tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/06/2011 : BRASIL AND THE GALLOWBROTHERS BAND - Legionowo

BRASIL AND THE GALLOWBROTHERS BAND

Legionowo

MusicCD
Experimental

[71/100]   
10/06/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

Instruments are in mutual dialogue. This can happen in an entertaining manner, or passionate, short-tempered, angry,... - all adjectives that express a mood, can be enumerated. In a piece of music there is always the correlation with action, reaction and interaction. With this statement, all music genres and styles can be summarized, and this rule also applies to improvisation, even to atonality, because atonality has its own regulations. But – Nevertheless how free sounds, tones, musical motifs and melodies are moving, there will always be a unity in execution and experience, because all music is composition.

While listening to experimental music one is tempted to appoint instruments and sounds. I hear: guitar, piano, accordion, but also - an airplane, the ringtone of a phone. Those games are all similar to the way one teaches a child the various musical instruments. The experience of music is and remains a fairy tale: Peter and the Wolf.

The music of the Polish formation Brasil and the Gallowsbrothers Band, is more structured than the compositions of many other experimental bands. The numbers are clearly built, and the dialogue of sound takes place. The voices are used in the same way as the instruments, electronic sounds, and integrated recordings of surrounding sounds. In the songs the musical motifs are continuously repeated, but there is an interaction with the different musical layers.

After hearing the music you look for some reference: who are the people who are making this music, what instruments are actually played, is a story written in the CD booklet -? But, the record was delivered in the box of another CD: Hi Brasil is where we are. This is not adding the necessary additional information, but it proves that there is other work available of a group who attracted my full attention. From the scarce information on the internet, I understand that Legionowo was released in September 2005. 

 

http://brasilandthegallowbrothersband.org

Bernadette ALLAERT
10/06/2011


NL

Instrumenten gaan onderling in dialoog. Dat kan op een onderhoudende manier gebeuren, of passioneel, driftig, boos, … – alle adjectieven die een gemoedstoestand uitdrukken kunnen worden opgesomd. In een muziekstuk is er steeds de wisselwerking van actie, reactie en interactie. Met deze stelling kunnen alle muziekgenres en stijlen worden samengevat, en deze regel geldt ook voor improvisatie, zelfs voor atonaliteit, want ook die heeft zijn wetten. Maar - Hoe vrij de geluiden, klanken, tonen, muzikale motieven en melodieën ook bewegen, in uitvoering en beleving is er toch die eenheid, want alle muziek is compositie.

Bij het horen van experimentele muziek is men als luisteraar geneigd om de instrumenten en de klanken te gaan benoemen. Ik hoor: gitaar, piano, accordeon, maar ook – een vliegtuig, de beltoon van een telefoon. Die spelletjes zijn in alles te vergelijken met de manier waarop men kinderen kennis laat maken met verschillende muziekinstrumenten. Muziek beleven is en blijft een sprookje: Peter en de wolf.

De muziek van de Poolse formatie Brasil and the Gallowbrothers Band, is meer gestructureerd dan de composities van vele andere experimentele bands. De nummers zijn duidelijk opgebouwd en de dialoog van klanken heeft plaats. De stemmen worden op dezelfde manier gebruikt als de instrumenten, de elektronische klanken, en de geïntegreerde opnames van omgevingsgeluiden. In de nummers worden muzikale motieven continu herhaald, maar er is interactie met de verschillende muzikale lagen.

Na het horen van de muziek zoek je toch naar enige referentie: wie zijn de mensen die deze muziek maken, welke instrumenten worden effectief bespeeld, is er een verhaal geschreven in het CD-boekje - ? Maar, de plaat die mij werd geleverd steekt in het doosje van een andere CD: Hi Brasil is where we are. Hier word ik niet veel wijzer van. Wat ik hieruit wel begrijp is dat er ook nog ander werk bestaat van een groep die mij behoorlijk is gaan boeien. Uit de schaarse informatie op internet begrijp ik dat Legionowo werd uitgebracht in september 2005.

 

http://brasilandthegallowbrothersband.org

Bernadette ALLAERT
10/06/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine