tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/12/2014 : BLIND ALLEY - Primal Howl

BLIND ALLEY

Primal Howl

MusicCD
BluesRock

[88/100]   

Self-released
24/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Blind Alley is a French band, not to be confused with the eponymous band that made the What Ee Are punk/hardcore album or the Blind Alley of the AOR/hard rock genre.

This band comes up with itsr second album, which is a mix of raw rock , folk and some blues. In addition, you can hear a violin, cello and some keyboards. The singer's voice sounds like PJ Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt or Patti Smith. In short, to be compared with ladies that have talent.

The opener is an intro by two Indian musicians. It involves pretty quickly into Hearing My Call, a more traditional rock song. The violin sound and tabla ensure a diverse and authentic sound. X drama begins with some keyboards and a bass, with the wonderful sultry rock voice of Zoe Jeanroy. Lovely song.

Battlefield is one of the highlights on this album. A song that can unleash a gig. Each group may have a song that puts them on the map, for me this is the one of Blind Alley!

Blues City and Bipolar are touched by the blues, while in Shanti Town and Bharat Mata you hear again plenty of Indian influences, although this last song is influenced by Led Zeppelin without losing their own sound.

This album was released independently and is supported by Satori.com and the Artenréel # 13 management from Strasbourg, where this disc was recorded. Highly recommended, but you probably already understood that...

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


NL

Blind Alley is een Franse band en niet te verwarren met de gelijknamige band die met What We Are een punk/hardcore album uitbracht of de Blind Alley uit het AOR/Hardrock-genre.

Deze band brengt op z'n tweede album een mengeling van een flinke scheut rauwe rock, folk en wat blues. Daarnaast hoor je ook een viool, cello en wat keyboards. De zangeres heeft een stem die qua klankkleur dicht aanleunt bij wat P.J. Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt of Patti Smith doen. Kortom, te vergelijken met ferme madammen die een stem als een klok hebben.

De opener is een intro dat wordt gespeelddoor twee oudere Indiase musici. Het gaat vrij vlug over in Hearing My Call, een eerder traditionele rocksong. Het vioolgeluid en de tabla zorgen voor een divers en authentiek geluid. Drama X begint met wat keys, bas en gitaar met daar bovenop de heerlijke zwoele rockstem van Zoe Jeanroy. Heerlijke song.

Battlefield is voor mij één van de hoogtepunten op dit album. Een mooie opbouw, er valt veel in te ontdekken en heel mooi gezongen. Een nummer dat een optreden kan doen ontploffen. Elke groep heeft wellicht een nummer dat ze op de kaart zet, voor mij is dit het nummer van Blind Alley!.

In Jack-a-box is de zang wat ingetogener, worden de wortels van de bluesrock in Blues City en Bipolar aangeraakt, terwijl we in Shanti Town en Bharat Mata weer volop Indiase invloeden horen, ofschoon dit laatste nummer wat Led Zeppelin-achtig klinkt zonder daarbij hun eigen geluid te verliezen.

Deze band klinkt als een heel hechte groep. Elke muzikant speelt in dienst van de song en dat loont. Daar zal het uiitgebreide toeren waarschijnlijk wel voor een deel tussen zitten.

Dit album is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en wordt ondersteund door Satori.com en het Artenréel#13-management uit Strasbourg, waar ook deze cd is opgenomen. Een aanrader, maar dat had je waarschijnlijk al begrepen…

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway