tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BOMBAY - Show Your Teeth

BOMBAY

Show Your Teeth

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[85/100]   

V2
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This trio from Amsterdam experimented two years with low-fi instruments and nineties rock influences and concluded that it was not working. It was decided to change course with a new drummer (Lisa Ann Jonker) and as a result of the confusion, the principal songwriter (Matthias Janmaat) started writing more introspective songs. The influences from the nineties were scaled back and this resulted in Show Your Teeth, in which we hear psychedelic sounds and influences from the 60s and 70s. Shod on an indie pop/rock base, this is an album full of fun and catchy indie pop songs.

The result is a kind of immediacy in the songs: everything sounds a little DIY and lo-fi, but definitely not cheap. In some songs, such as the opener Dolly Does not Want to Face the Facts, we hear bands like The Beatles or The Van Jets. Slow Motion is a catchy and upbeat single. In Gold Rush, a distorted piano/synth emphasizes the melody. An old-fashioned bass adds vintage to the track. in Sea, the music goes in the direction of The Kinks, Blur and The Charlatans.

Bombay presents eleven innocent, but very catchy songs that brighten our lives like a box of chocolates. You can not resist. The same is true for Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Dit Amsterdamse trio experimenteerde een tweetal jaar met low-fi-instrumenten en ninetiesrockinvloeden om tot de constatatie te komen dat het niet werkte. Men besloot de boel om te gooien. Er kwam een nieuwe drumster (Lisa Ann Jonker) en de voornaamste songschrijver (Matthias Janmaat) schreef onder invloed van al die veranderingen meer introspectieve nummers. Ook kwamen er minder jarennegentiginvloeden aan te pas. Zo ontstond Show Your Teeth, waarin psychedelische geluiden en invloeden uit de jaren 60 en 70 weerklinken. Dit allemaal geschoeid op een indiepoprockbasis, waardoor we hier een album krijgen vol leuke en catchy indiepopsongs.

Het resultaat is een soort directheid in de songs: alles klinkt een beetje DIY en low-fi, maar zeker niet goedkoop. In sommige songs, zoals in de opener Dolly Doesn’t Want to Face the Facts, hoor je bands als The Beatles of The Van Jets weerklinken. Slow Motion is een aanstekelijke en vrolijke single. In Gold Rush doet een vervormde piano/synth de melodie opvallen. Een ouderwets basgeluid brengt wat vintage in de track. In Sea gaat de muziek in de richting van The Kinks, Blur of The Charlatans.

Bombay presenteert ons elf ongevaarlijke maar heel aanstekelijke tracks die het leven opfleuren. Net als een doos pralines. Je blijft ervan eten tot ze op zijn. Zo ook met Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel