tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/06/2011 : BLUE STAHLI - Blue Stahli

BLUE STAHLI

Blue Stahli

MusicCD
HarshIndustrialMetal

[62/100]   
24/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Blue Stahli is a project from some guy named Bret, who also happens to be a touring member of the Celldweller live show, where he can let himself go by playing agressive synthsounds and abusing his guitars.

The music that he has made with Blue Stahli has already been featured in trailers and promos for blockbusters like “The Tourist” or “Tron Legacy” and videogames like “Dead Rising 2”.

On his debut you can see some creature that would be at ease in the world of Blade Runner and the artwork immediately reveals the identity of this music: indusmetal with lots of distorted vocals.

People who dislike metal are advised to skip the first two songs as both “Ultranumb” and “Scrape” are good tracks but they definitely belong to some metal album.

From “Anti-you” (we really like that song!), you get the sort of indusmetal-sound that made Front Line Assembly famous in their later days.

Maybe because the guy’s tired, but as this record reaches its end, it gets more accessible. Apart from the FM-rock that “Metamorphosis” is, we can state that Blue Stahli delivered a decent debut that will please fans from bands like Combichrist.

Didier BECU
24/06/2011


NL

Blue Stahli is het project van een zekere Bret, die zich in zijn vrije tijd ook nog bezighoudt met allerlei gitaren en synthesizers te verkrachten op een podium tijdens de shows van Celldweller.

Het solowerk dat hij uitbrengt met Blue Stahli is tot dusver reeds gebruikt geweest in populaire films als “The tourist” of “Tron legacy”, alsook in videospelletjes als “Dead Rising 2”.

Op het hoesje prijkt één of ander futuristisch gedrocht dat zijn plaats zou vinden op de set van “Blade runner” en hiermee wordt ook meteen het genre prijs gegeven : indus metal met veel vervormde vocals.

Mensen die een hekel hebben aan metal, raden we aan om de eerste twee nummers maar meteen over te slaan, want ook al zijn “Ultranumb” en “Scrape” best te pruimen, zijn het toch het soort tracks dat we eerder op een metalalbum zouden verwachten.

Maar eens het overheerlijke “Anti-you” door de geluidsprekers knalt, horen we Blue Stahli van een andere kant, namelijk degene die lijkt op het latere werk van Front Line Assembly.

Misschien is het wel omdat deze mens vlug moe gezongen is, maar hoe meer deze plaat zijn einde nadert des te meer toegankelijker het wordt.

Als je het ronduit afgrijselijke FM-rockachtige “Metamorphosis” niet meerekent is deze plaat best behoorlijk en zeker voer voor mensen die Combichrist zien zitten.

Didier BECU
24/06/2011


 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • demonstro 1981 - 1986
GIRLS NAMES • Dead to me
FINK • Perfect Darkness
TUNES OF DAWN • Goodbye cruel world
HYDRONE • Confusion
THE SPIRITUAL BAT • Cruel machine
ICEHOUSE • Flowers
DOWNSTAIRS LEFT • Nothing but memories
DISMANTLED • The war inside me
RETRIEVER • The Rattle and the Hiss

 

Other reviews from BLUE STAHLI
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil
BLUE STAHLI • The Devil (Chapter 02) EP

 

Same combination of genres: HARSH + INDUSTRIAL + METAL
KMFDM • Kunst

 

Same genre: HARSH
HOCICO • HyperViolent
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger