tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2011 : BRASIL AND THE GALLOWBROTHERS BAND - Legionowo

BRASIL AND THE GALLOWBROTHERS BAND

Legionowo

MusicCD
Experimental

[71/100]   
10/06/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

Instruments are in mutual dialogue. This can happen in an entertaining manner, or passionate, short-tempered, angry,... - all adjectives that express a mood, can be enumerated. In a piece of music there is always the correlation with action, reaction and interaction. With this statement, all music genres and styles can be summarized, and this rule also applies to improvisation, even to atonality, because atonality has its own regulations. But – Nevertheless how free sounds, tones, musical motifs and melodies are moving, there will always be a unity in execution and experience, because all music is composition.

While listening to experimental music one is tempted to appoint instruments and sounds. I hear: guitar, piano, accordion, but also - an airplane, the ringtone of a phone. Those games are all similar to the way one teaches a child the various musical instruments. The experience of music is and remains a fairy tale: Peter and the Wolf.

The music of the Polish formation Brasil and the Gallowsbrothers Band, is more structured than the compositions of many other experimental bands. The numbers are clearly built, and the dialogue of sound takes place. The voices are used in the same way as the instruments, electronic sounds, and integrated recordings of surrounding sounds. In the songs the musical motifs are continuously repeated, but there is an interaction with the different musical layers.

After hearing the music you look for some reference: who are the people who are making this music, what instruments are actually played, is a story written in the CD booklet -? But, the record was delivered in the box of another CD: Hi Brasil is where we are. This is not adding the necessary additional information, but it proves that there is other work available of a group who attracted my full attention. From the scarce information on the internet, I understand that Legionowo was released in September 2005. 

 

http://brasilandthegallowbrothersband.org

Bernadette ALLAERT
10/06/2011


NL

Instrumenten gaan onderling in dialoog. Dat kan op een onderhoudende manier gebeuren, of passioneel, driftig, boos, … – alle adjectieven die een gemoedstoestand uitdrukken kunnen worden opgesomd. In een muziekstuk is er steeds de wisselwerking van actie, reactie en interactie. Met deze stelling kunnen alle muziekgenres en stijlen worden samengevat, en deze regel geldt ook voor improvisatie, zelfs voor atonaliteit, want ook die heeft zijn wetten. Maar - Hoe vrij de geluiden, klanken, tonen, muzikale motieven en melodieën ook bewegen, in uitvoering en beleving is er toch die eenheid, want alle muziek is compositie.

Bij het horen van experimentele muziek is men als luisteraar geneigd om de instrumenten en de klanken te gaan benoemen. Ik hoor: gitaar, piano, accordeon, maar ook – een vliegtuig, de beltoon van een telefoon. Die spelletjes zijn in alles te vergelijken met de manier waarop men kinderen kennis laat maken met verschillende muziekinstrumenten. Muziek beleven is en blijft een sprookje: Peter en de wolf.

De muziek van de Poolse formatie Brasil and the Gallowbrothers Band, is meer gestructureerd dan de composities van vele andere experimentele bands. De nummers zijn duidelijk opgebouwd en de dialoog van klanken heeft plaats. De stemmen worden op dezelfde manier gebruikt als de instrumenten, de elektronische klanken, en de geïntegreerde opnames van omgevingsgeluiden. In de nummers worden muzikale motieven continu herhaald, maar er is interactie met de verschillende muzikale lagen.

Na het horen van de muziek zoek je toch naar enige referentie: wie zijn de mensen die deze muziek maken, welke instrumenten worden effectief bespeeld, is er een verhaal geschreven in het CD-boekje - ? Maar, de plaat die mij werd geleverd steekt in het doosje van een andere CD: Hi Brasil is where we are. Hier word ik niet veel wijzer van. Wat ik hieruit wel begrijp is dat er ook nog ander werk bestaat van een groep die mij behoorlijk is gaan boeien. Uit de schaarse informatie op internet begrijp ik dat Legionowo werd uitgebracht in september 2005.

 

http://brasilandthegallowbrothersband.org

Bernadette ALLAERT
10/06/2011


Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!
07
11
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Burning Inside!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now