tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/12/2014 : BLIND ALLEY - Primal Howl

BLIND ALLEY

Primal Howl

MusicCD
BluesRock

[88/100]   

Self-released
24/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Blind Alley is a French band, not to be confused with the eponymous band that made the What Ee Are punk/hardcore album or the Blind Alley of the AOR/hard rock genre.

This band comes up with itsr second album, which is a mix of raw rock , folk and some blues. In addition, you can hear a violin, cello and some keyboards. The singer's voice sounds like PJ Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt or Patti Smith. In short, to be compared with ladies that have talent.

The opener is an intro by two Indian musicians. It involves pretty quickly into Hearing My Call, a more traditional rock song. The violin sound and tabla ensure a diverse and authentic sound. X drama begins with some keyboards and a bass, with the wonderful sultry rock voice of Zoe Jeanroy. Lovely song.

Battlefield is one of the highlights on this album. A song that can unleash a gig. Each group may have a song that puts them on the map, for me this is the one of Blind Alley!

Blues City and Bipolar are touched by the blues, while in Shanti Town and Bharat Mata you hear again plenty of Indian influences, although this last song is influenced by Led Zeppelin without losing their own sound.

This album was released independently and is supported by Satori.com and the Artenréel # 13 management from Strasbourg, where this disc was recorded. Highly recommended, but you probably already understood that...

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


NL

Blind Alley is een Franse band en niet te verwarren met de gelijknamige band die met What We Are een punk/hardcore album uitbracht of de Blind Alley uit het AOR/Hardrock-genre.

Deze band brengt op z'n tweede album een mengeling van een flinke scheut rauwe rock, folk en wat blues. Daarnaast hoor je ook een viool, cello en wat keyboards. De zangeres heeft een stem die qua klankkleur dicht aanleunt bij wat P.J. Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt of Patti Smith doen. Kortom, te vergelijken met ferme madammen die een stem als een klok hebben.

De opener is een intro dat wordt gespeelddoor twee oudere Indiase musici. Het gaat vrij vlug over in Hearing My Call, een eerder traditionele rocksong. Het vioolgeluid en de tabla zorgen voor een divers en authentiek geluid. Drama X begint met wat keys, bas en gitaar met daar bovenop de heerlijke zwoele rockstem van Zoe Jeanroy. Heerlijke song.

Battlefield is voor mij één van de hoogtepunten op dit album. Een mooie opbouw, er valt veel in te ontdekken en heel mooi gezongen. Een nummer dat een optreden kan doen ontploffen. Elke groep heeft wellicht een nummer dat ze op de kaart zet, voor mij is dit het nummer van Blind Alley!.

In Jack-a-box is de zang wat ingetogener, worden de wortels van de bluesrock in Blues City en Bipolar aangeraakt, terwijl we in Shanti Town en Bharat Mata weer volop Indiase invloeden horen, ofschoon dit laatste nummer wat Led Zeppelin-achtig klinkt zonder daarbij hun eigen geluid te verliezen.

Deze band klinkt als een heel hechte groep. Elke muzikant speelt in dienst van de song en dat loont. Daar zal het uiitgebreide toeren waarschijnlijk wel voor een deel tussen zitten.

Dit album is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en wordt ondersteund door Satori.com en het Artenréel#13-management uit Strasbourg, waar ook deze cd is opgenomen. Een aanrader, maar dat had je waarschijnlijk al begrepen…

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void