tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/12/2014 : BLIND ALLEY - Primal Howl

BLIND ALLEY

Primal Howl

MusicCD
BluesRock

[88/100]   

Self-released
24/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Blind Alley is a French band, not to be confused with the eponymous band that made the What Ee Are punk/hardcore album or the Blind Alley of the AOR/hard rock genre.

This band comes up with itsr second album, which is a mix of raw rock , folk and some blues. In addition, you can hear a violin, cello and some keyboards. The singer's voice sounds like PJ Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt or Patti Smith. In short, to be compared with ladies that have talent.

The opener is an intro by two Indian musicians. It involves pretty quickly into Hearing My Call, a more traditional rock song. The violin sound and tabla ensure a diverse and authentic sound. X drama begins with some keyboards and a bass, with the wonderful sultry rock voice of Zoe Jeanroy. Lovely song.

Battlefield is one of the highlights on this album. A song that can unleash a gig. Each group may have a song that puts them on the map, for me this is the one of Blind Alley!

Blues City and Bipolar are touched by the blues, while in Shanti Town and Bharat Mata you hear again plenty of Indian influences, although this last song is influenced by Led Zeppelin without losing their own sound.

This album was released independently and is supported by Satori.com and the Artenréel # 13 management from Strasbourg, where this disc was recorded. Highly recommended, but you probably already understood that...

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


NL

Blind Alley is een Franse band en niet te verwarren met de gelijknamige band die met What We Are een punk/hardcore album uitbracht of de Blind Alley uit het AOR/Hardrock-genre.

Deze band brengt op z'n tweede album een mengeling van een flinke scheut rauwe rock, folk en wat blues. Daarnaast hoor je ook een viool, cello en wat keyboards. De zangeres heeft een stem die qua klankkleur dicht aanleunt bij wat P.J. Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt of Patti Smith doen. Kortom, te vergelijken met ferme madammen die een stem als een klok hebben.

De opener is een intro dat wordt gespeelddoor twee oudere Indiase musici. Het gaat vrij vlug over in Hearing My Call, een eerder traditionele rocksong. Het vioolgeluid en de tabla zorgen voor een divers en authentiek geluid. Drama X begint met wat keys, bas en gitaar met daar bovenop de heerlijke zwoele rockstem van Zoe Jeanroy. Heerlijke song.

Battlefield is voor mij één van de hoogtepunten op dit album. Een mooie opbouw, er valt veel in te ontdekken en heel mooi gezongen. Een nummer dat een optreden kan doen ontploffen. Elke groep heeft wellicht een nummer dat ze op de kaart zet, voor mij is dit het nummer van Blind Alley!.

In Jack-a-box is de zang wat ingetogener, worden de wortels van de bluesrock in Blues City en Bipolar aangeraakt, terwijl we in Shanti Town en Bharat Mata weer volop Indiase invloeden horen, ofschoon dit laatste nummer wat Led Zeppelin-achtig klinkt zonder daarbij hun eigen geluid te verliezen.

Deze band klinkt als een heel hechte groep. Elke muzikant speelt in dienst van de song en dat loont. Daar zal het uiitgebreide toeren waarschijnlijk wel voor een deel tussen zitten.

Dit album is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en wordt ondersteund door Satori.com en het Artenréel#13-management uit Strasbourg, waar ook deze cd is opgenomen. Een aanrader, maar dat had je waarschijnlijk al begrepen…

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever