tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/05/2015 : BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB - Live in Paris (Theatre Trianon, February 24, 2014) 2CD/DVD

BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB

Live in Paris (Theatre Trianon, February 24, 2014) 2CD/DVD

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[90/100]   

Vagrant/Abstract Dragon Records
04/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A reviewer doesn’t know everything. Somehow I only knew this American band by name. I do remember that I read in the past some good critics in magazines, but oddly enough the music didn’ t reach me. Until I got this album to review. I was blown off my socks…

From the beginning till the end a masterful album: real live, warm, with depth… An unbelievable beautiful trip through the world of BRMC.

Starter ‘Fire Walker’ pull smoothly the gig underway. With ‘Let The Day Begin’ (also covered by Simple Minds on their latest album 'Big Music') the gig gains speed and temperature. Then follows a concert that scatters with highlights: ‘Spread Your Love’, that cuts deeper than the studio version, ‘Returning’, in which the singer croons like Bono does. Or ‘Funny Games’, that constantly changes between fragile and furious rocking, the incantatory ‘Sell It’ and so... I can continue for a while…

Also remarkable is the fact that the first half of the concert follows the exact order of their previous release ‘Specter at the Feast’.

This sublime live registration is obtainable in a box with a double CD/DVD with in total 24 songs. About the DVD I can’ t say anything because I got the music only. Also obtainable on LP.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/05/2015


NL

Ook een recensent kent niet alles. Zo kwam het dat ik om één of andere onbekende reden deze Amerikaanse band alleen van naam kende. Ik herinner mij wel lovende kritieken uit de Humo, etc… Maar vreemd genoeg bereikte de muziek mij tot op heden niet. Tot ik deze live-cd kreeg om te bespreken… werd ik even van mijn sokken geblazen… van begin tot einde een magistraal album: echt live, warm, diepgaand… Een ongelofelijke mooie trip doorheen het universum van BRMC.

Opener ‘Fire walker’ trekt zachtjes het concert dat vervolgens op tempo en temperatuur komt met ‘Let The Day Begin’ (dat ook als cover op het 'Big Music’-album van Simple Minds staat). Daarna volgt een concert dat strooit met hoogtepunten: ‘Spread Your Love’, dater live veel meer in hakt dan in de reguliere versie, ‘Returning’, waarin de zanger croont zoals Bono ook wel eens doet. Of ‘Funny Games’, dat voortdurend afwisselt tussen breekbaar en furieus rocken, het bezwerend ‘Sell It’ en zo.. ik kan nog even doorgaan.

Opvallend ook is dat de eerste helft de exacte volgorde van hun vorige release ‘Specter at the Feast’ volgt.

Deze sublieme liveregistratie is verkrijgbaar in een box en bevat een dubbel-cd (in totaal 24 songs) en dvd. Over de dvd kan ik niet veel zeggen want ik kreeg alleen de muziek ter beschikking. Ook op lp verkrijgbaar.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/05/2015


Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'
28
11
Today it's exactly 41 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
MESH prepares an extended live-box for their fans!
27
11
Gothic/Post-Punk Band CYBORG AMOK Unveils New Video for 'Burden Away'
27
11
40 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
26
11
CHELSEA WOLFE
16 Psyche
25
11
CLAN OF XYMOX
A Day
24
11
STRUGGLER
Is It Worth?
23
11
PORTION CONTROL
Amnesia (Live mix)
22
11
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life