tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : BOMBAY - Show Your Teeth

BOMBAY

Show Your Teeth

MusicCD
Indie RockPop

[85/100]   

V2
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This trio from Amsterdam experimented two years with low-fi instruments and nineties rock influences and concluded that it was not working. It was decided to change course with a new drummer (Lisa Ann Jonker) and as a result of the confusion, the principal songwriter (Matthias Janmaat) started writing more introspective songs. The influences from the nineties were scaled back and this resulted in Show Your Teeth, in which we hear psychedelic sounds and influences from the 60s and 70s. Shod on an indie pop/rock base, this is an album full of fun and catchy indie pop songs.

The result is a kind of immediacy in the songs: everything sounds a little DIY and lo-fi, but definitely not cheap. In some songs, such as the opener Dolly Does not Want to Face the Facts, we hear bands like The Beatles or The Van Jets. Slow Motion is a catchy and upbeat single. In Gold Rush, a distorted piano/synth emphasizes the melody. An old-fashioned bass adds vintage to the track. in Sea, the music goes in the direction of The Kinks, Blur and The Charlatans.

Bombay presents eleven innocent, but very catchy songs that brighten our lives like a box of chocolates. You can not resist. The same is true for Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Dit Amsterdamse trio experimenteerde een tweetal jaar met low-fi-instrumenten en ninetiesrockinvloeden om tot de constatatie te komen dat het niet werkte. Men besloot de boel om te gooien. Er kwam een nieuwe drumster (Lisa Ann Jonker) en de voornaamste songschrijver (Matthias Janmaat) schreef onder invloed van al die veranderingen meer introspectieve nummers. Ook kwamen er minder jarennegentiginvloeden aan te pas. Zo ontstond Show Your Teeth, waarin psychedelische geluiden en invloeden uit de jaren 60 en 70 weerklinken. Dit allemaal geschoeid op een indiepoprockbasis, waardoor we hier een album krijgen vol leuke en catchy indiepopsongs.

Het resultaat is een soort directheid in de songs: alles klinkt een beetje DIY en low-fi, maar zeker niet goedkoop. In sommige songs, zoals in de opener Dolly Doesn’t Want to Face the Facts, hoor je bands als The Beatles of The Van Jets weerklinken. Slow Motion is een aanstekelijke en vrolijke single. In Gold Rush doet een vervormde piano/synth de melodie opvallen. Een ouderwets basgeluid brengt wat vintage in de track. In Sea gaat de muziek in de richting van The Kinks, Blur of The Charlatans.

Bombay presenteert ons elf ongevaarlijke maar heel aanstekelijke tracks die het leven opfleuren. Net als een doos pralines. Je blijft ervan eten tot ze op zijn. Zo ook met Show Your Teeth.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus