tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/12/2014 : BLIND ALLEY - Primal Howl

BLIND ALLEY

Primal Howl

MusicCD
BluesRock

[88/100]   

Self-released
24/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Blind Alley is a French band, not to be confused with the eponymous band that made the What Ee Are punk/hardcore album or the Blind Alley of the AOR/hard rock genre.

This band comes up with itsr second album, which is a mix of raw rock , folk and some blues. In addition, you can hear a violin, cello and some keyboards. The singer's voice sounds like PJ Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt or Patti Smith. In short, to be compared with ladies that have talent.

The opener is an intro by two Indian musicians. It involves pretty quickly into Hearing My Call, a more traditional rock song. The violin sound and tabla ensure a diverse and authentic sound. X drama begins with some keyboards and a bass, with the wonderful sultry rock voice of Zoe Jeanroy. Lovely song.

Battlefield is one of the highlights on this album. A song that can unleash a gig. Each group may have a song that puts them on the map, for me this is the one of Blind Alley!

Blues City and Bipolar are touched by the blues, while in Shanti Town and Bharat Mata you hear again plenty of Indian influences, although this last song is influenced by Led Zeppelin without losing their own sound.

This album was released independently and is supported by Satori.com and the Artenréel # 13 management from Strasbourg, where this disc was recorded. Highly recommended, but you probably already understood that...

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


NL

Blind Alley is een Franse band en niet te verwarren met de gelijknamige band die met What We Are een punk/hardcore album uitbracht of de Blind Alley uit het AOR/Hardrock-genre.

Deze band brengt op z'n tweede album een mengeling van een flinke scheut rauwe rock, folk en wat blues. Daarnaast hoor je ook een viool, cello en wat keyboards. De zangeres heeft een stem die qua klankkleur dicht aanleunt bij wat P.J. Harvey, Neeka, Bonnie Riatt of Patti Smith doen. Kortom, te vergelijken met ferme madammen die een stem als een klok hebben.

De opener is een intro dat wordt gespeelddoor twee oudere Indiase musici. Het gaat vrij vlug over in Hearing My Call, een eerder traditionele rocksong. Het vioolgeluid en de tabla zorgen voor een divers en authentiek geluid. Drama X begint met wat keys, bas en gitaar met daar bovenop de heerlijke zwoele rockstem van Zoe Jeanroy. Heerlijke song.

Battlefield is voor mij één van de hoogtepunten op dit album. Een mooie opbouw, er valt veel in te ontdekken en heel mooi gezongen. Een nummer dat een optreden kan doen ontploffen. Elke groep heeft wellicht een nummer dat ze op de kaart zet, voor mij is dit het nummer van Blind Alley!.

In Jack-a-box is de zang wat ingetogener, worden de wortels van de bluesrock in Blues City en Bipolar aangeraakt, terwijl we in Shanti Town en Bharat Mata weer volop Indiase invloeden horen, ofschoon dit laatste nummer wat Led Zeppelin-achtig klinkt zonder daarbij hun eigen geluid te verliezen.

Deze band klinkt als een heel hechte groep. Elke muzikant speelt in dienst van de song en dat loont. Daar zal het uiitgebreide toeren waarschijnlijk wel voor een deel tussen zitten.

Dit album is in eigen beheer uitgebracht en wordt ondersteund door Satori.com en het Artenréel#13-management uit Strasbourg, waar ook deze cd is opgenomen. Een aanrader, maar dat had je waarschijnlijk al begrepen…

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2014


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death