in a box with a double CD/DVD with in total 24 songs. About the DVD I can’ t say anything because I got the music only. Also obtainable on LP.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/05/2015


NL

Ook een recensent kent niet alles. Zo kwam het dat ik om één of andere onbekende reden deze Amerikaanse band alleen van naam kende. Ik herinner mij wel lovende kritieken uit de Humo, etc… Maar vreemd genoeg bereikte de muziek mij tot op heden niet. Tot ik deze live-cd kreeg om te bespreken… werd ik even van mijn sokken geblazen… van begin tot einde een magistraal album: echt live, warm, diepgaand… Een ongelofelijke mooie trip doorheen het universum van BRMC.

Opener ‘Fire walker’ trekt zachtjes het concert dat vervolgens op tempo en temperatuur komt met ‘Let The Day Begin’ (dat ook als cover op het 'Big Music’-album van Simple Minds staat). Daarna volgt een concert dat strooit met hoogtepunten: ‘Spread Your Love’, dater live veel meer in hakt dan in de reguliere versie, ‘Returning’, waarin de zanger croont zoals Bono ook wel eens doet. Of ‘Funny Games’, dat voortdurend afwisselt tussen breekbaar en furieus rocken, het bezwerend ‘Sell It’ en zo.. ik kan nog even doorgaan.

Opvallend ook is dat de eerste helft de exacte volgorde van hun vorige release ‘Specter at the Feast’ volgt.

Deze sublieme liveregistratie is verkrijgbaar in een box en bevat een dubbel-cd (in totaal 24 songs) en dvd. Over de dvd kan ik niet veel zeggen want ik kreeg alleen de muziek ter beschikking. Ook op lp verkrijgbaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/05/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS