tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BOMBAY - Show Your Teeth

BOMBAY

Show Your Teeth

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[85/100]   

V2
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This trio from Amsterdam experimented two years with low-fi instruments and nineties rock influences and concluded that it was not working. It was decided to change course with a new drummer (Lisa Ann Jonker) and as a result of the confusion, the principal songwriter (Matthias Janmaat) started writing more introspective songs. The influences from the nineties were scaled back and this resulted in Show Your Teeth, in which we hear psychedelic sounds and influences from the 60s and 70s. Shod on an indie pop/rock base, this is an album full of fun and catchy indie pop songs.

The result is a kind of immediacy in the songs: everything sounds a little DIY and lo-fi, but definitely not cheap. In some songs, such as the opener Dolly Does not Want to Face the Facts, we hear bands like The Beatles or The Van Jets. Slow Motion is a catchy and upbeat single. In Gold Rush, a distorted piano/synth emphasizes the melody. An old-fashioned bass adds vintage to the track. in Sea, the music goes in the direction of The Kinks, Blur and The Charlatans.

Bombay presents eleven innocent, but very catchy songs that brighten our lives like a box of chocolates. You can not resist. The same is true for Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Dit Amsterdamse trio experimenteerde een tweetal jaar met low-fi-instrumenten en ninetiesrockinvloeden om tot de constatatie te komen dat het niet werkte. Men besloot de boel om te gooien. Er kwam een nieuwe drumster (Lisa Ann Jonker) en de voornaamste songschrijver (Matthias Janmaat) schreef onder invloed van al die veranderingen meer introspectieve nummers. Ook kwamen er minder jarennegentiginvloeden aan te pas. Zo ontstond Show Your Teeth, waarin psychedelische geluiden en invloeden uit de jaren 60 en 70 weerklinken. Dit allemaal geschoeid op een indiepoprockbasis, waardoor we hier een album krijgen vol leuke en catchy indiepopsongs.

Het resultaat is een soort directheid in de songs: alles klinkt een beetje DIY en low-fi, maar zeker niet goedkoop. In sommige songs, zoals in de opener Dolly Doesn’t Want to Face the Facts, hoor je bands als The Beatles of The Van Jets weerklinken. Slow Motion is een aanstekelijke en vrolijke single. In Gold Rush doet een vervormde piano/synth de melodie opvallen. Een ouderwets basgeluid brengt wat vintage in de track. In Sea gaat de muziek in de richting van The Kinks, Blur of The Charlatans.

Bombay presenteert ons elf ongevaarlijke maar heel aanstekelijke tracks die het leven opfleuren. Net als een doos pralines. Je blijft ervan eten tot ze op zijn. Zo ook met Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)