tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BOMBAY - Show Your Teeth

BOMBAY

Show Your Teeth

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[85/100]   

V2
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This trio from Amsterdam experimented two years with low-fi instruments and nineties rock influences and concluded that it was not working. It was decided to change course with a new drummer (Lisa Ann Jonker) and as a result of the confusion, the principal songwriter (Matthias Janmaat) started writing more introspective songs. The influences from the nineties were scaled back and this resulted in Show Your Teeth, in which we hear psychedelic sounds and influences from the 60s and 70s. Shod on an indie pop/rock base, this is an album full of fun and catchy indie pop songs.

The result is a kind of immediacy in the songs: everything sounds a little DIY and lo-fi, but definitely not cheap. In some songs, such as the opener Dolly Does not Want to Face the Facts, we hear bands like The Beatles or The Van Jets. Slow Motion is a catchy and upbeat single. In Gold Rush, a distorted piano/synth emphasizes the melody. An old-fashioned bass adds vintage to the track. in Sea, the music goes in the direction of The Kinks, Blur and The Charlatans.

Bombay presents eleven innocent, but very catchy songs that brighten our lives like a box of chocolates. You can not resist. The same is true for Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Dit Amsterdamse trio experimenteerde een tweetal jaar met low-fi-instrumenten en ninetiesrockinvloeden om tot de constatatie te komen dat het niet werkte. Men besloot de boel om te gooien. Er kwam een nieuwe drumster (Lisa Ann Jonker) en de voornaamste songschrijver (Matthias Janmaat) schreef onder invloed van al die veranderingen meer introspectieve nummers. Ook kwamen er minder jarennegentiginvloeden aan te pas. Zo ontstond Show Your Teeth, waarin psychedelische geluiden en invloeden uit de jaren 60 en 70 weerklinken. Dit allemaal geschoeid op een indiepoprockbasis, waardoor we hier een album krijgen vol leuke en catchy indiepopsongs.

Het resultaat is een soort directheid in de songs: alles klinkt een beetje DIY en low-fi, maar zeker niet goedkoop. In sommige songs, zoals in de opener Dolly Doesn’t Want to Face the Facts, hoor je bands als The Beatles of The Van Jets weerklinken. Slow Motion is een aanstekelijke en vrolijke single. In Gold Rush doet een vervormde piano/synth de melodie opvallen. Een ouderwets basgeluid brengt wat vintage in de track. In Sea gaat de muziek in de richting van The Kinks, Blur of The Charlatans.

Bombay presenteert ons elf ongevaarlijke maar heel aanstekelijke tracks die het leven opfleuren. Net als een doos pralines. Je blijft ervan eten tot ze op zijn. Zo ook met Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection