tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/06/2011 : BLUE STAHLI - Blue Stahli

BLUE STAHLI

Blue Stahli

MusicCD
HarshIndustrialMetal

[62/100]   
24/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Blue Stahli is a project from some guy named Bret, who also happens to be a touring member of the Celldweller live show, where he can let himself go by playing agressive synthsounds and abusing his guitars.

The music that he has made with Blue Stahli has already been featured in trailers and promos for blockbusters like “The Tourist” or “Tron Legacy” and videogames like “Dead Rising 2”.

On his debut you can see some creature that would be at ease in the world of Blade Runner and the artwork immediately reveals the identity of this music: indusmetal with lots of distorted vocals.

People who dislike metal are advised to skip the first two songs as both “Ultranumb” and “Scrape” are good tracks but they definitely belong to some metal album.

From “Anti-you” (we really like that song!), you get the sort of indusmetal-sound that made Front Line Assembly famous in their later days.

Maybe because the guy’s tired, but as this record reaches its end, it gets more accessible. Apart from the FM-rock that “Metamorphosis” is, we can state that Blue Stahli delivered a decent debut that will please fans from bands like Combichrist.

Didier BECU
24/06/2011


NL

Blue Stahli is het project van een zekere Bret, die zich in zijn vrije tijd ook nog bezighoudt met allerlei gitaren en synthesizers te verkrachten op een podium tijdens de shows van Celldweller.

Het solowerk dat hij uitbrengt met Blue Stahli is tot dusver reeds gebruikt geweest in populaire films als “The tourist” of “Tron legacy”, alsook in videospelletjes als “Dead Rising 2”.

Op het hoesje prijkt één of ander futuristisch gedrocht dat zijn plaats zou vinden op de set van “Blade runner” en hiermee wordt ook meteen het genre prijs gegeven : indus metal met veel vervormde vocals.

Mensen die een hekel hebben aan metal, raden we aan om de eerste twee nummers maar meteen over te slaan, want ook al zijn “Ultranumb” en “Scrape” best te pruimen, zijn het toch het soort tracks dat we eerder op een metalalbum zouden verwachten.

Maar eens het overheerlijke “Anti-you” door de geluidsprekers knalt, horen we Blue Stahli van een andere kant, namelijk degene die lijkt op het latere werk van Front Line Assembly.

Misschien is het wel omdat deze mens vlug moe gezongen is, maar hoe meer deze plaat zijn einde nadert des te meer toegankelijker het wordt.

Als je het ronduit afgrijselijke FM-rockachtige “Metamorphosis” niet meerekent is deze plaat best behoorlijk en zeker voer voor mensen die Combichrist zien zitten.

Didier BECU
24/06/2011


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)