tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/09/2014 : BOB MOULD - Beauty And Ruin

BOB MOULD

Beauty And Ruin

MusicCD
Indie RockNoisePost Punk
Merge Records
18/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

There's just no stopping Bob Mould - he's in his fifties, been a lynchpin of various rock scenes for the best part of thirty-plus years and is showing no sign of taking one for the team in the name of bland pop. Beauty and Ruin is up there with his best work, a continuous string of toe-tapping bull-nosed rock and roll with a saccharine underbelly and a bitter twist that belies the man's age.

 

Don't be fooled by the simmering slow-building opener Low Season - it may recall the dark, tense Black Sheets Of Rain era but little of this 10th solo outing is mid-paced or indeed as forgettable as that sophomore album. With many tracks clocking in at under three minutes in length, Mould's preferred work-rate is urgent, direct and focussed - basically, business as usual. The single I Don't Know You Anymore is ridiculously memorable, in the vein of Could You Be The One, See A Little Light or If I Should Change Your Mind, while most of the remaining songs equal the velocity of Flip Your Wig and Zen Arcade-era Husker Du, minus the rough edges.

 

The War, Fix It and Tomorrow Morning provide little let-up in pace with the pin-sharp Forgiveness and the less-essential Let The Beauty Be the only tracks approaching anything strum-along. All of which means that Mould's lost absolutely none of his touch by once again improving on his last album, this time the admittedly fine predecessor The Silver Age. Fast, furious, feral and flawless - Bob Mould is a man of our time, not out of it.

 

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
18/09/2014


 

Next reviews
• THICKER THAN WATER
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
RAYA MARTIN • Independencia
LONE • Reality Testing
NUCLEUS TORN • Street Lights Fail
MERCIFUL NUNS • Meteora
ZHANGKE JIA • A Touch Of Sin
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
JOHN FOXX • The Virgin Years 1981-1985 Box set
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

 

Other reviews from BOB MOULD
BOB MOULD • Workbook/Black Sheets Of Rain

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + NOISE + POST PUNK
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu