tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BOMBAY - Show Your Teeth

BOMBAY

Show Your Teeth

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[85/100]   

V2
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This trio from Amsterdam experimented two years with low-fi instruments and nineties rock influences and concluded that it was not working. It was decided to change course with a new drummer (Lisa Ann Jonker) and as a result of the confusion, the principal songwriter (Matthias Janmaat) started writing more introspective songs. The influences from the nineties were scaled back and this resulted in Show Your Teeth, in which we hear psychedelic sounds and influences from the 60s and 70s. Shod on an indie pop/rock base, this is an album full of fun and catchy indie pop songs.

The result is a kind of immediacy in the songs: everything sounds a little DIY and lo-fi, but definitely not cheap. In some songs, such as the opener Dolly Does not Want to Face the Facts, we hear bands like The Beatles or The Van Jets. Slow Motion is a catchy and upbeat single. In Gold Rush, a distorted piano/synth emphasizes the melody. An old-fashioned bass adds vintage to the track. in Sea, the music goes in the direction of The Kinks, Blur and The Charlatans.

Bombay presents eleven innocent, but very catchy songs that brighten our lives like a box of chocolates. You can not resist. The same is true for Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Dit Amsterdamse trio experimenteerde een tweetal jaar met low-fi-instrumenten en ninetiesrockinvloeden om tot de constatatie te komen dat het niet werkte. Men besloot de boel om te gooien. Er kwam een nieuwe drumster (Lisa Ann Jonker) en de voornaamste songschrijver (Matthias Janmaat) schreef onder invloed van al die veranderingen meer introspectieve nummers. Ook kwamen er minder jarennegentiginvloeden aan te pas. Zo ontstond Show Your Teeth, waarin psychedelische geluiden en invloeden uit de jaren 60 en 70 weerklinken. Dit allemaal geschoeid op een indiepoprockbasis, waardoor we hier een album krijgen vol leuke en catchy indiepopsongs.

Het resultaat is een soort directheid in de songs: alles klinkt een beetje DIY en low-fi, maar zeker niet goedkoop. In sommige songs, zoals in de opener Dolly Doesn’t Want to Face the Facts, hoor je bands als The Beatles of The Van Jets weerklinken. Slow Motion is een aanstekelijke en vrolijke single. In Gold Rush doet een vervormde piano/synth de melodie opvallen. Een ouderwets basgeluid brengt wat vintage in de track. In Sea gaat de muziek in de richting van The Kinks, Blur of The Charlatans.

Bombay presenteert ons elf ongevaarlijke maar heel aanstekelijke tracks die het leven opfleuren. Net als een doos pralines. Je blijft ervan eten tot ze op zijn. Zo ook met Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury