tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/12/2014 : BLIND ALLEY - Primal Howl

BLIND ALLEY

Primal Howl

MusicCD
BluesRock

[88/100]   

Self-released
24/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Blind Alley is a French band, not to be confused with the eponymous band that made the What Ee Are punk/hardcore album or the Blind Alley of the AOR/hard rock genre.

This band comes up with itsr second album, which is a mix of raw rock , folk and some blues. In addition, you can hear a violin, cello and some keyboards. The singer's voice sounds like PJ Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt or Patti Smith. In short, to be compared with ladies that have talent.

The opener is an intro by two Indian musicians. It involves pretty quickly into Hearing My Call, a more traditional rock song. The violin sound and tabla ensure a diverse and authentic sound. X drama begins with some keyboards and a bass, with the wonderful sultry rock voice of Zoe Jeanroy. Lovely song.

Battlefield is one of the highlights on this album. A song that can unleash a gig. Each group may have a song that puts them on the map, for me this is the one of Blind Alley!

Blues City and Bipolar are touched by the blues, while in Shanti Town and Bharat Mata you hear again plenty of Indian influences, although this last song is influenced by Led Zeppelin without losing their own sound.

This album was released independently and is supported by Satori.com and the Artenréel # 13 management from Strasbourg, where this disc was recorded. Highly recommended, but you probably already understood that...

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


NL

Blind Alley is een Franse band en niet te verwarren met de gelijknamige band die met What We Are een punk/hardcore album uitbracht of de Blind Alley uit het AOR/Hardrock-genre.

Deze band brengt op z'n tweede album een mengeling van een flinke scheut rauwe rock, folk en wat blues. Daarnaast hoor je ook een viool, cello en wat keyboards. De zangeres heeft een stem die qua klankkleur dicht aanleunt bij wat P.J. Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt of Patti Smith doen. Kortom, te vergelijken met ferme madammen die een stem als een klok hebben.

De opener is een intro dat wordt gespeelddoor twee oudere Indiase musici. Het gaat vrij vlug over in Hearing My Call, een eerder traditionele rocksong. Het vioolgeluid en de tabla zorgen voor een divers en authentiek geluid. Drama X begint met wat keys, bas en gitaar met daar bovenop de heerlijke zwoele rockstem van Zoe Jeanroy. Heerlijke song.

Battlefield is voor mij één van de hoogtepunten op dit album. Een mooie opbouw, er valt veel in te ontdekken en heel mooi gezongen. Een nummer dat een optreden kan doen ontploffen. Elke groep heeft wellicht een nummer dat ze op de kaart zet, voor mij is dit het nummer van Blind Alley!.

In Jack-a-box is de zang wat ingetogener, worden de wortels van de bluesrock in Blues City en Bipolar aangeraakt, terwijl we in Shanti Town en Bharat Mata weer volop Indiase invloeden horen, ofschoon dit laatste nummer wat Led Zeppelin-achtig klinkt zonder daarbij hun eigen geluid te verliezen.

Deze band klinkt als een heel hechte groep. Elke muzikant speelt in dienst van de song en dat loont. Daar zal het uiitgebreide toeren waarschijnlijk wel voor een deel tussen zitten.

Dit album is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en wordt ondersteund door Satori.com en het Artenréel#13-management uit Strasbourg, waar ook deze cd is opgenomen. Een aanrader, maar dat had je waarschijnlijk al begrepen…

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
19
05
42 years of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!
30
04
DAVID GEDGE (THE WEDDING PRESENT)
'I do like to make the song as personal as possible!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo